We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Bruges. The hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. The hotel is a bit dated but it is currently being renovated. The breakfast had an excellent choice, however the cooked option wasn't a great standard.

The room was very comfortable. The hotel is a short walk to the market square and easy to get to from the train station ( no 4 & 14 bus)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    703
    305
    87
    28
See reviews for
204
899
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Our room was stylishly decorated and the beds comfortable, but somehow we got the feeling this hotel is well past its glory days. The restaurant has closed down. The cosy bar closed well before midnight on a Friday. Shower gell from a dispenser in the bathroom... We got a great deal on the roomprice via trivago.be. Wouldn't want to pay full price!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wiejebetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeMedici, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Madam, SIr,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are gradually renovating our hotel, the entire second wing of our hotel has already been renovated, at this moment we are working on our restaurants. We apologize for the discomfort of not having any restaurants open during your stay, but this is a work in progress.
Thanks again for your review and we hope you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to Bruges.

Best regards,
Golden Tulip Hotel de' Medici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

A good quality hotel, a pleasant 10 minute walk from the main square. Plentiful buffet breakfast, but very quiet bar. Comfort room excellent including tv and very clean.

Was a little disappointed the health centre involved an additional charge which seems a little tight after paying 400 euro for 3 nights you would expect this to be free to guests as with most 4* hotels.

Would recommend but would probably not stay again as there are so many other great places to stay in beautiful Bruges!



Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A good place to stay though a little difficult to reach, especially in the dark from the city centre. very quiet too... A top quality breakfast and rooms are fine, if a little cramped.staff hospitible, but best explored in daylight.

Room Tip: service elevator can be used by guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Bruges for a last mintute city get away so booked the hotel just a few weeks before our trip. The hotel itself is situated next to a lake so makes for very pleasant walks in the evening and some lovely photo opportunities! It is a short 3-5 minute walk away from the main market square which is ideal to be away from the main hub of tourists but close enough to take a casual stroll any time of the day. The hotel also has a japanese themed garden which is beautiful. The staff and service was excellent. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly, polite and very helpful, offering advice about the best things to do and see. The room was a nice size complete with safe, mini-fridge and TV, and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast and dinnner (in the bar area) at the hotel is a low key affair but still to be recommended, especially for a nice quiet night in or lazy morning. Overall a fantastic experience, I would throroughly recommend this hotel and would stay there again should I ever return to Bruges.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel offer a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayleighAnneMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent one night in this hotel on our way to France. The room is nice furnitured and clean, staff was very friendly and they accept dogs. It's situated near the center. You really have good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel which is situated on the canal banks towards the north of the city. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. No restaurant, however the bar was friendly and not overpriced. Easy walk in to the city centre ( walking is SO easy in Bruges). If you arrive by train the bus is easy and there is as stop just across the canal from the hotel (nos 4 & 14) and only 2 euros per head.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing