We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

There is no better hotel location in Bruges than this hotel! Located on a quiet street just behind the belfry, it's barely a minute's walk to the main square so you get a central hotel, away from the noise of the busier areas like the main square and if you go the other way it's a minute's walk to Rozenhoedkaai, the most photograped spot of Bruges.

We were able to check-in on time at 3pm and I found it to be a very modern hotel. The room was a good size with a huge, comfortable bed, TV with many films/programmes in English, minibar, safe, perhaps the only thing it lacked was hot drink making facilities.

The only minor negative was that there were what looked like dirt marks up the back of the bathroom door, around the handle and above it to around head height which, in my opinion, wouldn't be hard to either clean off or paint over so as to give a better impression. Everything else was perfectly clean.

We didn't have the breakfast on offer at the hotel as we thought it was expensive for what it is (around 17 Euros I believe) and there are plenty of places to grab breakfast around Bruges.

All of the staff were welcoming and friendly.The hotel has free wifi which worked perfectly for us. There are also computers available to use for free in the lobby if you wish to. Overall, if visiting Bruges again this would easily be my first choice of hotel. Perfect location, great staff, great room!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street and there was only slight street noise (hors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincesaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    1,370
    429
    133
    43
See reviews for
356
1,633
84
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent two nights in Bruges in this hotel taking a double standard room. The room was very basic but comfortable. The hotel has a great location, we found it very clean, and the staff was nice and kind.
The thing that we appreciated more was the hall with a fireplace and personalized perfume.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosatinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Spent three nights here and couldn't have been better for the price. Central location, near the bus stop for the train & bus station, really good staff on the desk and in the breakfast room. Breakfast normal english and continental choices, good bread, everything constantly filled up. Clean room, clean towels-fine. Small down side was the dreary decor in the bedroom but who goes on holiday to spend too much time in the bedroom?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here before, wonderful location, clean, friendly staff, very good breakfast, large safe car park. Rooms are tight but bed was large and comfortable. Rooms could do with tea/coffee making facilities. Very good place to stay for short trip to Bruges, excellent restaurant (Venice) opposite.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joofsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a great location, and if you're not bothered about hotel service, stay here. It's in the most perfect location. However, if you expect some service for your £188, then read on.
We arrived at 12, even though the check-in wasn't until 3pm. No worries, rooms not ready, but that's only to be expected. Luggage left, and we were off to explore Bruges. Came back at 3pm, and we're told our room still wasn't ready, with the excuse that check-in is 'from 3pm', which the receptionist interpreted as they would have our room ready at some time after 3pm, not 'you can check in anytime after 3pm', which is what it means at EVERY OTHER HOTEL IN THE WORLD. Ridiculous the the extreme!
No offer of a complimentary beer, or a later check-out, just a simple, 'no, our definition is correct, and you will accept that'.
Once we were in and settled, the room was in the new wing, and it all looked good (although a superior room, it seemed pretty standard to me, just with more modern paint schemes than the old wing, and maybe a better smell?
Night time the new wing comes in to it's own. The hallway floor above must have been made out of drums, as we woke up every time somebody walked along it. Boom, boom, boom!
Still, great location, but certainly not a 3* service...

Room Tip: old wing probably quieter, new wing probably cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpectTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I spent two nights in Bruges at this hotel in what they call a "charming" room. It was located on the top floor of the extension. There were only three rooms on the entire floor. Because it was located on the top floor, the room had visible wooden beams throughout, some new some old. Cute. It also had a wooden beam at the foot of the bed, making the room feel smaller than it was. Not so cute.
The old beams were the only clue that you weren't in a thoroughly modern room. Everything else was new and spotless. There's a safe in the room, under the small wardrobe. There's also a mini bar in the tiny refrigerator, but don't take anything out of there at 3 euros each. Go to the Carrefour's grocery store in the Grote Markt (across the street from the Historium). Much better prices and it's basically only two blocks away.
Which brings us to location. Wow! You are literally across a tiny street from the belfry's entrance, which is temporarily located on the rear of the museum. The entrance from the Markt is closed, but fear not, the delicious friet stands are still there.
Back to the room. The bathroom has a shower (no bathtub) but it does have a towel warmer. All new. The key system was a little strange, I thought. You need a key to lock and unlock the door, from the inside and outside. So, if you've returned to your room desperately in need of the facilities, you have a choice to make: lock the door or get to the bathroom in time. That's when you really appreciate the fact that there are only two other rooms on the top floor.
Because the room is on the top floor and the staff kept the window open, it took a while for the A/C to get the room warm, but once it did, it stayed perfectly comfortable.
The breakfast buffet is huge and served until 10 am. It includes several types of breads, cheeses, cereals, juices, coffee drinks, eggs, and fruits. I'd come back to this hotel just for that buffet.
The WiFi in the room is free. Ask at the desk or call reception for the password. The hotel bar has nightly happy hour specials but De Garre is just a block away, so go there and sample the best beers Belgium has to offer. It's an easy stumble back to your "charming" room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Three friends stayed in a triple room. The hotel was very central and served an excellent breakfast in a large dining room. The only detraction was the noise from the courtyard where people went to smoke and talk. We needed to have the window open so all the noise and smoke came up and into our room which caused problems for sleeping. Someone (?a hotel employee?) went out to cough and smoke several times during the night and woke us up repeatedly. If you have a room which doesn't open onto the courtyard you will be pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms which open away from the inner courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#29 of 97 in Bruges
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing