We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good.”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really good.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Smallish room but large bathroom. Very clean. Staff very nice. Tip for Room 138 - free wifi on a connection called Topman! Excellent location right in middle of Bruges. Perfect base for exploring. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    1,329
    418
    124
    37
See reviews for
344
1,578
77
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, the accommodation was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel's location was excellent for walking around the town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return should we come back again to Bruges. Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable and we didn't have any problems with noise. I am more than happy to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just minutes from the main touristy square Martins is in an easy to find location. The room was lovely as was the power shower! Staff at reception were very friendly & helpful. The lady at the bar was a bit grumpy though...

Only negatives aside from the grumpy barmaid was the noise in the morning. Lots of door slamming & because there wasn't any double glazing the passing horses woke up but I really wouldn't let this put you off because the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisykinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a wonderful experience in Brugges. And Martins was a great place to stay. Niels was a very helpful young man, assisting us in any question we had. He should be promoted to bigger and better opportunities! Good luck, Niels, from your Texas "grandmother"!!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellarine Peninsula
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Martin's Brugge is a lovely hotel in a cobble-stoned street in the old part of town, just opposite the Belfry (from the film "In Bruges" with Colin Farrell). The hotel has a warm fire, plenty of chairs to sit around in the foyer, and a computer for free guest use just near reception. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and although we were too early for our room check-in, we made use of their locked, secured luggage room, warmed ourselves by the fire, then ventured out to see the town. It is less than 1 minute walk from the Market Square which had a small Christmas Market and ice skating rink when we were there - and surrounded by many fabulous chocolate shops, restaurants, general shops - and did I mention the Belgian chocolate shops every 5 to 10 steps? The trip up the Belfry opposite the hotel is a must - it is a long walk, frightening when the bells peal right beside your head, but views of the city are not to be missed.

We spent three nights in this hotel and this picturesque little town. Martin's was so inviting and comfortable, we did not want to leave. We had a good sized room with comfortable beds (1 x Queen and 1 bed for our 12-year-old) - plenty of room for us, our 3 backpacks and 3 daypacks. It is only a short bus ride from the railway station to the Market Place, then less than 2 minute walk - so very central. The breakfast room is big, light-filled with a nice garden view - and the food on offer at the buffet was tasty and plentiful. I notice people complained about lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room, however we purchased these at a nearby cafe and walked back with them (it was freezing cold, winter - but we were so close, they were still piping hot when we got back at night).

This central location is close to all tourist attracts, restaurants, tourist shops, and I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. From the outside it is a typical old style hotel, but the inside is modern and cozy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkelpunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel is ideally situated close to everything you could need in Bruges. The hotel itself is of a good standard with clean rooms, comfortable beds and a good breakfast for the price. Unfortunately we didn't know there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and this was a disadvantage, as there was no option of room service either. I think lack of free wifi (and it was overpriced at 5 euros for an hour, and 15 for a day, and 40 for 3 days is also significant in this day and age. However despite this we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Surestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This 3 star hotel in the very center of Bruges is different from most hotels of this rating we have stayed at: it is a modern style, recently refurbished, clean and attractive hotel.

We booked with their last minute pricing deal and at this price it is absolutely faultless. If you are asked to pay full rack rate you may feel that the "open closet" style, the late check in time (3pm), and perhaps the size of some of the standard rooms a bit over priced, but only a bit.

We have stayed in all 3 of Martin's Hotels in Bruges and each one is excellent in their own way. Stay at the other two for excellent service, rooms, ambiance etc. but we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who just wants the basics done very well indeed.

Well done Martin ... again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyandtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing