We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beer lovers paradise, hic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beer lovers paradise, hic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had a 3 night stay stay, lovely hotel just a 15 minute walk from the station. Hotel centrally located just a couple of minutes walk to the center of Bruge. Hotel staff very helpful, nice clean room, nice bar area and restaurant (good breakfast!). Great selection of beers available locally. Would definately go back. Just a word of caution as mentioned elsewhere - restaurant prices aren't very cheap. Go for the tourist menu - about 16 -19 euro's for 3 courses( albeit small portions!) If you can find the time, take a train to Ghent - lovely historic centre

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishbob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,317
    412
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,559
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Picked this hotel primarily on the basis of its location and we could not
have picked better. The no. 4 bus from the station dropped us on the
easterly side of The Markt and the hotel was less than two minutes away at
the rear of the Belfort or bell tower. From this location all of Bruges can
easily be explored on foot. The hotel room that we stayed in (301) was
perfectly clean, if just a little small. The room was very quiet, the bed a
little soft but not so much to stop me having a great night's sleep. We
prepaid for the breakfast (€12 otherwise €17) which was great value -
wholesome hot and cold food and a wonderful selection of beds. Including
tax and breakfast for two our one-night stay cost us €101. Excellent value
for this location. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tablepourdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stopped for 3 nights in a great, clean, friendly hotel. Staff make you feel really welcome and cant do enough to help. Happy hour good and worth taking part in. Really clean room with balcony. Small fridge in room with drinks (water, coke etc) for about 3 euros each. No tea/coffee making facilities, but knew this beforehand and so took all necessary items with us (travel heater etc). Some very loud guests on one night, but apart from this very quiet Hotel.

Close to Market place, worth taking a canal trip, but wrap up warm. Not too far from main station and a nice walk, but all cobblestones, so not good on heels or suitcase wheels. Jump on a bus right outside station if not want to walk and is only a couple of euros.

Plenty of places to eat and drink, something for every taste. Not had children with us but everywhere appeared to be very child friendly and had signs up outside if not appropriate for children. Good shopping, especially for clothes.

Would recommend for couples or families alike.

If travelling on Eurostar, the train ticket covers you from Brussels to Bruges on the day of travel and the same on return trip

Room Tip: Room in the front with balcony is great to see what going on in street and able to hear bells/ music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

great location no frills hotel would stay here again for sure,happy hour is a must between 8 and 9 pm.if you arrive by train just hop on a bus with centrum on it and get off at the 3rd stop right next to martins hotel the fare is just 2 euros each a taxi is about 8 euros.word of warning about brugge it is a beautifull city that is expensive a meal for two with a few drinks will be between 60-100 euros in a decent restaurant, i would advise to book a restaurant in advance after studying the reviews as there is a massive choice of places to eat. the chip vans in the square are an option for tight budgets very tasty and filling.the bars and restaurants around the market square are very pricey so leave them if you dont want to get ripped off! the boat trip on the canal for 7.60 euros is worth doing and if you want a nice treat a half hour horsedrawn tour lasting 35 mins is good but 39 euros !!! there is a tipping culture in brugge so use your discression if you think a tip has been earned! finally if you travel by eurostar the train ends its journey at brussels then you must change platform and get on a train to oostend, brugge is about 1hour and 10 mins there is no extra cost,we did not realise this till we got to brussels, eurostar do not point this small detail out as i guess it would put some travellers off!.

Room Tip: dont become obsessed with what room they give you if its clean with fresh linen and towels just get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbedfordLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I booked two double rooms for three nights for a city break in March 2013.
It was out first stay and we would certainly use this hotel again. The receptionist who checked us in was called Stefanie and could not have been more helpful. The two double rooms (205 &207) were well furnished, functional and had very comfortable beds. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but we had realised this before we left so we took our travel kettle. No problem !
The breakfast was from 07:00 til 10:00 and buffet style and the staff hosting the breakfast service were very helpful. The choice of food was excellent and varied.
The hotel bar was great for a nightcap, the staff didn't mind when moved chairs to make a four as it is laid out in twos, but again, No problem !
The hotel is so central in Brugges, the Market square is only a few steps away and most of the attractions are within 20 minutes walking distance.
The train station is also 20 mins away, but be warned, Brugge streets are cobbled and not kind to the wheels of your suitcase!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YummumNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

My 2 daughters and I stayed here for 3 nights. This is my third trip to this hotel and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are simple but comfortable although we found the room hot this visit, even tho heating not on!
The hotel is brilliantly placed just off the central market square and easy to walk everywhere. We didn't have breakfast in hotel this time as at 17euros each, although very nice, is expensive when there are many cosy tea rooms close by offering scrummy and varied breakfasts at a MUCH cheaper rate.
Our only frustration was the wifi which was offered free but was irritating as it bumped you off very quickly meaning mid message you would have to go through a re-login - why? A minor point but frustrating!
Would recommend hotel to anyone visiting Bruges. Eat away from centre where choices are more interesting and better value. Had a great trip with amazing spring sunny weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in February 2013,and thought this hotel was excellant.The staff were really helpful,the room was clean and compact and the booklet in the room was quite useful. It also was really cosy,with a great location and the reception smelled like a spa and gave a great first impression.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llamasrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing