We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The location is superb because it is near the city center and along the canals. The room was nice, clean, and modern. Breakfast was good-there was a wide variety. The only issue was parking because it was difficult to find sometimes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    684
    300
    86
    28
See reviews for
199
883
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

In a quieter part of town, by a lovely canal. Just a 10 minute walk to the city center. Hotel was surprisingly large, has a Japanese garden in the center. Room had air conditioning. Breakfast was included in our room price. Breakfast was great--good variety of the usual cold foods (meats, cheese, cereal, breads, fruit) and hot foods (eggs, sausages, tomatoes). Street parking is easy to find, so you don't need to pay the 15 euros for parking in the hotel's garage. Note: if you street park your car during the daytime, you'll need one of those blue parking cards, which you can buy at a tobacco store close by. Then you need to move your car every 4 hours until the evening. Not the best location if you come via train, asyou'll have to haul your suitcase across town. But good if you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited recently for one night on the way back to Calais. The hotel is ideally situated close to the centre but the Sat Nav decided to take us right through the centre on a busy Sunday afternoon which was a little stressful. Parking just outside the hotel was free until 9 am the following morning. There were no parking discs left for us but as we were leaving early anyway it didn't matter. The guy on reception spoke excellent English and was very amusing and helpful.
The room and bathroom were excellent although there was no view. The pillows are very full and firm so I slept without a pillow!
We decided to use the Spa in the evening but this is really a waste of money as the Jacuzzi was cold and the showers were out of order. The sauna and steam room need switching on before use so they take a few minutes to warm up but otherwise ok.
Great location, clean rooms, good choice at breakfast but don't bother with the Spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I couldn't find a cheaper hotel closer to the centre of Bruges that also had parking. As it turned out when I arrived they didn't actually have any space but there was on street parking available, free for 4 hours with a parking disc. As I turned up at 6.30pm the disc covered me until morning and when I woke up I rolled the disc on to cover me until lunchtime when I was leaving. So really the hotel not having parking saved me €15!

The hotel itself was incredible for the price. Massive air conditioned room and the breakfast in the morning was great...A selection of the usual hot and cold foods.

The location was great aswell. Only a 15min walk to the centre. The boat trips even go very close to the hotel itself which shows how close it is.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mystery_shopper_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We got in very late and checked in at 2 AM without any problem. They even moved out our check-out time by one hour, to 12 noon. Pleasant staff, beautiful hotel, very comfortable room with a view and good spread for breakfast. In-room complimentary wireless was working fine. Couldn't have asked for more!

You can either park your car in the hotel parking or on the street which is a free. However, you would need to come back after every 4 hours to increment the time slot. It's a 15 min walk from the hotel to Bruges Market Square, which the town's city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSinha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a very good hotel in a great location. A very easy walk to the centre of Bruges, which is always worth a visit! Happy to recommend it.
Room and bathroom were fine, and parking was easy.
Breakfast was good, but in a depressing room.
Not much else to say, really, just a good hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on floor 3 to maximise light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We are holiday travelers living in Germany. Stayed in Bruges for 2 nights at hotel de medici. Everything is very good. Very nice comfort room large in space and very clean. Breakfast was lovely with a lot of choices. Very friendly staffs in the hotel. Nice stay and we shall soon return to this hotel. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing