We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet comfortable hotel, but overpriced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet comfortable hotel, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Pleasant enough hotel. Strange Japanese theme going on throughout the hotel, but the central garden was nice. I think we had one of the updated rooms as it was clean, fresh and comfortable. I requested twin beds when I booked but when we checked in our room had only a double bed. Staff was accommodating even though they were fully booked and somehow made a change for us. The breakfast was quite substantial and of good quality, but nothing fancy. Generally a good hotel that I would recommend if it had been half the price, but it was not worth the 220 Euros we paid for one night. The location was very convenient... about a 10 minute walk to the Markt and on a quiet canal. Whirlpool featured in pictures didn't seem to be working. Next time I will book earlier and try to get one of the much nicer looking small hotels in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    683
    300
    86
    27
See reviews for
199
881
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice and quiet hotel but unfortunately the Japanese restaurant was closed, renovation, and we picked this hotel because we wanted to have dinner there. They should inform tourists when they have already booked. The breakfast was super and very fresh and super friendly staff in the breakfast room.

This Belgian couple will return when the restaurant is open :)

ps; the beds were too soft for back patients

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a family trip on easter weekend. After attempting to get in a few hotels without joy due to the holidays we found this one. If there had been another option we would have taken it.

On arival we were told check in was 3 so we had some lunch and returned just after 3, to be told it wasnt ready. We had to wait until 4.15 to access 1 of the 2 rooms as the other still wasnt ready. No apology for this inconveniance.

The rooms were cramped, dated and dirty.

The free wifi was not working so we enquired at reception and the lady told us to just try again later and if it didnt work then it wouldnt for the rest of our stay.

breakfast was edible.

it is good as a base and only a base however it is extremely overpriced to use just as a base.

steer clear of this one.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I understand the hotel is doing some renovation, and the photos are from these updated rooms. Our room had peeling paint, rust, outdated wallpaper and generally felt like it hadn't been cared for in 25 years.

Our parents were in the loft where much of the room was under the eaves and the 'view of the canal' was only accessible by crawling on the floor to reach the window.

Breakfast was fine, but nothing special and not a '4 star' hotel. It has potential to be if they update the rooms!

Room Tip: Try to get a 'comfort' room. These are the rooms that have been recently upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel22Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landstuhl, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beautiful large room with an extra bed of sturdy quality, not just a folding extra bed. My matress was rather soft, was able to trade with my son, who preferred the softer version, I didn't bother the hotel to exchange it, due to our late arrival at 20:00 and only 1 Nights stay, the ventilation seemed to blow in pollen or dust, which it has collected over time, but we were able to shut it off. Large bathroom , no complaints here, I liked the wallpapering in our room and the furniture, no significant surcharge for our son, I have paid more in other places for lesser stars and significantly lesser quality. Thumbs up, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: No Pool, SPA not used due to lack of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 344Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice hotel on quiet neighborhood but very, very outdated and old-fashioned in terms of decoration. The only negative thing in my opinion in this hotel is the decoration which makes you think you are entering a retirement home from the 70's.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFreitas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florange, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed there for one night, had the opportunity to use the jacuzzi, sauna and hammam which after a good day of visiting was more than welcome.
We ate in the hotel's restaurant but we shouldn't have. the food wasn't good.
The room was pretty nice, sleeping there was good.
Overall a good hotel but could be better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing