We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A good location right by the canal and the staff were friendly and helpful, but certainly not a 4 star hotel. The decor in the room was very shabby and a number of the lights didn't work. We weren't given any bath towels until our second day and then it was one between the two of us!! The hotel advtertises a spa and gym, however this was locked and could only be used at a cost of 20 Euros. The breakfast was ok, although I've never seen bread sliced so thin!!
Overall very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeMedici, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Ms Janice,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do take all tips and comments to heart. We regret to read that your room wasn't serviced properly and that the decor of your room wasn't to your expectations, as you know we currently have 2 newly renovated wings in our hotel: the "Comfort Rooms". When having problems with the room or service you can always contact the reception so we can arrange this for you immediately. We want to recommend these rooms to you upon your next visit to Bruges, if you would like to book, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Golden Tulip Hotel de' Medici

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a pleasant, comfortable place to stay, located within walking distance from the city center. Air conditioning availability was better than many other hotels. Internet access is available but expires at 1hour intervals, which is inconvenient. The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here several times now and keep coming back tried various rooms and to be honest loved them all. A good sized hotel a little walk out of bruges but easily done.supermarket across road and right by canal,lovely places to eat nearby but restaurants in hotel are also very good.
Parking can be tricky but we have always used the main car park in bruges its cheaper when staying several days.Breakfast keeps you full all day the choice is wonderful and in the after noon there is free coffee in reception .Plenty of rooms sizes to choose from and check out their own deals in the Autumn they often do 3 for 2.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Lovely hotel, with nice breakfast atmosphere, very cleaned and spacious rooms, comfortable parking, nice locations it's near to tourist attractions and shopping center, and overlooking the romantic canals.

Room Tip: Please choose a comfort rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northsamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

From the front of the hotel it looks characterful and small, but it has been developed rather poorly, and is in need of freshening up with a modern touch. Our rooms were quiet spacious, but tired looking. The TV did not work upon arrival, we mentioned this to reception on 2 occasions & it still did not work on departure. The shower was powerful but located in a slightly strange location, so we flooded the bathroom when we took a shower. It was only 10 mins walking from the main square. Breakfast was OK, but very short on supplies, on both mornings there was no cheese, and we had to ask for it to be topped by, the waiter arrived with about 10 slices, so this disappeared very quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCThompson311209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our recent visit to the Golden Tulip De'Medici hotel was during a long weekend in Bruges, and made all the more enjoyable by the friendly staff, particularly on reception, and in the breakfast room.
The position of the hotel, overlooking one of Bruges many canals, was ideal for walking around the old town, and easy to find.
The bedroom was a good size, and well fitted, with mini bar, large flat screen TV and quality bathroom fittings.
The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of hot and cold choice, as well as good timings (8 till 11 over the weekend).
Altogether, a very good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: A canal facing room is probably slightly better in terms of views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxcherrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location is great at one of the canals far enough away from the city centre to have some quite nights but still in walking distance to all attractions and connected by bus with the railway station. The bar area is a bit dark and not very inviting. Same with the lobby why I decided to pay for the Internet access and use it in my room. Breakfast was ok as well as the room.
I had to check out at 11:00 which is ok, but wanted to leave my luggage at the hotel to do some sightseeing before heading home. You have to be very trusting if you decide to do so.Your luggage will not be locked away as usual, but kept in a small room, everything thrown all over the place and accessible to everyone. So better not leave anything valuable or fragile in your luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £77 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing