We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“In the heart of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Modern hotel with all facilities build tastefully into a period area of the city. Good service and centrally located for everything you might want to do or need in a city break. Close to the railway station, opening up the rest of Belgium / continental Europe from this location. 1.25 hours drive from Eurotunnel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,318
    415
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,562
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
220 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location is fantastic for visiting Brugge . You are right around the corner from the main square with many shops all around . Like in most of Europe the room were small , a litlle cramped but decent. Very clean , the staff was friendly but not out of their way . The breakfast buffet was very good and with a wide assortment of fruit and pastries. Might look at another option next time around!!

Room Tip: Do not get a top floor room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepePitMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire,
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a Saga battlefields tour.
Location is perfect, good breakfasts, clean, quiet room, good service, nice bar with good beer.
Corridors to rooms are a bit dreary, but the rooms are fine.

Room Tip: Don't think you could beat this hotel for location, central but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickNAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The big plus for this hotel is the location. Its one small block away from the main square (Markt). The staff were excellent and the rooms were kept clean and breakfast was plentiful.
The rooms described as charming twin are the lowest end of their range which is very misleading when you book through a 3rd party. They weren't much bigger than my suitcase, very hot (aircon didn't work) and were showing signs of wear a tear. Paint scratched and chipped..
The bar shut promptly at 12pm so don't expect a night cap when you return from an evening in the square.

I can't comment on the larger rooms but would suggest if anybody is stopping for more than 2 days they book the larger rooms.

Room Tip: Do not book a charming twin if you stay more than a couple of nights they are tiny and have next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfingRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel was chosen by the tour company we were travelling with. It is excellently located for exploring all of Brugge. We asked to be moved from our first room (on second floor, overlooking the Patio restaurant), as the builders started work at exactly 08h00 the first morning of our stay (I think the hotel is being extended) - I literally thought they were drilling through into the shower as I was in it! The hotel moved us up to floor three looking out over Oude Burg - and the drilling, sawing and hammering became non-existent! Excellent breakfast with both continental and cooked English choices. Lots of fresh fruit, breads etc. Very good coffee. The rooms were slightly cramped, but I think this is normal for city centre hotels, and there were no coffee/tea making facilities, but, again, this is fairly normal on the continent. I was relieved to find out that they turn the bells off at night (in the Belfry, just in front of us), as they sound every quarter of an hour. One of the current bell selections is a WW1 mix of Roses of Picardy and Its a Long Way to Tipperary, also Ode to Joy as an alternative - these have now become ear worms for me, and I cannot get Tipperary out of my head four days later!! Quaint though. Lovely hotel though and very professional, efficient staff. Brugge is a beautiful city and we shall definitely go again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights last week and found it to be a clean pleasant hotel very conveniently situated for a short break in beautiful Bruges.it is only minutes away from all the main attractions of the city but in a quiet side street. Rooms,although a bit on the dark side, are comfortable but lack a kettle. However, breakfast was a pleasant surprise, with a hot buffet alongside the usual continental selection. A good choice for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgetlpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a two night stay at this hotel,and I found my room adequate for what I wanted,it's clean breakfast is good, staff are very helpful. The location is brilliant,just behind the bell tower and square. From this location you can walk to all points of interest.

Room Tip: Loft rooms do seem to be the small side so ask for lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing