We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights while in Brugge. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is second to none, a 2 minute walk to the main square, which is great if you have been walking about all morning, and want to nip back!!The rooms are a little bit on the small side but I think the location and staff more than make up for that and as a previous poster said, it dosen't make too much difference beause your out and about all day. Overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roundtheworld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,317
    412
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,559
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We got a very good midweek deal for the hotel and were very satisfied with the place. True it is quite modern and does not have very much historical character but what it lacks in character it makes up for with location. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the Marktplatz and close to all the central attractions. We didn't use the hotel carpark and instead went to the Pandreitje carpark very nearby - 8.70euros for 24h. Also we didn't eat at the hotel and instead took our breakfast out so that we could enjoy some of the cafes. The room was quite small but very cosy and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The one negative point we found was that the luggage room is not very secure. It has a locked door which the reception can open from the desk, however they cannot see who is coming and going so other people can enter while the door is unlocked - don't leave anything valuable in your suitcase. I would recommend this hotel to those who are looking for somewhere to stay in Bruges on a city break and want to be close to all the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor. We had room 725 in the new building on level 2b - very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Went to Bruges for New Year and stayed for two nights. Great location as other guests mentioned on trip advisor. Just off the main square, staff very helpful, hotel tip top in all ways. About the only thing I would say, room quite small, but we were out and about most of the time, so not a problem for us. Also has underground parking on site, very handy but a little expensive at 25 Euros per night.

Would deff recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

One block off the main square, but in a quiet street. Rooms facing the inner courtyard are really peaceful, no noise at all. Beds are fantastically comfy. Rooms small but very functional, good powerful showers, modern decor. Breakfast much better than expectations - extensive continental buffet AND some hot stuff if you can't go without your bacon and sausage! At 135-ish euros inclusive, can't go wrong. Hire bikes from the place in the little street opposite, and you get them for 9 euros / day instead of 12 with the cards they give you at the hotel. Highly recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard-facing for extra quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Campoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of Brugge however that doesn't need to be a factor when searching for a hotel as the centre is quite small so you can walk to most places really quickly.
The reception area, bar and restaurant were really nice and the standard of the breakfast was good.
The rooms are not as nice as the photos on the website would have you believe. They are perfectly okay but, in my opinion, in need of an update, especially the bathroom which is firmly back in the 1970s!
However the staff were all very helpful and the hotel has parking - essential in Brugge!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Njamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molay, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Location was perfect. BUT.....

No tea or coffee facilities in rooms. Wifi €5 per hour, parking €25 per day and breakfast €17 - so very expensive for 3 stars on top of 155€ per night (special rate even for a single room).

Lowering the price for someone who wants to use ALL the facilities from €200+ per night for a basic room with access to the above - they could charge an 'all in extras' (Unlimited WiFi, Parking, and Breakfast) for €15-€20 per day, which is still a good additional income, but would make the rate for a 3 star hotel feel extra specially good value.

I would have stayed there much longer if I didn't have to pay €50+ per day in extras, not to mention the €3 for a soft drink in the mini bar - bit much when you don't get Tea or Coffee in your room, and Tea in the Bar is €3+.

PS Please get rid of the matress protectors - you will sweat like made even in winter!

Room Tip: 220 - 222 not so good view of internal courtyard which meant we had someone vomiting at 2am after to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TurnDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Despite being somewhat utilitarian in a city of history and splendour, Martin's Hotel is clean, comfortable, offers courteous service but above all is perfectly located for a city break, about 2 mins walk from the central square, Markt. The hotel offers secure parking in a garage beneath but at 25 euros per night the Pandreitje public car park less than 10 mins walk away is much better value at 8.70 euros for 24h.

They serve an excellent buffet breakfast for 17 euro pp and were happy to accommodate my partner with the gluten free bread we requested in advance. Our room, in the newer part of the hotel, was very comfortable, if small but fine for a long weekend, and spotlessly clean with an excellent shower (no bath). The room has a small fridge/mini-bar but no tea & coffee making facilities which was disappointing. We didn't eat other meals in the restaurant but did use the Martin's bar by the hotel entrance which offered a wide range of beers, wines and cocktails at reasonable [hotel] prices in a quiet and refined setting with good service.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Martins.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloodwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing