We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,895)
Filter reviews
1,895 results
Traveller rating
439
916
395
110
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
916
395
110
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese gardennice hotelcomfort roomhotel overlookinggood sizeminute walkcity centrethe main squareroom was clean and comfortablequiet locationbars and restaurantsbreakfast roomenjoyable staylarge roomoverlooking the canalstayed here for one nightchristmas market
Filter
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 1,895 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We and some friends stayed at the hotel this week. This is an average 3* with decent size rooms (spotlessly clean) and adequate bathroom. The decor is a bit tired and in need of an upgrade. Terrible pillows although when I requested alternative ones they were immediately replaced Service very friendly and helpful.Breakfast-a buffet - good enough. Terrible coffee though.
The hotel offers its own parking which is a plus in somewhere like Bruges where parking is at a premium. Very fair price for what you get which is most definitely a standard 3*. My main concern however was the hotels location. The centre of Bruges is small and anything that might be of interest to a tourist is concentrated in a tiny area. This hotel is located a good 15-20 minute walk from the town, on a really pretty canal, with absolutely nothing around it . Whilst this walk has a certain charm the first time around it quickly became a diencentive to doing as much exploring as one might.This means that after a days sightseeing there is a long walk to get back to your base. Ditto when going out in the evening.This for me is a major disadvantage and prevents popping out for little wanders and explorations due to the distances to get anywhere. If I were to visit Bruges again I would certainly go for somewhere in the city centre

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmctee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked a last minute deal direct with the hotel it was excellent value.

The hotel is situated overlooking the canal with a central garden designed to reflect a Japanese theme, the garden is in need of some care and maintenance. The rooms was large, clean and comfortable beds. There are two restaurants one Japanese the other Italian, we ate in the Japanese restaurant where the food and service were excellent. Unfortunately it did lack atmosphere due to the lack of customers.

Breakfast was served in another restaurant where a reasonable selection was availale.

Overall the hotel was clean, well presented with good parking facilities and close to the centre of Bruges. Definitely worth considering for a short city break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I agree with other reviewers about the diversity of this hotel. We have just returned from a 4-day break and was recommended this hotel by our travel agent. Our room was pleasant and spotlessly clean, but the corridors in the hotel are dull, dingy and in need of a lick of paint; the dirty beige colour is extremely unattractive and uninvint, and did not look clean.
The breakfast buffet offered an excellent and varied selection of food, and the catering staff seemed very efficient. The hotel staff however, apart from the bartender, Bram, who was delightful, were surly and patronising. For example, we found red stains on the carpet in our room, and mentioned them at Reception. That sparked off what seemed like interrogation - we were asked "Is it bothering you?" (yes, which is why we mentioned it) "Are the stains wet or dry?" (not relevant), "What do you expect us to do about it?" (clearly nothing, as clearly no attempt has ever been made to deal with it). We simply resigned ourselves to the fact that Belgians do not have the same values as English hoteliers, and we would not have tolerated such an atiitude in England. I do not appreciate being spoken to as though I were a child as I am, in fact, an adult.
The bath was spotless and the shower efficient, except that the water took ages to drain through the plughole, indicating to us that the plughole was blocked with hair.
The Japanese garden was beautiful, but apart from the restaurant and the foyer, more attention needs to be paid to the hotel's interior.
Were we to return to Bruge, which we certainly intend to at some stage, we will seek out another hotel, although we have decided that a surly and patronising attitude is reminscent of the Dutch and the Belgians regardless of where we stay.

Room Tip: Don't bother to choose a balcony room; there is no drainage on the balcony and when it rains the ground fills with water.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexPussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a family room at the front of the hotel which was spacious and clean and a nice view of the canal. I would agree that the hotel is a three star rather than four and it is a little old fashioned, but the staff was helpful and the spa area was really welcome when it was bucketing down outside! The steam room wasn't working so we were only charged 10 euros instead of 15..

The quality of the breakfast was okay, nothing special, but at least there was fresh fruit.

The hotel is on the number 4 route which runs every ten minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette and Ton... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

There is a faded and barely readable plaque on the wall outside the front entrance that indicates the property was once given “4 stars” by some official agency, however, nothing could be further from the truth in a current sense. Two and ½ stars, maybe…? The property is a hodgepodge of 4 or 5 buildings that have been joined together. All have different decors and little appeal. In spite of advertisements promising “air conditioning” we could find no evidence of such (there was a simple fan in the room). One elevator did not work and was not fixed in the two days we were there. The bed was terrible. Room furnishings were cheap and in poor repair. The room was devoid of things like proper shampoo and conditioner although it was cluttered with all sorts of bulletins, information slips, advisories and other paperwork with unknown purposes. The carpet in the room was dreadfully thin and actually uncomfortable to walk on (not to mention the tears and poor attempts at repair). We would rate the breakfast buffet as both “limited” and “basic”.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews