We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Market Break”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christmas Market Break”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Well to say Bruges is picturesque at this time of year is an understatement! The squares, shops and traditional log cabin market stalls twinkle with festive allure and the smell of mulled wine and scrumptious food fills the air. The sound of the horse and carts making their way through the cobbled streets add to the wonderful atmosphere and the Belfry reminds you when it's time to find a local bar stocked with 400+ Belgian Beers to soothe your weary legs!!

A group of 4 of us made our way to Bruges on 6th Dec for a Christmas Shopping weekend. We went on euro star and the journey there was excellent. The Martins was our hotel of choice and is modern, comfortable and centrally located for exploring. The hotel staff are friendly and there is a lovely seating area with a stunning fire place to take the wait off your feet when you return back from a day around town.

We did not eat in the hotel, however the selection of continental breakfast looked excellent and fair value.

We had a bad experience with the hotel hot water and found on a couple of occasions that the water was stone cold in the mornings. Although a complaint to the hotel manager was necessary, they acknowledged the problem and saw it fit to compensate for the inconvenience.

The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and furnishings attractive. The hotel is kept clean and has a lovely aroma of scented candles and oils that fill the corridors.

Bruges is not cheap but the hotel is reasonably priced and a very good 3 star rating. I would not hesitate to return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    1,372
    430
    133
    43
See reviews for
358
1,636
84
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a short break from UK. Party of four with adjacent rooms. I had been in touch with hotel prior to travelling to make sure we had two singles rather than a double in each room and also to pre-book breakfast as it then costs €12 each. We arrived early as came off the morning ferry. We knew the room wouldn't be ready till 3 but checked in and left our baggage in an unsupervised but locked room. We came back at 2.30 and our rooms were ready. The rooms were in the newer part of the hotel and warm and cosy on a bleak December day. The drainage of the shower was not as quick as the power of the shower but this was manually adjustable. The breakfast was typical of 3 star hotels with a selection of hot and cold foods and lovely fresh bread and cereals. I always travel with my travel kettle when travelling in Europe or on board some ships for that matter as tea and coffee making facilities are by no means certain or even normal. We chose this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor, it is central for the old town. The bell tower is literally across the street. There is a short ginnel that takes your through to the Burg at the end of the road and the market square is easily accessed thru the bell tower when open. We spent Thursday and Friday night in Brugge. It was pleasantly easy to access everything though the boats only seem to run at weekend and when cruise ships are in in Winter. Saturday was completely different, the whole of Brugge was heaving with people with queues for everything. Good atmosphere though. Liked horse and carriage ride, boat trip, view from the bell tower, trip round half moon brewery, watching the people skating, shopping, drinking beer and most of all being in a wonderfully magic place. Having a good hotel added to our enjoyment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greatnorthroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Martin's Brugge is located one road off of the Belfry tower square, the main old square in downtown Brugge. It is in one of the best locations, walking distance to everything in town - including the train station. Friendly staff and great value for the location and quality when compared to rates of other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just spent a few days here and pleased with our choice of hotel.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and there was good lift access if you have restricted mobility.
Room "cosy" and slightly tatty in parts, but very clean. Not much of a view but that didn't really matter as we were out most of the time.
Fridge was useful and we were glad to have taken our own travel kettle as coffees out are very expensive in Bruges. It was nice to go back for the odd cuppa.
As the hotel is situated just by the bell tower it was great to be able to pop back to get things - mostly woolly hats as it was quite cold!
We paid for a package to include breakfast which was excellent - lots of choice. This kept us going all day which was just as well as eating out in Bruges (particularly in the main square) is extortionate.
There is a small supermarket just down the road and also one in the market square - handy for buying snacks, drinks, etc.
TVs included main UK channels if you need your daily fix of soaps.
About 20 minute walk from rail station but easy to get a bus.
If you want a handy location for all of the sights this is your place!

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room near the lifts and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingWithBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in December for a short winter break. The hotel is in a wonderful location in the middle of the city with good access to all the major tourist attractions and shops. The rooms were small, but adequate. The only thing to mention which has been highlighted in many reviews, is they offer no tea or coffee making facilities.
The breakfast was bog standard hotel fare.
Would stay here again due to great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and the service was impeccable. Very friendly staff, clean and well appointed rooms and you couldn't ask for a better location. The weekend rates are much higher than mid-week but for the location and quality I think it is ok. I didn't try the breakfast as the prices put me off (17 without booking or 12 with booking the night before). This was for a standard buffet breakfast, which, for the price of the rooms, I think should be included.
The use of the luggage room after checking out was also appreciated and made for a very easy stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeedeee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Having previously stayed at this hotel in 2011 we returned to the bar for a drink whilst we were in Bruges this weekend. My friend and I ordered a cocktail that was undrinkable. Upon returning it to the bar we were met with a reluctance to do anything to rectify this but were eventually offered a replacement cocktail. During this time the bar man also told us we hadn't yet paid our bill when in fact our husbands had paid in cash when they ordered at the bar. We eventually received our replacement drinks. As we were leaving the same bar man told us we had to pay for them when it had been quite clear they were replacements and not additional drinks, we reminded him of this and he grumbled about having to pay for them out of his wages if we weren't going to pay. As far as we were concerned there was nothing to settle as we understood them to be replacements so we left. My friends husband returned to our seats as he had left his gloves and phone behind. As he returned to get them he over heard the bar man telling another table we had not paid for our drinks and he was going to have to cover it. And the other table were tutting and shaking their heads as he was collecting his belongs. Not prepared to take being slandered we went to the hotel reception to speak to the manager. The bar man beat us to it and was telling a receptionist who advised us no manager was available. We told her our version of events and the bar man tried to worm his way out of it however both he and the receptionist were disingenuous and smirking whilst dealing with us. We left having not resolved anything as they were clearly not able to deal with us in a professional manner. The customer service we have experienced is quite frankly appalling and we have made a formal complaint to the hotel. I would advise caution when frequenting the hotel whether it's for an overnight stay or for the bar!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#47 of 97 in Bruges
2,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing