We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet hotel.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Nice hotel good size room and bathroom. Very clean. We only booked as was advised smoking
rooms not so but was not advised until arrival we would have picked another hotel nearer the
main square and shops. Still had a nice time in Brugge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKENT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    727
    316
    91
    28
See reviews for
209
924
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Second time staying at this nice hotel. Very clean. Good quality continental breakfast. Nicely appointed rooms.

However, we travelled as 5 couples, and each one of us had bad mattresses - think they had all had their day - my husband and my self rolled together in the middle!

And beware the bar prices, €10 for a pint of beer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Spacious room, comfortable bed, lovely breakfast. Location of the hotel I also liked it - very quiet area slightly away from the bustling markets. Several alternatives that upset - poor soundproofing in the room - I "met and escorted" anyone who went to the elevator. So put "4". I will be happy to return to Bruges and "Golden Tulip".

Room Tip: Better ask for a room not close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Bruges. The hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. The hotel is a bit dated but it is currently being renovated. The breakfast had an excellent choice, however the cooked option wasn't a great standard.

The room was very comfortable. The hotel is a short walk to the market square and easy to get to from the train station ( no 4 & 14 bus)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Our room was stylishly decorated and the beds comfortable, but somehow we got the feeling this hotel is well past its glory days. The restaurant has closed down. The cosy bar closed well before midnight on a Friday. Shower gell from a dispenser in the bathroom... We got a great deal on the roomprice via trivago.be. Wouldn't want to pay full price!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wiejebetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDeMedici, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Madam, SIr,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are gradually renovating our hotel, the entire second wing of our hotel has already been renovated, at this moment we are working on our restaurants. We apologize for the discomfort of not having any restaurants open during your stay, but this is a work in progress.
Thanks again for your review and we hope you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to Bruges.

Best regards,
Golden Tulip Hotel de' Medici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

A good quality hotel, a pleasant 10 minute walk from the main square. Plentiful buffet breakfast, but very quiet bar. Comfort room excellent including tv and very clean.

Was a little disappointed the health centre involved an additional charge which seems a little tight after paying 400 euro for 3 nights you would expect this to be free to guests as with most 4* hotels.

Would recommend but would probably not stay again as there are so many other great places to stay in beautiful Bruges!



Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing