We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hans Memling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hans Memling Hotel
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is a very nice hotel, it is in need of a lick of paint and our bathroom was on the tired side. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful and the location is about as good as you can get in Bruges. The breakfast's were very good and the rooms though small were adequate. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, away from the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed in the Hans Meling on 29 april till 2 may. The hotel could not have been beter situated for easy access to the town center and most attractions. The reception staff were without doubt the most helpful staff i have ever come accross,nothing was to much trouble and they took a pride in thier city and wanted to help you find and enjoy the best places to see and explore, and eat . The breakfast was good with a good choise of food including,fruit,cereal,differently cooked eggs,hams,cheese,toast,different continental breads ,several toppings,various teas,fresh percolated coffee.The rooms were spotless,with T.V.mini bar, and instant hot water shower that were so easy to controll. The bar lounge was very regal, and the prices were in line with local bars in the area. There is a nice garden in the rear of the hotel which has tables and chairs, and is a real sun trap in the afternoon . Thank you Hans Memling for making our stay in Bruges so enjoyable. Photos showing view from our room,the hotel garden.canal trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Heidi at reception was absolutely charming, we booked for 2 nights. One of the rooms was on the street and quite noisy. We asked if we could be moved to the courtyard side for the second night, and although the hotel was very heavily booked it was quickly organised,with a smile and no stress. This hotel is in need of renovation, but is very clean and still has charm. It's proximity to the
main square is a real plus. The price is fair for its location.... Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard side much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Highlights:
- location cannot be more convenient - less than 5 min walk to the main market
- great staff - extremely helpful, friendly, great impression
- very tasty breakfast with decent choice
- large enough room with big bathroom
- clean room and bathroom with towels changed each day
- although simple but extremely comfortable bed

Downside:
- too pricey for the standard as some renovation would be welcome
- can be noisy as there is a club right next door but we did not get bothered by it
- very old lift (it gets stuck between floors)
- complimentary soaps etc in the bathroom could be better- they are definitely very limited so you should bring your own basic cosmetics (shampoo, soap etc)

I do recommend this place.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms from main street as those are more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syllwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

well below the standard we expected and never should be rated as a three star hotel,the whole hotel needs a complete revamp throughout,rooms are far too small and in need of a complete redecoration.Carpets were stained,shower hanging off the wall ,no spray more like a hose pipe!,TV had no English programmes,and although well situated area is rather seedy.On the plus side clean sheets,good towels changed daily and plenty of hot water with a very friendly staff.Nearby is an excellent tArgentinian steakhouse good value and serve most dishes beside steak.Loved Bruges,especially if you like chocolate and beer, there in abundance,easy city to walk round and places of interest such as cathedral and churches all close together.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenginger gsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We were a party of 7, and we have many holidays together, sadly this hotel was not as good as we expected. Rooms poor, carpets dirty, lifts rickety, breakfasts mediocre. Staff very good, BUT owner should redo hotel.

Room Tip: None of our rooms were very good, one room very small and one on3rd floor was dreadful, ceiling beam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SALLY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a good time in Bruges. Hans Memling served a great breakfast, the room was large, clean and the bed was comfy. The location was incredibly convenient, but, we didn't get a great night sleep as a result. Late night revellers and early starting workmen otherwise spoilt a great nights sleep. But I'd recommend, just take ear plugs.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Mszybut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#64 of 97 in Bruges
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
1.0 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#60 of 97 in Bruges
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#85 of 97 in Bruges
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Memling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Memling Hotel

Address: Kuiperstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £54 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hans Memling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hans Memling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Memling Bruges
Hotel Hans Memling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing