We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great modern hotel in an old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
warwickshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great modern hotel in an old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

3rd time here so they're doing something right!! great location , great rooms and a great bar with a happy hour for a pre dinner cocktail.if brugges is on your list of places to go then this hotel comes recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_kdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,318
    415
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,562
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel, for a 3* was superb. The location, opposite the Belfry, is perfect, just 20 seconds from the main square.
Although the room was one of the smallest i have stayed in, it was clean and attractive. The bathroom was modern and hotel staff were very helpful and full of recommendation. A must stay for your break in Bruge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived late on a Friday night, the staff at reception were warm and friendly. The room was nicely decorated but tiny, just about enough space to shuffle around the bed! Hardly slept a wink either, as the room overlooks a street and every car (or horse and cart) going by woke me up. I am a light sleeper though! The next day I decided to see about getting a different room (at least a quieter one), the staff were again very accommodating and gave us a new room, much bigger this time, but it was still overlooking the street, so not wanting to go another night without sleep, I asked if we couldn't have a room off the street - they told us that 80% of the rooms were overlooking the street but they'd move our bags if an interior room became available (which thankfully it did) - so our second and last night was a vaste improvement on the first! The room was really quiet and bigger! I would recommend Martins for it's location and helpful staff, but beware if you are a light sleeper like me. The breakfast buffet was quite good but not always fully stocked.

Room Tip: If you're not happy ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poleulor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have recently stayed in Brugge for the first time, and Hotel Martin was perfectly placed for the centre of Brugge, right opposite the Beerfest we were there for, and 1 street away from the main square........... Beautiful Hotel, and the Staff were really proffession but still smiley and welcoming.... The entrance and bar stunning, Lovely rooms, and the Breakfast to die for.... We will definitely be going back.....

Room Tip: I can imagine every room will be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzaroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here twice in last 2 yrs! Brilliant location, great value - rooms are small but comfortable and clean! Planning my nxt trip back to Brugge and Martin's will def be where I choose to stay! Barman was really nice - really knows his stuff!!

Room Tip: Try the Martin's Cocktails - The yellow one is the BEST I have ever had!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

stayed at Martins over New Years (Dec 12 to Jan 13) booked through a Eurostar package. Found the hotel to be clean, reasonably priced and VERY central. Rooms on the 4th floor had high ceilings, large bathrooms, and great views across the town which meant we had a view across the town of the fireworks on New Years Eve. The room lacked the basic kettle (for tea/coffee making), however there is a vending machine in the basement for hot beverages. The hotel breakfast was mediocre, but being so central there were dozens of other options on the doorstep. (er, yes, chocolate and beer ARE breakfast options for team monkey when on holiday).
The location really recommends this hotel, it is seriously just steps away from the old square.

Room Tip: top floor rooms for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice now, it's fab. Can't praise the staff enough. Location could not be better and if you drive as Isis the free parking is a must

I would not hesitate to recommend here to anyone.
Now. Truthfully how many hotels can you say that about?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing