We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Time Visit Great Location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great First Time Visit Great Location”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently and had a great time. Perfect location, recently updated and very helpful staff. The restaurant was great too all looked very festive and a great variety for breakfast hot and cold. We decided to Visit Brugge for the Christmas markets and was not disappointed. Avoid eating around the square as very expensive down the side streets were much better value. The attractions were expensive but would certainly recommend the ice sculptures re the movie frozen were worth a visit around 15 euros an adult. We also took a ride in the horse and carriage again expensive at 39 euros for around 30mins and with a 5-10 minute break in between. Choose to spend your money wisely . Overall we loved our stay and would defiantly stay again. Tony who works in the bar is a great port for information pity we found him the day we left.

Room Tip: We upgraded and it was defiantly worth it. We stayed in room 402 with an extra bed and plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    1,358
    427
    130
    42
See reviews for
353
1,616
82
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights leading up to Christmas. Family of 4 - we booked 2 rooms. Great location, just off the main square in the old city centre, yet quiet. Easy bus access to the main train station. Warm and cozy hotel. Everything in room worked. Very friendly and professional staff (congratulations). Breakfast is a must - book the night before to save €5 per person. Rooms were small - as long as you are aware of that, and don't plan to spend long periods of time relaxing in the room (apart from sleeping) its a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel located right in the centre of Brugge. It is just behind the Belfry and just a minutes walk from the beautiful main square. The hotel is clean, welcoming and perfect for a couple of nights in Brugge.
We stayed in nov and enjoyed Christmas market.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hols12166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for one night in December. The location is excellent and the rooms were very comfortable, if not a tiny bit cold. The only issue was the noise from the street so I would recommend trying to get a room towards the back of the hotel if possible. The staff were all very friendly and the WiFi was very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is perfect for a trip to Brugge, very close to the main Markt square. We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013 for a Christmas weekend away.

The staff are courteous and helpful, and the room was very comfortable. It had a very nice bath, mini bar with reasonable prices (3 euro for a beer), great TV with loads of cable stations, reliable wifi, comfortable bed, Juliet balcony and it was exceptionally clean. The only thing I'd mention was the whirring from the lift next to our room, which occasionally sounded like a lighthouse foghorn as it passed by in the middle of the night, but it wasn't annoying - just noticeable.

It has a nice little bar with friendly staff. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the food and restaurant looked nice from a distance. Although Brugge is very, very small, it is right in the heart, and a great spot to pop in and out of for a change of clothes, shower or afternoon nap and then get out in the centre again :)

I'd definitely book again if we were staying in Brugge without hesitation, and will look into other Martin's hotels when the chance arises.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms next to the lifts - the same with most hotels, I suppose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We had a death in the family the morning we were supposed to stay in this hotel. Obviously that superseded our vacation plans and I had to cancel our reservation here. They insisted on charging us a full nights fee. They would not give us credit to use at another date unless I could provide that date immediately. I was busy rearranging my life to go to a funeral, and they expected me to be able to start planning my next vacation? I have no idea if the hotel itself is nice or not, but with a non-compassionate staff I doubt I'll ever have interest in staying there. If they won't accommodate a client for a funeral, you think they're going to help with any other problems? Doubtful.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDLichtenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great location overlooking the canal. Just far enough from the Markt Square so the noise levels at night are low but only 5 minutes to the centre. Plenty of places nearby to eat. Make sure you get the 'Museum Pass' - saves a fortune as all the main attractions are included. Arrive early for the Bell Tower - after linch and you will queue for several hours.

Room Tip: We had a double room on the very top floor overlooking the canal - nice & quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC10002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#29 of 97 in Bruges
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#47 of 97 in Bruges
2,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing