We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great location in the centre. Very friendly staff at reception, rooms fine but we did miss having a kettle to make a drink. There isn't anywhere to get a drink of anything outside bar opening hours in the evening. The breakfasts are superb!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Martin's Brugge as part of a Riviera Travel package. The hotel is central, just a minute or so from the market square. Our room was clean, spacious and, overlooking the hotel's courtyard, was completely quiet. There was a comprehensive provision of towels and toiletries. The staff were friendly and efficient. There was a wide choice at breakfast from the "full English" through traditional continental to a wide variety of fruits and muesli. A very pleasant stay. Very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is not bad
but the rooms are very old
location is good...one block from the central square
staff was friendly
it has a nice bar
but again, i expected the rooms to be a bit more modern
i guess you can find better for same price

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

It was our first time in Brugge and we selected this hotel because of its location and reviews. We were surprised that the hotel was behind the belfry of Brugge, other attractions, restaurants and shops were nearby.
We stayed on the third floor, it was nice, clean and comfortable, however sink's waste water pipe should be cleaned since the waste water flowed very slow.
It is about 20 minutes walk from the train station. It was difficult for us carried 2 medium size lugguage and walked on the natural olds stone road. Public buses from the train station to the Market square costs 2 euro, one way, might be a good alternatives.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie89302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found the hotel to be very comfortable and spacious. The room and bedding was clean and tidy. We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the main street which was quiet surprisingly. The breakfast at the hotel was very good and worth the price 12 euros if you prebook. The hotel is perfectly situated for the City centre being just about 2 minutes away. Bruges is a very pretty place to visit and it's a beer drinkers Heaven, we did have a fair few beers whilst we were there but no hangovers (miraculously). Fantastic beer and had a few good meals over there, love to revisit someday.

Room Tip: In the busier months you would be better to ask for a room away from the main street although it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun22062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our first time in Belgium, the hotel is well placed for the Grote Markt, restaurants, bars shops. Our room was comfortable although little cramped because of the stuff in there 3 beds even though only 2 of us, staff were very friendly and helpful, would recommend this hotel when visiting Bruges. We were on the first floor near the rear of the hotel so was fairly quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTykester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel! Excellent location, close to restaurants, bars, sites, and shopping. I was on the second floor facing the street and it had a cute little balcony. It was a decent sized room and bathroom. It wasn't like some of the closet like hotels I've stayed in before. The bed was PHENOMENAL!!!! Sooooo comfortable! It was quiet and I had an excellent couple nights rest. The lobby is welcoming and the staff is nice. They explained how to find the bus stop to get to the train station and they offer some discounts at local spots that I didn't end up using. The internet didn't work periodically but was not a big deal as there are plenty of other places with free wifi. I would absolutely stay her again and recommend it to everyone I know.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor facing the street and it was fine. Super quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKloandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#28 of 97 in Bruges
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing