We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Bruges for one night.
Positives: Friendly staff, Nice Breakfast buffet (nothing special but nice), walking distance to centre of Bruges, Comfortable nice room.
Negatives: Limited parking (no reservation possible). On the other hand, parking in the street is possible with a parking card (4hours), on Sunday there is no need for the card.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brams_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    701
    305
    87
    28
See reviews for
204
897
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having read some reviews before we stayed in the Golden Tulip de Medici, our expectations were mixed. However, the room we were allocated was more like a suite, and was very comfortable indeed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts good with lots of choice. OK, the main restaurant was closed for renovation, which was a pity, but we dined twice in the bar area from a small menu which was adequate for our needs, and on our third night we found a lovely little bistro (Bistro De Schilder) near the Jan van Eyck statue, where we had a superb meal to celebrate my husband's special birthday.

The hotel is quite quirky in its layout, but I think this adds to the charm. As we are advanced in years, we generally took the bus to and from the centre where the markets are. It is very easy to get to and from the railway station as well, you just take the 4 or 14 bus.

All in all a pleasant stay and we would definitely stay again if we could have the same room!

Room Tip: We had room 123 which is a large corner suite. We had requested a room overlooking the canal, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 912Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Well appointed room, a treat on the pillow was a nice touch. Rooms very clean and appealing. Only side issues were we could hear the conversations of people passing by in the corridor and the lift was antiquated, small and slow.
Breakfast was part of our deal with a great variety of which we made the most!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wideyedkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is no too bad but there is some problem like old small bed. Even with the window closed its very noisy in the room. There is some bad smells (mustiness in the Air Conditioning + cigar odor). The hotel's restaurant was closed. But the staff was nice and the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Always a good place to stay, very friendly staff. Unfortunately, this year the two restaurants were closed due to renovation work. From the train station to Golden Tulip by bus - very easy! Walk to the centre and marketplace takes only a few minutes. It was our 2nd stay at Golden Tulip and we will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

But not a bad walk! Good thing about the distance was that it made for a quiet stay. Staff were all really friendly, hotel seemed a bit dated, cleanliness was ok, rooms were a good size, especially for Europe. I am almost certain we were not in an updated room, may be worth asking about if you plan to spend lots of time in your room. Disappointing that wireless was an extra fee except for in the common areas. The breakfast buffet was nice, good selection of typical foods (eggs, breads, pastries, fruits, coffee machines, teas, cereal, etc). A decent stay for the price, not sure that we'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton aycliffe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel and I had to rate it as it was excellent. Staff were friendly, room was perfect and it was in a great location to explore all that's bruges has to offer. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and always topped up. Would definately return!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing