We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location with an average feeling to it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2010

As others have indicated, the location of this hotel is excellent. It's very central, right near the market and the Burg. However, Bruges is very small, so you may not need a hotel right in the center.

Service at the front desk was perfect. Nice, friendly, helpful staff.

Sound quality in the rooms could be better. We could hear the toilets flushing and people showering in rooms around us, and this was a bit of an annoyance as we're light sleepers.

Rooms are simple and average: Basic, clean, and acceptable. The only complaint I'd have is regarding the towels and sheets. Not soft at all. Starchy, as if they've been sent out to a cleaning service that forgot to put fabric softener on them. Not a big deal, but when you're paying for a room, it's the little things that make a big difference.

Breakfast was over 22 Euros. Rip off. Walk out of the hotel and one block away is a bakery.

Parking is also expensive, but they'll let you keep your car there during the day if you're out and about, so that was convenient.

In our case, we used hotel points, so the price for us was perfect. I wouldn't pay the full rack rate for this hotel though. It could be worth a try if you can get it on hotwire.com or priceline.com.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Brugge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

What makes this hotel an ideal place to stay in Bruges is the fabulous location. Right in the heart of the city, on the Burg, you are within easy walking distance of all the top places to visit. We were lucky to have a room overlooking the Burg and we were blessed with glorious sunny weather. The room was clean, well decorated and spacious. Plenty of space for luggage and all the conveniences you would expect of a hotel of this style.
The service was good throughout our stay and the hotel, although clearly busy, was very calm and quiet.
The buffet breakfast offered plenty of choice (hot and cold) with lots of fresh fruit, yoghurts, traditional cheeses, meats and a lovely selection of pastries and bread. There is a very nice seating area overlooking the Burg and plently of staff on hand to assist you.
The pool/gym area is perfectly adequate, although it is small and very 'closed in' being on the top floor. It is a nice addition to the hotel, but nothing special.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for its location. It is not an 'individual' hotel as it part of a large chain - but I was comforted knowing what to expect and we were not disappointed. A two day stay is the perfect length of time to explore the sights. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable - Bruges is such a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masscott01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you for your message on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Our breakfast is served in the Linde and has a superb view on the historic Burg square. It is a really nice place to start your day.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Coming from one who doesn't like hotels as a general rule, this one was really fantastic. We took our three children under 8, two in-laws, and ourselves, and stayed in two rooms next to each other. The rooms were really large, clean, modern with every convenience (and even nice wooden beams to add charm), and the beds were comfortable (they never are at hotels) and big. We could have easily slept the three kids and ourselves in one room. When I needed a toothbrush, an adapter, and more pool towels, they brought them right up. The location is perfect (there is much cheaper public parking a short walk away, by the way). Except for the fact that the breakfast was too expensive and not included in our rate, I can't think of a thing to complain about!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmtsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you very much for your reaction. I am glad that you had a enjoyable stay in our hotel. Our breakfast offers you a large variety of products, and with a good breakfast you can easily visti the whole day Brugge. Hope to see you again in Brugge.

Regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Stayed there with my sister and father and were amazed by how beautiful the hotel was. The location is ideal, though not so easy to find when you have just arrived to the town and walk from the rail station. Take a map there for 50 cents from the machine. Later when you get familiar with the town plan everything is so simple!
Didn't try the breakfast facility so no comment on that. The same with the pool or gym - no experience.
The bedroom was one of the biggest and most comfortable I've ever come across, so without a word it's a great experience. Beds really comfortable, free wireless internet in the room and in th lobby, nice bathroom, all fresh and clean.

Had some problems with the reservation in the beginning as I bought the hotel through a special offer, but later the money was returned without a big hustle, so everything was fine with us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandarineBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you very much for your reaction. If you come by train our reservations department will be happy to sent you the walking directions. Wirelles internet is not only free in the room but in the whole hotel for our hotel and meeting guests. Once again, thank you very much and hope to see you again in Crowne Plaza Brugge

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is probably one of the best located hotels in Bruges! The rooms are very big and nicely decorated, although in a very luxurious old-fashioned style. Check-in was very fast, and their restaurant did look good although we didn't try. Those with kids will love it, as kids under 18 eat free at the buffet breakfast if accompanied by 2 paying adults.

We had booked this using Priority Cub Miles, which is probably worth it as the normal rates at this hotel is expensive, along with the rest of Bruges.

The hotel also had free internet throughout, which is a plus. However, the internet access through the TV could be much improved, as it was very clumsy and hard to use.

The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool and fitness center, a definite plus.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

Thank you very much for your nice reaction on your stay in Crowne Plaza Brugge. We know that the internet via the televesion set is not perfect. In the lobby we have two internet terminals for hotelguest to use free of charge with a good speed.

Best regards.

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This hotel does exactly what it promises: it is a solid 4 star hotel in a fantastic Brugge location.

We travelled with our 2 year old and selected a family room. We found that the room was an excellent size with 2 double beds and plenty of room for a cot. The bathroom was also of a good size although the toilet cubicle was small and on an angle.

The cleanliness was of a good standard and the decor in good order. We found the room to be 'cosy' rather than modern. The dark furniture, rust coloured carpet and brown walls are a bit dark but nothing to put you off in any way.

The service we received was exceptionally efficient. When we requested more towels, the concierge came up in the lift with us and managed to get them to us before we even reached our room. Room service was also friendly and fast - usually delivered within 10 mins.

I would recommend this hotel to families with young children. The location alone means that it is always easy to return to the hotel if you have forgotten any essentials.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, general Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Thank you very much for your comment. It is nice to read your possitive comment. Hope to see you again in Crowne Plaza Brugge.

regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for location and were not disappointed. Very romantic and cozy. Within 2 minute walk to the Belfry tower and in the middle of everything. They put us accidently on a smoking floor and immediately changed our rooms when we mentioned that we were non-smokers even after a half day in the room and having used up all their towels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, general Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Thank you very much for your positive comment. We hope to meet you again in Crowne Plaza Brugge.

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £120 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing