We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel was in an excellent location, very central to anything you'd want to do in Bruges. It was comfortable and larger than we expected. There is a chocolate shop, van oozt, just down the street that had the best handmade chocolates in Bruges. The staff were polite, the bar had a decent selection, and the room was comfortable and clean. Over all a lovely stay in a lovely town. I would return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meuniedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 3,084 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

Good location right by the Belfry, however not the cleanest of places. Hairs in the corner of the bathroom, and the grout could do with a deep clean. However reception helpful, fantastic location, and relly quiet even though we had a room on the market square side..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed at Martin's Brugge in December during my first trip to the city. I booked the hotel as part of a package with Eurostar.

The hotel couldn't be better situated for easy access to exploring the city and is within easy walking distance from the train station. The hotel is well presented, with clean, modern decor. My standard room was fairly small but comfortable for a short stay. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower excellent.

I was particularly impressed with the quality and choice available at the breakfast buffet and would recommend booking this in advance as I did, as it will save 5 Euros per person, per breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP7573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Eurostar package and it did not disappoint. Getting there is so easy by bus and the staff on the bus was a star by telling us our stop was the third one. Loads of buses outside the station so really spoilt for choice. The fare is two euros for single journey, a real bargain. The stop is close to the hotel so no need to lug cases over the cobbles.

Check in a breeze and staff explained everything you needed to know. Including discounted breakfast if you book in advance. Messed up safe in the room and within minutes of telephoning reception the staff came to the room and sorted it.

Everything you need for a couple of days is in walking distance from the hotel. It is easy to nip back to the hotel to drop off shopping and the like.

We had breakfast out on the first morning and although cheap we were hungry by mid morning. Booked the breakfast on following days and although expensive we managed on a light snack mid day and then not eat until the evening. Breakfast is varied with a good hot and cold choice.

The room was comfortable and warm and the bed comfortable. The room was on the back side of and was very quiet (321). With the exception of hearing a toilet flushing we did not hear noise from neighbouring rooms. Not a huge room but big enough.

Happy hour every evening - something of a bonus. The bar tender was a star, good with customers, good sense of humour and very attentive. His pleasant approach encouraged us to drink in the bar rather than in the local bars.

Overall 10 out 10 and the only niggle being that there is really nowhere comfortable to sit. But then your not paying to sit.

Give Martins a whirl, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

superb hotel, modern boutique design. great staff great location. would definitely recommend but would suggest that if driving you use one of the nearby public carparks as the hotel carpark is extremely expensive, but overall great and would definitely use again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here early December 2012, in a triple room.
The location is fantastic, right behind the belfries tower and just a 60 walk from the main square (where the christmas markets are situated).
The staff were really friendly and helpful... We arrived at around 10am and although we could not check in until 3pm, they still allowed us to use the carpark immidiatley.
The room was fantastic, large double bed then three steps down into another room with a single bed. Nice decor, good bath and shower facilities.
The day after we checked out at 11am but the staff agreed that we could leave our car in the carpark until we departed for the ferry at around 4pm. Saved a fortune on parking and could keep bobbing back to the boot with our purchases.
Very impressed with every aspect of the hotel... Will be returning soon

Room Tip: We chose a triple room and although it didn't have a view... who needs a view while they sleep?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Very dissapointed with Martin's Brugge.
Had booked an ungrade room on check-in; room was very small for a supposedly better room with limited access around the bed - "traditional beams" in the new part of the hotel. Poor view (roof of next building only). No bath, just a shower, poor lighting. Heating controls difficult to use.
Room smelled of sewers on returning second evening of stay. Informed staff at reception, offered a change of room but declined as very late in the evening - slept with the window open instead. Discussed at checkout - offered little sympathy & no compensation.
With hindsight should have declined the up-grade straight away.
Location is good.
Didnt eat in as breakfast price seemed very high.
Markets a bit disappointing too - mainly tatt, with few proper artisan stalls; limited choice of local produce & not all stalls open every day.

Overall we will keep Brugge on the list to visit but NOT martins.

Room Tip: Careful with upgrades.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
2,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#26 of 97 in Bruges
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £62 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing