We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Excellently Positioned Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice, Excellently Positioned Hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We (large family group) stayed in Brugge between Christmas and new year, as we have done on several previous occassions.

We have previously stayed in the Novotel Centrum, but this year decided to pay more for a more centrally located hotel, which this certainly was. The pool and gym facilities were also a bonus over the Novotel. However, whilst I have no specific complaints about the hotel, I do not think the huge price difference was justified. The location really was the one main benefit.

The breakfast was good but no better than any other good hotel and at 22 euros per person, should have been!!

The rooms were quite large and well equiped. Two double beds in our family room. A desk and chair, two easy chairs and table, two double wardrobes (one containing a trouser press and iron and ironing board). Two towelling robes were also supplied. Plenty of toiletries and complimentary items supplied (ie., toothpast/brush, shaving items etc) if you had forgotten anything.

There is a pleasant bar/lounge area with bar prices not extortionately higher than other bars/restaurants in the area. Locally, the average price for a pint of lager was 7/8 euro and for 1/2 litre caraf of wine between 12 & 16 euro. There is an 'Irish Bar' a few doors down on the same square with the most reasonably priced drinks we found, but this is not the most elegant of places to drink!

If I return again I think I will probably go back to the Novotel, walk a bit further but save myself a small fortune!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast Prices
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northamptonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, general manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 17 February 2009
Thank you for your comment on our hotel. It is for me good to know how guests experience our hotel. This helps me to improve our quality and service.

thank you for your comment.

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    558
    105
    27
    15
See reviews for
436
593
32
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

This hotel is the best Crowne Plaza I have ever stayed in -having used quite a few (though there isn't a club lounge)

Its located very conveniently just short of the main town square and is very close to all of the main attractions. It can be a bit difficult to find when you first arrive by car though my Tom Tom found it okay.

The hotel is refined with excellent spacious rooms - a nice touch was Belgium chocolates left for us on arrival -this may have been part of the Prioirtyclub welcome package?

There is a swimming pool and a small gym. The pool is good however is located on the top floor -it is a little remote if there happened to be an incident (it is unattended)

Breakfast is good though expensive at 22 euro per adult. Watch out for the car park which is located beneath the hotel -it is 20 euro per night. There are local alternatives within walking distance of the hotel at half the price. Also you can use a credit or debit card in these.

The overall ambiance is fantastic -the bar area is very nice with a pianist playing most evenings. The beer is excellent too!

Make sure you checkout the ruins of the old cathedral underneath the hotel -very bizarre. The entrance is just left of the reception desk -downstairs. You could easily miss it.

The Church of the blood is well worth a visit particularly when the service is on. This is located just outside the hotel. Its like something out of Indiana Jones!

The horse drawn carriage rides are great, but very pricey at 35 euro for 30 minutes.

I didn't like the look of the boat trips as they looked over loaded -a bit of of a health & safety nightmare. I only saw one life belt -though the river is probably not that deep.

Best time to visit is December when the Christmas market is on.

Anyway great place & a nice hotel.

  • Liked — Overall quality
  • Disliked — toilet was very small and slightly cramped
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaverickViper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, general manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 17 February 2009
Thank you very much for your reaction. It is nice to read your positive comment.
If your Tom Tom is not working you can reach the hotel very easily by entering the center via the Kruispoort. The hotel is at the end of this street.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2008

very nice room view on the squre

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This hotel is conveniently located to the Market Square. We have returned to Brugge almost every year and have stayed at two other places but like the price, rooms, and location of the Crown Plaza. The rooms often come with a breakfast included. The breakfast buffet is very nice and if you are a breakfast person it is worthwhile. There is a parking garage underneath the hotel. Very tight but given the lack of parking areas in Brugge it is a good bonus. The best way to find the hotel is through a GPS. There are many one way streets and despite the frequency that we have visited this wonderful town it is never an easy thing to get to the hotel. If you take the train to Brugge it is a pretty long walk with luggage and I would recommend a taxi.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank crystaldreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza Brugge for a weekend break during October 2008.

For 2 adults and 2 children we had a large room with 2 double beds in a quiet location at the back of the hotel. There was a large bathroom, plenty of wardrobe storage space and a safety deposit box.

We booked a breakfast inclusive rate. Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection, but sometimes there was a wait for things to be replenished.

The hotel car park was expensive at EUR20 per night, but we parked in the Pandreijte underground car park a short walk away for EUR17,40 for 2 nights.

The location is perfect, in the centre of Brugge with all the main sights, shops and restaurants close by.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWW's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

General:
Stayed here for a weekend with my wife.
The location is splendid, the reception in very helpful and rooms are clean. Parking in their garage is possible and costs EUR 20 per night.
The hotel bar and basement (historical fundaments of old church were discovered upon reconstruction, you can now tour the basement) are beautiful.
Pool, fitness, and sauna were basic and decent (not too big).
Room:
We did find that the room we had on our first night overlooking the street was quite noisy, and were kindly relocated to a quieter room upon request (mid section, slightly smaller, smaller window, facing inner courtyard) which had us sleeping like a rose on the second night.
Bedding was ok (a good queen size, had us rolling to the middle a bit).
We did not make use of breakfast, which, if not booked with room, costs EUR 22 per person.
Overall a good choice.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — expensive breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

As a Priority Club member I often stay in Holiday Inn/Crown Plaza hotels. I do find the standards surprisingly variable which could be explained by the fact that they are not really one company but a franchise operation.
That said, the standards in Bruges are of the highest order. I was lucky enough to be up-graded to a superior room on the 7th floor overlooking the square in which "the barber of Saville" was playing that night.
Great position, complementary underground parking and a fairly good breakfast (although a little expensive)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost of Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FluffChucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Property: Crowne Plaza Brugge
Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing