We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, amazing location, can not be more central”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, amazing location, can not be more central”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I would like to highly recommend this hotel. I spent there four nights for my birthday and enjoyed every minute. The hotel staff was very helpful, room was clean. The bathrooms can be bit more modern but it was not a problem as everything was tidy. If you want to stay in a central location in Brugge this is a perfect hotel to do so as its at the back of Belfry tower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    1,341
    420
    128
    39
See reviews for
347
1,598
81
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a three night stay, we loved the location, but found the room very small, no tea making facilities and very noisy with both street noise and building work in an inner courtyard. The breakfast was fine, choice of both hot and cold food and drinks. The bar was sooo expensive and only used it once. The hotel is located just by the main market square which was fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chambo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A small but perfect hotel, it is in an ideal position to explore Brugge the rooms can be on the small side but well appointed for your needs for a few days, staff were helpful and friendly and there is a lovely outside area to enjoy a glass of wine in the afternoon/evening. Perfect for those few days away to explore a beautiful city

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lassiescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Martins. It was my first stay here, and my Mum's second. Upon arrival I was very impressed, and we were pleased to have a room at the rear of the hotel, and away from the cobbled street which can be noisy. However this was short lived when we realised we were above the garden which is currently a building site. The workmen began at 8am each day, forcing us out of our room early each day. That said it meant we had more time out and about to enjoy the beautiful sites, but it undoubtedly put a dampener on our stay. When we fed this back during check out we were told we should have asked to move rooms - so a tip to anyone due to stay soon, do ask to be moved. We regret that we didn't. Otherwise, hotel was clean, the beds very comfortable, no tea and coffee making facilities, but each room has a safe. That said when returning to our room mid afternoon and finding our door wide open we were concerned about the security of the hotel. It would appear the cleaner had gone to the store cupboard, but really should have shut the door. What if it hadn't been us returning to our room? Another dampener.
We didn't have breakfast as you can find this much cheaper elsewhere. The bar was very quiet both evenings we stayed, but they have a range of deals each evening, we particularly enjoyed the champagne and nibbles on Wednesday. Overall, a good hotel, the location is superb, it was just unfortunate we had the experience we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for a three night City Break.The hotel is well located in the centre of Bruges, making it ideal for exploring this beautiful city.
Rooms are well appointed with possibly the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in!
There was a fridge in the room with a range of drinks for purchase should you not want to sit in the Bar, but like most continental hotels, no kettle to provide that first tea or coffee of the morning!
Breakfast was excellent with both hot and cold self -service buffets and an endless supply of tea and coffee!
The Reception staff provided an extremely efficient service at check-in, ensuring that none of our tour group waited more than a couple of minutes before getting their keys!

Room Tip: Some street noise for rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just came back from a weekend in the wonderful city of Bruge and stayed at the Martin's Hotel. There were 14 of us in our party and we were all very pleased and satisfied with our choice. The hotel is in a great location, just off one of the main squares and about a 15 walk from the train station. The staff were friendly and very helpful, rooms spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Good size beds, larger than a king in most rooms. No coffee or tea making facilities in rooms but that was really only minor negative. Breakfast was of a good standard, busy but plenty of tables available and a good choice. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. Good value and so comfortable and convenient to explore the City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights in March for a business meeting.
Room was clean and quite spacious. Everything worked properly, including the free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly, and check-in / check-out were very efficient.
There is parking under the hotel for Euro/25 a day. There is a lot of construction work going on in the centre of Brugge, but this did not seem to cause any real problems or excessive noise.
Overall, this could be a great place to stay for an "up-market" weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mister TWinster13,

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend Martin's Brugge.

We follow all reviews to see where we can improve and I'll gladly share your review with the rest of our staff to encourage them to keep up our high standard.

Thank you for your compliment.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
883 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing