We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for just one night last week. Location was perfect - only a couple of minutes from main square. Room was at the top of the 'new' part of the hotel. Small, but tastefully furnished. Bathroom well-equipped - shower cubicle good size. Bed very comfortable. Bar tender very knowledgeable about wines and very friendly. Breakfast selection was excellent - everything one could want and more! Disappointing that the car park was closed due to town's road works. Parked in t'Zand car park for 14 hours - no problem, reasonable rates, 15 minute walk to hotel.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenparslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    1,372
    430
    133
    43
See reviews for
358
1,636
84
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

obvisously brugge is famous for its beer so therefore once the alcohol has well and truly set in you need a hotel you can find- this one is perfect right behind the belfry-the tallest building in brugges skyline- the hotel itself is good value for money, cheerful and practical- we stayed three night in feb 2014- try to get a room at the back of the hotelas the ones on the front can be noisier- however by the time we went to bed nothing would have woken us.

Room Tip: go for rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel in March2014. The management and staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful, the rooms were well equipped and comfortable, and the location was perfect, being just off the Markt square.

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough and if we were to go back to Brugge we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandChristineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here last week as part of a Riveria Travel Mini-Break. The hotel looks as if it has been modernised to a good standard. Its a two minute walk from the square nearby which has a multitude of bars, restaurants and of course - chocolate shops. Staff very friendly, room clean and adequate. Free WiFi is useful. A well stocked bar with draft local beers. The breakfast is one of the best I have seen for a while in a European location. There is so much to do in Bruges and it is a beautiful place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear MartynP2,

Thank you for having chosen Martin's Brugge for your visit to Brugge.

All our staff is pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the futur.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 3nights recently through Riviera Travel uk with accompanying trip guide; Vic. Hotel- brilliant location,clean, great choice of breakfast,helpful,cheerful& courteous staff. What more could you ask aside from a kettle&tea cup in the room would have been an added bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6714yeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear 6714yeovil,

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we lived up to your expectations.

Like many 3* hotels on the mainland of Europe we do not provide a kettle in the room. At the moment higher management is trying to a solution for this so that we can see to every need of our clients.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

For a short New Year’s city break, location is everything, and Martin's is right in the thick of things, just minutes from the markets, squares and main sites. We booked as part of a Eurostar package, which made for a good deal on price. Apart from that there’s not much to say about this obviously popular business hotel. We had modern rooms (there may be older ones) which were adequately equipped but pretty small. The large breakfast room was at full tilt with the place probably fully booked for the holidays and was the inevitable zoo, with the standard unremarkable fare.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just had 3 nights at Martins Brugge and had a wonderful time. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The beds were very comfy, only downside to the bed was it was 2 singles joined together and not a double. The staff were extremely helpful in all parts of the hotel. The breakfast selection was enough to satisfy the most picky of guests with a wide range of both hot and cold foods. We will certainly be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a stay in this beautiful city in a fantastic location (right at the back of the Belfry). The only downside to this hotel is there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room which would make it just perfect

Room Tip: ask for a room to the rear of the hotel for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#29 of 97 in Bruges
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing