We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception staff and manager messed up”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reception staff and manager messed up”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Arrived 7.30 am. asked to pay to get a room early.Fully booked ( they said) Heard a guest checking out early twenty minutes later and was promised rooms at 11.00. At 11 came back and started checking in. Then manager at back said to staff, "wait, I have a group, no check ins till 15.00" . No offer of a drink, discounted breakfast, , just come back at 15.00, when we know rooms were available from 10 ( you could see) and no effort was made even though I offered to pay an extra night !

No free wifi and ridiculously expensive wifi fee , good breakfast, good room, great location, bored staff,no lobby to speak of, thin doors, but good value for money. Amazing what damage one person can cause !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    1,340
    420
    128
    39
See reviews for
347
1,594
80
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Staff very friendly...went as part of our 'minimoon' . We were upgraded to one of the junior suites as they knew we were just married. very central for christmas markets as situated right behind belfries. bar slightly pricey for a vodka & havana club at 20 euros...but spirits are normally more expensive in europe. Room for a suite was rather small, so I wouldn't like to imagine what the other rooms were like. Overall, fantastic place to stay and would recommend for anyone planning to go over (just don't go for spirits)

Room Tip: have a suite in new part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASH_FF_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We returned last week from a trip to Bruges and had this hotel recommended to us. The location is perfect, literally accross the road from the square. The rooms are lovely and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault it all and would definately recommend to anyone who is going.
It is not a quiet hotel, as the bell tower is ringing most of the day - however i wouldn't say this was off putting it added to the atmosphere as wherever you are you will hear the bells! They did stop throughout the night

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosuninleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have just returned from a brilliant 2 night weekend where my husband and I and another couple stayed in Martins Hotel. We booked a superior double and our friends went for the standard double/twin. I think the only difference was our room was a little bit larger and had more beams. The rooms were very clean and the bed was the most amazing bed (memory foam) so if you are obsessed with a good nights sleep like I am, book this hotel purely for the beds. The bar has a happy hour between 8-9pm each night and Brugge is short on bars so make use of it although it closes at midnight. The hotel serves a breakfast but it is 17E so try and get breakfast included in your room rate. The hotel is located to the rear of the clock tower. For a nice beer and fun atmosphere head to Le Pub which is a 30mt from the hotel and is tucked away - stay away from the Lucifer beer!!

Room Tip: Ask for breakfast included for a cheap rate. Ask for a room facing away from the the clock tower if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastielil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

the hotel was clean and breakfast was excellent, the hotel was central, one point to mention theres no tea and coffee in rooms,and the happy hour is only for soft drinks and beers , staff was friendly, overall a good place to stay would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

In general I was happy with the hotel, great location and friendly staff. Benjamein was quite excellent in particular; his stellar customer service is the main reason I may consider staying at Martin's Brugge again. Unfortunately the good customer service did not extend to management. Just a warning to future guests; if you have a sincere emergency that is entirely out of your control and must change your travel plans management will be unsympathetic. Management will use the staff as a go between, if you ask to speak with them directly they will make you wait so long you leave.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonnymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Unlike some hotels which reviewers have recommended this hotel fully lived up to its good name. The room and general hotel service could not be faulted and the breakfast was excellent. You should be aware that the Happy Hour cheap drinks only applies to beer.
There is not much more that can be said about Bruges which previous reviewers have not already been said, however it is generally expensive but one can find a reasonable 3 course meal for 20 euros and the cheapest choice beer was in a rather scruffy bar - first on the left coming out of the hotel.
The trips to Tyncot Cemetery and Ypres (particularly St Martins Cathedral and St Georges Church was well worth it but Hill 62/Sanctuary Wood stank of cats and one felt that it was just a money making place that had no respect for the dead.
As pointed out previously Lille Eurostar Station is grotty and not a patch on major British Stations - St Pancras is exceptional in every way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldtuggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabrugge, Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having stayed in Martin's Brugge!

Each day there is an happy hour from 8 pm till 9 pm in the hotelbar. During 1 hour, we serve beer, wine & soft drinks at half of the price. During this time, the Eco-cocktail is also served for only €4 . This cocktail is made with local products (Eau de Villé, belgian apple cider & apple liquor.

Looking forward to welcoming your personally during your next stay.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing