We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Right in the centre of the town - this hotel is ideally located for all attractions.

The hotel was lovely & clean - we had a triple room and although it was a little tight it was more than adequate for our 3 night stay.

The food at breakfast time was lovely and the service excellent. The bar in the evening was very pleasant and reasonably priced. The staff were all lovely and very helpful.

Bruges is lovely and very picturesque, the locals all speak several languages and prefer to speak English rather than have us attempt to speak their language!

Delaney's Irish bar is a short walk away and very nice. The food is reasonably priced and the staff are lovely.

Well worth a visit - I'll certainly be going back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 2,953 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel, which is in a great location. It's on the street directly behind the Belfry - so 2 minutes from the square. Everything is walking distance in Bruges, so getting around is easy.
The welcome at Reception was friendly, the staff were helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. There is a nice bar opposite the Reception area - it's small but very pleasant and has a happy hour 8-9pm as well as various other offers.
The room itself was a good size, comfortable bed, good shower (no bath), good hairdryer, TV. The only thing I missed was tea/coffee making facilities but there are plenty of cafes nearby and it's nice to pick up a hot drink and a waffle in the main square. Also, there is a hair/body wash in the shower but I would recommend bringing your own shampoo etc. The room was quiet apart from the hourly bells from the Belfry but this started at 9am (quite a nice wake-up call!) and finished early evening as well, so it didn't disturb my sleep.
Overall, I really enjoyed staying here and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_nre_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

You can’t beat the location! Clean rooms. Modern bathroom. Very efficient front desk. Fun bar at happy hour. Breakfast buffet is ok but we preferred the various café’s, etc. Hard town to get a cup of coffee in before 7am. But, my goodness, what a beautiful city. It is like walking through a postcard! We are so glad we went. The horse carriage through town is worth the money.

Martin’s Brugge was a bargain (and Bruge is not a bargain town!!). We have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: the front desk are great at having a taxi waiting for u when its time to reluctantly leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Well to say Bruges is picturesque at this time of year is an understatement! The squares, shops and traditional log cabin market stalls twinkle with festive allure and the smell of mulled wine and scrumptious food fills the air. The sound of the horse and carts making their way through the cobbled streets add to the wonderful atmosphere and the Belfry reminds you when it's time to find a local bar stocked with 400+ Belgian Beers to soothe your weary legs!!

A group of 4 of us made our way to Bruges on 6th Dec for a Christmas Shopping weekend. We went on euro star and the journey there was excellent. The Martins was our hotel of choice and is modern, comfortable and centrally located for exploring. The hotel staff are friendly and there is a lovely seating area with a stunning fire place to take the wait off your feet when you return back from a day around town.

We did not eat in the hotel, however the selection of continental breakfast looked excellent and fair value.

We had a bad experience with the hotel hot water and found on a couple of occasions that the water was stone cold in the mornings. Although a complaint to the hotel manager was necessary, they acknowledged the problem and saw it fit to compensate for the inconvenience.

The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and furnishings attractive. The hotel is kept clean and has a lovely aroma of scented candles and oils that fill the corridors.

Bruges is not cheap but the hotel is reasonably priced and a very good 3 star rating. I would not hesitate to return!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a short break from UK. Party of four with adjacent rooms. I had been in touch with hotel prior to travelling to make sure we had two singles rather than a double in each room and also to pre-book breakfast as it then costs €12 each. We arrived early as came off the morning ferry. We knew the room wouldn't be ready till 3 but checked in and left our baggage in an unsupervised but locked room. We came back at 2.30 and our rooms were ready. The rooms were in the newer part of the hotel and warm and cosy on a bleak December day. The drainage of the shower was not as quick as the power of the shower but this was manually adjustable. The breakfast was typical of 3 star hotels with a selection of hot and cold foods and lovely fresh bread and cereals. I always travel with my travel kettle when travelling in Europe or on board some ships for that matter as tea and coffee making facilities are by no means certain or even normal. We chose this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor, it is central for the old town. The bell tower is literally across the street. There is a short ginnel that takes your through to the Burg at the end of the road and the market square is easily accessed thru the bell tower when open. We spent Thursday and Friday night in Brugge. It was pleasantly easy to access everything though the boats only seem to run at weekend and when cruise ships are in in Winter. Saturday was completely different, the whole of Brugge was heaving with people with queues for everything. Good atmosphere though. Liked horse and carriage ride, boat trip, view from the bell tower, trip round half moon brewery, watching the people skating, shopping, drinking beer and most of all being in a wonderfully magic place. Having a good hotel added to our enjoyment.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Greatnorthroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Martin's Brugge is located one road off of the Belfry tower square, the main old square in downtown Brugge. It is in one of the best locations, walking distance to everything in town - including the train station. Friendly staff and great value for the location and quality when compared to rates of other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just spent a few days here and pleased with our choice of hotel.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and there was good lift access if you have restricted mobility.
Room "cosy" and slightly tatty in parts, but very clean. Not much of a view but that didn't really matter as we were out most of the time.
Fridge was useful and we were glad to have taken our own travel kettle as coffees out are very expensive in Bruges. It was nice to go back for the odd cuppa.
As the hotel is situated just by the bell tower it was great to be able to pop back to get things - mostly woolly hats as it was quite cold!
We paid for a package to include breakfast which was excellent - lots of choice. This kept us going all day which was just as well as eating out in Bruges (particularly in the main square) is extortionate.
There is a small supermarket just down the road and also one in the market square - handy for buying snacks, drinks, etc.
TVs included main UK channels if you need your daily fix of soaps.
About 20 minute walk from rail station but easy to get a bus.
If you want a handy location for all of the sights this is your place!

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room near the lifts and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkingWithBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#28 of 97 in Bruges
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £67 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing