We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad night”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is no too bad but there is some problem like old small bed. Even with the window closed its very noisy in the room. There is some bad smells (mustiness in the Air Conditioning + cigar odor). The hotel's restaurant was closed. But the staff was nice and the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    727
    316
    91
    28
See reviews for
209
924
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Always a good place to stay, very friendly staff. Unfortunately, this year the two restaurants were closed due to renovation work. From the train station to Golden Tulip by bus - very easy! Walk to the centre and marketplace takes only a few minutes. It was our 2nd stay at Golden Tulip and we will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

But not a bad walk! Good thing about the distance was that it made for a quiet stay. Staff were all really friendly, hotel seemed a bit dated, cleanliness was ok, rooms were a good size, especially for Europe. I am almost certain we were not in an updated room, may be worth asking about if you plan to spend lots of time in your room. Disappointing that wireless was an extra fee except for in the common areas. The breakfast buffet was nice, good selection of typical foods (eggs, breads, pastries, fruits, coffee machines, teas, cereal, etc). A decent stay for the price, not sure that we'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton aycliffe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel and I had to rate it as it was excellent. Staff were friendly, room was perfect and it was in a great location to explore all that's bruges has to offer. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and always topped up. Would definately return!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

expectations was not really high about the place when we came we thought that it was just for a night, but everything went really amazing! the staff were definitely their gem, Always with the smile and Always attetive of our needs when we where there. The room they provided us was also big and had everything we needed for our stay (only the hair dyer was a bit too old and didnt really do its purpose).

we came late in the evening and rented a bike because when we checked in the map it was quite a walk and my friend was worried about her bag because of the stoned path ways (everything is really stoned seemed very dangearous during winter time so please be careful).
better take a bus from the station, bus 4 and 14 stops in the front.

breakfast is really good and Always filled, the women that takes care of the breakfast were absolutely amazing! we akesd them some points of the must see places of brugges and they were very helpful. we were also the last people from the breakfast then, they gave us some chocolate bread and fruits to bring for our lunch! so sweet!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenligtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Managed to book a mid-week break, which made it a very affordable break. Hotel is clean and tidy, however breakfast is average and Wi-Fi poor. It is also a good 10 min walk into the town centre. I would spend a little more to be more central and have better facilities.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Nice hotel good size room and bathroom. Very clean. We only booked as was advised smoking
rooms not so but was not advised until arrival we would have picked another hotel nearer the
main square and shops. Still had a nice time in Brugge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKENT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing