We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, nice, and nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hans Memling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hans Memling Hotel
Ranked #68 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice, nice, and nice”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Spent Christmas eve and Christmas day in this great city. Lots of things to do and see at anytime of year. A little cold and breezy but the Gluwein (heated red wine) helps the chills go away.

Hotel was about 200 meters from the square and very close to several local bars and restaurants. The hotel room was quite nice but had very squeaky wooden floors.

If you say here you will be more than pleased with the service and the morning breakfast was exceptional. Scrambled eggs, ham and toast...unheard of in most European hotels. Standard fruits, tea, bagets, etc. Really nice eating area also.

Staff was exceptional...

Room Tip: O floor is the best to stay on....no problem about traffic noise at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soddycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    223
    162
    56
    22
See reviews for
85
271
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

What a lovely quaint Hotel.
My Girlfriend and I had one night here she had no kids so it had to be romantic/close to the square/ a good deal, it was all of them and more.
1 minute from great pubs resterants and 2 mins from the square.
The staff . . notably the receptionist was such help above and beyond.
Breakfast was lovely too.
My Girlfriend and I both loved the hotel and plan to stay again 10/10.

Tips for parking is follow signs for the Centrum, its cheap and great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnymsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed at Hans Memling hotel over the Christmas period. I knew it was close to the centre markt, but this hotel was literally about 2 minutes walk from the centre, which was great. Got upgraded to the Studio room, which was fantastic and had a cute, little staircase which lead to the bedroom upstairs which was great. The studio room was massive for the 2 of us and the room was clean and tidy. Breakfasts were very filling as their was an abundance of bacon and eggs, cereals, breads, cheeses and ham to choose from. Staff were very friendly, spoke good english and accomodating when needed. You can walk from the train station, or it's just as easy to catch one of many buses at the sum of 1.20 euros per person and it drops you off around the corner. Overall, this hotel was a great choice: for price, location and quality. I will recommend this hotel to everyone...Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touristillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Room was clean and the location was great, bars and restaurant's were a plenty and around the corner from all the main attractions. The walk from the train station took about 20 minutes to walk to.

In all a good hotel but if your room is facing the main road, it can be noisy till late in the night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiinmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here 23/12/2012 for two nights, family group of five including our 8 year old daughter. My wife, daughter and I shared a three bed family room. Great location, good size family room loads to eat for breakfast all set in a nice old building just off the main square. As stated in other reviews rooms on the street side (ie family rooms) do get a lot of noise from the bars just down the road for most of the night! mostly when the customers pop out for a cigarette! However I was aware of this when I booked and the location more than made up for this and after all day walking around the old town including going up the Belfry we all manged to get some sleep. Loads to do beer reasonably priced (and strong) and easy to find some where to eat, horse carriage ride was good and well worth doing. Lots of shops and place's to get a Coffee, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My mum and I stayed here for a short break to Bruges; the hotel is more basic (which is reflected in the price), however it is clean, and the breakfast is really good, with lots of choice. The hotel is located close to the market square, which is really convenient. Also the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewExplorer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed in the Hans Memling for 4 nights late November. A superb central location near the main square (Markt) means that all the major attractions are within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast offered ample choice. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#85 of 97 in Bruges
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#52 of 97 in Bruges
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#54 of 97 in Bruges
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#55 of 97 in Bruges
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Memling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Memling Hotel

Property: Hans Memling Hotel
Address: Kuiperstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hans Memling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hans Memling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Memling Bruges
Hotel Hans Memling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing