We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located, Family Run and Eccentric”
Review of Hans Memling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hans Memling Hotel
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We travelled to Bruges from Brussels and were relieved to find the Hotel Hans Memling to be conveniently located, however the down side of that was the inevitable noise from the late night venues which made sleep difficult and disturbances seemed to be spread throughout the whole night and noisy buses run right next to the hotel. Belgium winning a World Cup game didn't help!

The eccentric feel was evoked at first by the remote control being handed over with the room key (no electronic card here) as they said that many were stolen by visitors! The residents lounge has a reasonable selection of the usual very expensive drinks, but free Wi-Fi connection was available here. The lounge was very attractive with a selection of Europe travel guides and a pile of very useful tourist leaflets in the hall. We guess it was family run - too quirky for a chain or franchise.

The staff were pleasant and very helpful with getting train times, arranging trips over the phone, etc. The night staff were very keen to shut the place up at 11pm on the dot and were a bit inappropriate in conversation style and with all sorts of hints and reminders that the amenities were closing. You can get in after 11pm by using the electronically coded back door - but woe betide you if you use the old noisy lift after 11pm (no safety door and the outer doors are manual) . The stairs by the way are the steepest and oddest multi-directional assault course that I have ever encountered - take the lift.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down after our Brussels hotel, however enough was supplied and we got by. As usual no tea tray in the bedroom and we brought our own. The layout of the breakfast room reminded me of an exam hall, beware fellow guests with cups of coffee or plates of food.

Room Tip: One that faces north and doesn't get the noise funnelled down from the pubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a vacation in brugges where we stayed at the Hans memling hotel. While the location is good, we had a shocking experience with money stolen from our bags while we were away.

This was on the second day of our stay and we are certain this was done by the hotel staff. The bag that had cash was in the hotel room and while we were away, all cash was removed from inside a wallet kept in a bag. There was no sign of burglary and all other belongings were left as is.
Unfortunately we realized the missing cash only after leaving brugges, so couldn't confront the hotel staff. However we did file a police complaint and reported the incident.

Robbery aside, my only advice would be to stay in this hotel only if you are okay with all your bags being opened and looked into.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eur0Traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Brugge but we were disappointed with our hotel experience. We had a ground floor room and it was on a main bus route with buses going past every 10 minutes from early in the morning to late at night. Also there is a lively jazz club opposite with people partying until 4 o'clock in the morning. It was difficult to sleep both in the day and at night. The room was outdated and drab with no wifi service (we had to go to other areas in the hotel to access). The bathroom had cracked floor tiles and the loo was also cracked. Everything was tired looking including us!

To summarise, a budget hotel for those wanting to party and are not bothered about sleep!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank difty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel states that it has wi-fi, however wi-fi is only available in the breakfast room and the bar which makes it very inconvenient to use.
The location is decent - not too far of a walk from the Markt, there is also a convenience store nearby for supplies if needed. The size of the room was pretty spacious; however the customer service was pretty shoddy. we had 2 incidences - on the 1st day, our tub was not draining properly, we reported the situation, it was looked at and resolved, however after draining the tub they did not bother to clean it but left it with all the grime and soap scum.
The 2nd situation was when we were checking out - we spoke to the front desk the night before alerting them that we had a very early train to catch and wanted to call ahead for a taxi, was told we didn't need to call the night before, could simply come down to the front desk in the morning 10 mins before we needed the taxi. well, what they failed to mention was that the front desk would not be open at 6:30 am. we had to haul our luggage down the streets of Brugge looking for a cab.
Make sure you reserve a cab ahead of time because cab drivers WILL NOT stop for you if you hail them on the street. We had to walk about 10 minutes away to another hotel and have THEIR reception area call a cab on our behalf which they very kindly did. Breakfast is included in the price of the hotel and i will say they had a very good breakfast buffet.

Also, there was a club not too far away with people partying and yelling all night long. we saw people heading home from this club at about 6 a.m - didn't make for a very restful sleep

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Travelled on a P&O mini break in time for the Christmas markets and once we found the hotel after a stroll from the train station we found the hotel to be in a good location, just off the main square in the city centre. We got a good nights sleep as the hotel was quiet and the breakfast in the morning was a typical european buffet that was pleasing enough. Good value for money and would happily stay again in this hotel if looking for a mini break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TynemouthSamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is a short walk from the Markt. There is a good, cheap car park around the corner. It is slightly dated but clean and breakfast is good and tasty. The quad room with 4 single beds is ideal as spacious and at the quite rear of the hotel. The bathroom is very clean with bath and shower.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LondonFrancophile73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent one night in this pleasant hotel conveniently located just off the main market square. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast very good. Bruges is a lovely city to just wander around and take in the surroundings, and it was great having it all on the doorstep of our hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank saltandpepper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#63 of 97 in Bruges
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#41 of 97 in Bruges
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
2.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Memling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Memling Hotel

Address: Kuiperstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hans Memling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hans Memling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Memling Bruges
Hotel Hans Memling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing