We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs to enhance staff training re: customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I give 5 star for this hotel's location. It is immediately next to the City Hall. Other than that the rooms are quite basic and lack quality. Their customer service is nothing to rave about. |asked the front desk re: the keyboards attached to their two guests computers ...they were not in English. She shrugged her shoulders and said "I don't know ..."

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinevere and R... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. I want to apologize for the negative reaction regarding your comment on the keyboard from our business center. I will see what we can do to change one computer with an English keyboard. Your feedback helps me to improve our service and quality.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a superb location right in the heart of Bruges. There is an underground car park (for a fee), where the car is safe, and ours was there for the duration of our trip.
We paid a supplement for a room with a view, but the seating area was on the wrong side of the room to admire the view. The bedroom was huge, clean, quiet with very comfortable bedding. The bathroom was a bit weird with a door off the bathroom to the toilet. They are planning to refurbish the bathrooms and there was a questionnaire on leaving as to preferences for baths/showers.
The breakfasts were good, with plenty of variety and freshly cooked/stocked. The design of the restaurant is contemporary, and not to everyone's taste. Considering the stunning views of old Bruges out of the window it was probably a bit modern and plasticky.
Bruges is a superb city to explore for a weekend/few days, and this hotel is as central as one can get. It's modern in an old city, and has a few flaws, but is a great place to stay.
Tip, don't pay extra for view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Luxurious furnishings in bedroom and sitting room. Great queen bed. Super bathroom -- large and beautifully appointed and separate WC. Would have loved to have been able to stay for a month or more!
We did not eat in the hotel -- menu seemed a bit limited and prices were very high.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Burg square. Note that the square might be too busy/nolisy during pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IEEEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Brugge (04.04.14 till 06.04.14) and had a lovely experience. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is located in the centre of Bruges and conveniently located for all the important historical sites. We were a family of five and initially booked for one night and had booked another night at a different hotel. However, due to a family room becoming available we decided to stay another night at this hotel and we were very glad we did! The breakfast was lovely and the underground car park allowed us to park our car with relative ease and security. I would like to thank one of the employees at the hotel who was extremely helpful and professional especially when we struggled with booking the extra night, his name was Marijn Dedeurwaerder. We will definitely be staying again Marijn and thanks of all your help !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Hotel is 2 minutes walk from the city square which is also where the Belfry is. The hotel was really nice with a nice bar and restaurant with seats outside. We didn't use the bar or restaurant but it was busy all day every day.
We did not take advantage of the pool or spa facilities but they also looked very nice. A 10 euro taxi ride from the train station. Not much more to really say apart from i would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from the very attentive doorman and receptionist. The rooms were average and would expect more from a crown plaza. Location is excellent for exploring the city but eat out. Food is pricy and the menus is limited. Breakfast was terrible. The food was cold with very limited choice. The pool is dated and very cold but there is a small sauna. Would defiantly expect better quality from a crown plaza

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Ludo_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback reagarding your stay in our hotel. I will take up your points with my staff regarding the breakfast. The food must be served at a correct temparture. I will check with my chef what happend with the choice as we have always positive comments on the different fresh fruits, different kind of bread and sweet breads.
Regarding the room I can tell you that we are working on a renovation project for our rooms and Bathrooms. They will be renovated shortly in a more modern style but based on the Crowne Plaza Standards

Thank you very much

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived at the Crowne Plaza en-route back to the UK from Hamburg.
The best thing about this hotel is the location, which is right in the middle of everything you would want to see and do in Brugge.
The hotel itself is very tired and dated and could do with a complete refurb. The rooms were of a good size but again dated and we had a lovely view of a brick wall.
If you want a posh hotel the Crowne Plaza is not for you, but I would stay again just for the location.

Room Tip: A room that doesnt face a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. It is with you help that we try to improve our quality and service. We are happy to inform you and our future guests that after our full renovation of 2007 we are working on a next renovation by the end of this year. We are planning a renovation of rooms, bathrooms and lobby. Currently we finished the renovation of our elevators to reduce the noise of the engines and to improve the comfort.

I hope that the next time when you visit Bruges we are able to show you our new rooms.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#27 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bruges
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £111 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing