We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful location.......”
Reviewed 5 June 2010

The hotel is in a quiet corner next to the large market square.It was a typical 4 star chain hotel.The room was very clean ,modern but a bit small.There was a good view of the roof from the small window.Bruge is wonderful for walking and buying chocolate.Avoid the cafes on the square ...check out the ones in the side streets.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slemishbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. Bruges is really nice to visit, the small streets and the unknown part of Bruges. We offer drinks and meals in our two restaurants try them a next time, you will taste and experience the difference.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    559
    106
    27
    15
See reviews for
439
596
33
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The staff were very obliging, the Hotel was very clean. We ate down in the cellars which is the oldest part of what was a religious building, a little different. The food was excellent and we finished with choclate, obviously, the wine was also excellent. The room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast was good with a nice choice. The hotel is situated right opposite the Basillica of the Holy Blood on a lovely square. Do'nt eat in the square it's expensive 59E for steak and chips, chicken and potatoes and a small beer and a water. There's lots of restaurants. We would go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upthegame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We serve special meals for groups, private parties, companies, e.o. in our basement. It is nice to read that you liked the food and the wine. The atmosphere of the old Sint Donaas church creates a nices ambience.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza. It is literally in the center of Bruges; everything is a close walk. The staff was helpful, and the room was clean, large, comfortable and modern. Also, our two night stay was affordable. Check out the cozy bar just off the lobby. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGADawg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thank you very much for you reaction on Tripadvisor. It is nice to read your positive comment. I am glad that you liked the Bar. Our two waiters Bregt en Jamy are happy to serve you again if you ever return to Bruges.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This marvelous hotel is the perfect place to enjoy your stay in the beautiful city of Brugge. Every time I have business in Belgium, I always try my very best to stay at this fine Hotel. It's perfectly situated right in the Burg Square, the main part of the city. A Perfect place to begin your visit to this little fairy tale city. No matter how small, or big your business meeting, This hotel has always fully met all my expectations in all my business meeting. The front desk staff are all fully trained & ALWAYS ready to greet their guests with a big smile & happy to make your business meetings a success. Thanks Michael De Martino. Connecticut USA

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Mr Demartino,

Thank you very much for you nice comment on Crowne Plaza Brugge. Hope to see you soon in Brugge.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Very nice hotel in an absolutely perfect location. We had a king room overlooking the burg (well actually it was mostly overlooking a giant tree branch but you could peak through and see some of the burg). The staff at this hotel wasn't overly friendly like the other crowne plaza's I visited during my trip (I also stay at crowne plaza's often for work). I'm not saying they were rude but I don't think I once got a hello while walking through the lobby (for 3 days) which I kind of thought was odd. Not that big of a deal and definitely not enough of a reason to not book this hotel right in the heart of everything! The great thing about Brugges is how small it is... you can get to everything you need to see on foot from this hotel. PLEASE DON'T MISS THE QUASIMUNDO BIKE TOUR! One of the best things we did our entire trip in Europe! One more tip, whatever you do, do not eat/drink in the Burg and/or Mark't square...you will regret it. Horrible service, mediocre food and extremely high prices. There are plenty of excellent bars and restaurants down anyone of the hundres of side streets off the Burg and Mark't square. For a great local pub walk to T brugs breetge...It's about a 7 or 8 minute walk and they have over 300 beers (at excellent prices). I felt extremely safe at night walking anywhere so no need to worry about that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feef0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is thanks to your help that I can adjust our service. We want to give our guests a home away from home and friendliness is one of the most important items. I discussed your comment with my staff and they will absolutly do their utmost to give every customer a friendly hello. If you visit a next time Bruges please try one of our two restaurants, we offer a good meal and at a reasonable price.
regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

As others have indicated, the location of this hotel is excellent. It's very central, right near the market and the Burg. However, Bruges is very small, so you may not need a hotel right in the center.

Service at the front desk was perfect. Nice, friendly, helpful staff.

Sound quality in the rooms could be better. We could hear the toilets flushing and people showering in rooms around us, and this was a bit of an annoyance as we're light sleepers.

Rooms are simple and average: Basic, clean, and acceptable. The only complaint I'd have is regarding the towels and sheets. Not soft at all. Starchy, as if they've been sent out to a cleaning service that forgot to put fabric softener on them. Not a big deal, but when you're paying for a room, it's the little things that make a big difference.

Breakfast was over 22 Euros. Rip off. Walk out of the hotel and one block away is a bakery.

Parking is also expensive, but they'll let you keep your car there during the day if you're out and about, so that was convenient.

In our case, we used hotel points, so the price for us was perfect. I wouldn't pay the full rack rate for this hotel though. It could be worth a try if you can get it on hotwire.com or priceline.com.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

What makes this hotel an ideal place to stay in Bruges is the fabulous location. Right in the heart of the city, on the Burg, you are within easy walking distance of all the top places to visit. We were lucky to have a room overlooking the Burg and we were blessed with glorious sunny weather. The room was clean, well decorated and spacious. Plenty of space for luggage and all the conveniences you would expect of a hotel of this style.
The service was good throughout our stay and the hotel, although clearly busy, was very calm and quiet.
The buffet breakfast offered plenty of choice (hot and cold) with lots of fresh fruit, yoghurts, traditional cheeses, meats and a lovely selection of pastries and bread. There is a very nice seating area overlooking the Burg and plently of staff on hand to assist you.
The pool/gym area is perfectly adequate, although it is small and very 'closed in' being on the top floor. It is a nice addition to the hotel, but nothing special.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for its location. It is not an 'individual' hotel as it part of a large chain - but I was comforted knowing what to expect and we were not disappointed. A two day stay is the perfect length of time to explore the sights. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable - Bruges is such a beautiful city!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masscott01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you for your message on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Our breakfast is served in the Linde and has a superb view on the historic Burg square. It is a really nice place to start your day.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Property: Crowne Plaza Brugge
Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing