We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bruges (a hotel with an excellent location!)”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bruges (a hotel with an excellent location!)”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a lovely, relaxing stay in the Bruges at the Martin Hotel just after Xmas. The location of the hotel is excellent, right behind the Belfry/Belfort. The hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel was clean, warm and inviting with excellent free wifi, good TV and a powerful shower. The only issue we had was with our toilet playing up a bit on the last night. (The water kept running and wouldn't stop.) We didn't have breakfast there (as it was a little pricey) but other travellers we met said that that it was really good. The dining room looked lovely too. As this hotel is so central it is easy to get food nearby, and there is even a corner shop along the road. (We dined at 'Poules Moules' at the end of the road and it was delicious!) Oh and it doesn't to walk long to walk to/from the station (unless you're laden with bags) and we really enjoyed talking in the scenery. I loved opening up the window and listening to the horses and bells outside each morning. Both of us agree that we'd stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat, and would totally recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    1,329
    418
    124
    37
See reviews for
343
1,578
77
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a great place to stay, so close to all the action, in what is a beautiful city. We paid £160 per night for a superior room, which was pretty much a travelodge type room with a very cramped room. I have no problem with paying a bit more for a nicer room but I do not think we got that. Also, the AC kept cutting off/switching to heat in the night which lead to a poor sleep. I would return, but I would make sure I was happier with the room. Staff were good and the breakfast was also decent!

Room Tip: Make sure you are happy with the room before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADWM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Martins Bruges is located on the street behind the Belfry and the main square. The location is an excellent base for exploring Bruges.

The rooms were clean and furnished to a good spec.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially the young Irish man working in the bar who made us feel welcome and offered advice on the local area.

A minor grumble was we were kept awake by some rowdy guests, but this was not the fault of the hotel, but just some selfish fellow guests which can happen anywhere.

It would have been nice if the check in was earlier than 3pm, however a room is available to leave your luggage if you arrive before then.

Overall I would recommend the hotel to anyone, it offers good value for money, and feels more like a 4 star than the official 3 stars it is awarded.

We will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philpot400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a fabulous location! We could not have been more central to everything you should see and do in Bruges. This was our first visit, driving over on Christmas Eve - the hotel was easy to find even though it was in the centre of the city. We used the hotel underground parking facility just for ease - be aware this cost 25 Euros per night, so for three nights parking it was pretty expensive, but at least we knew that our vehicle was safe and secure. We had upgraded to a Deluxe room when we booked and for an extra few Euros a night it was well worth it - we had the biggest room (402) and good views (you could just see the Belfry to the right). BIG TIP - there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms - we had read this on a previous review so took a travel kettle, 2 cups and some coffee (there is a Carrefour supermarket just off the Square that sells fresh milk). There is however a fridge. All in all, a lovely clean large room with excellent en suite facilities. The hotel overall is excellent, and we used Martins Bar for a few nightcaps when we returned each evening (the 2 bar staff were lovely). We did not have breakfast included in our package but could book - if you book before 10pm the night before its 12 Euros, if you walk into breakfast on the day then its 17 Euros, so remember to book the night before! Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, but there are also loads of little cafes etc nearby where you can grab just about anything. We will be returning to Bruges at some point, an absolutely beautiful city, very magical at Christmas-time, and so much to see and do, and we will have no hesitation in booking Martins hotel.

Room Tip: 402 - worth upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We just stayed in this hotel for one night and we're impressed with the service provided by the staff and especially by James in the Bar. Very nice breakfast and good location. Rooms a bit outdated would need refurbishment.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattipotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We got into this hotel with a Eurostar deal, London to Brugge return + hotel. All I can say it was great value for money. The hotel is centrally located being close to a number of great bars and restaurants and the Christmas market (that was disappointing see review). The staff were great, the room was fine and the breakfasts substantial. A very welcoming hotel bar as well to finish of the evening. Would definitely stay again. One minor complaint, the rooms were quite hot, more than we were used to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were relocated to this hotel after a failed booking elsewhere [see review of Azalea Hotel] and were made welcome by the staff on our arrival including our dog. The hotel is central but a bit anonymous, without much character but we were grateful to be accommodated over the busy New Year period. All went well until our last morning when we were turned away from the breakfast room because of the dog despite having had no difficulty on the previous two days. The officious member of staff at the breakfast desk simply explained that this was his personal policy and appeal to reception was ineffective. So, an early departure, hungry, thirsty and disgruntled. If customer relations want to know who is responsible for the poor rating then they need to ask the dining area reception staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve1208080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing