We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for two nights. Had breakfast both mornings. Both ok. Didn't use restaurant at night. Lots of other choices close by. Great location could pop in and out of hotel during the day. Room was clean and tidy and was able to open the windows for fried hair.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    1,341
    420
    128
    39
See reviews for
347
1,597
81
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is in the heart of Brugge and is a very well run and maintained hotel. On check in the gentleman who Walt with us was friendly and chatty and got us into our room with speed.
We stopped,during the World Cup and had a really good night in the bar watching the match. Once again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice, really good coffee and I in a very modern room with great selection. Staff were constantly clearing away and making space for newcomers.
My only gripe is the cost of parking 25 euro and also the cost of breakfast good as it was. The location for exploring Brugge couldn't really be better, you walk out right into the thick of old town

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Took the shuttle bus from the station (2.60 Euros for two) which was hot but only takes a few minutes and we got off just around the corner of the hotel. Quick check in and knowledgeable helpful staff (who even phoned my brother to tell him we'd arrived as he'd come to join us as a surprise). Requested twin beds as sharing with my daughter which were very comfortable. The room was clean and small but my brother had booked a superior room which was roomier but no problem as out most of the time. Excellent central location. Overall we found the whole hotel too hot (even though the weather wasn't overly warm) so used the air conditioning (don't sleep with the window open as you'll be eaten alive by mosquitos) although I hate it was essential. Breakfast had a good selection. Given 15% discount card on arrival put towards bike hire from the company across the road. I highly recommend cycling to see all areas of Bruges, windmills etc. and most drivers considerate but once on cycle ways felt very safe. We did have a problem with our bike's chain coming off half a dozen times which was annoying but easily put back with inevitable filthy hands! Rode to Damme (we went on the back road and came back along the canal) which is a pretty town and had lovely lunch at Bistro Ter Damme. The reception ordered our taxi for our departure which got us to the station at break neck speed to catch our train but it cost 15 Euros so felt ripped off (suggest you get a price)! Room was quiet as centrally located. Mini bar and hair dryer in bathroom, tv with good selection of channels, wifi good, safe didn't work. Overall the hotel met all our needs so would recommend.

Room Tip: If you like lots of room then request a superior double. Rooms not at the front if you like it quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Accommodated in Martins Hotel as part of a package tour. Spent three nights which was about enough. Our room was fine and the bed and bathroom more than adequate, (We were lucky enough to have a bath too) but there was limited storage in the room so a longer stay may have not have been so comfortable. There is quite a bit of building work going on at the moment but our room was on the fourth floor and well away from this and being at the back we also were not disturbed by the quarter hourly bell chimes from the clock tower. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful and although not new the place was very clean and seemingly well looked after. There is a small bar and seating in the lobby area but I doubt you would want to spend a great deal of time there as it's a bit functional. There is not a restaurant but they do serve a fantastic breakfast buffet, catering for all tastes. This hotel certainly provided us with what we came to Bruges for and that was a central location.

Room Tip: Fourth floor towards the back. Quiet and easy to get to from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a fantastic trip on the bikes to Bruges. The hotel is very central, mere seconds from the main square. Our motorcycles where safely locked up in the heated garage under the hotel.
The rooms were clean & tidey. Air con, tv, mini bar.
Definitely above average for the price (don't know where Navigation 101 usually stays, but for the price we paid it was definitely NOT below average!!)
Staff where very helpful, and it was nice to get scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon etc at breakfast instead of the usual continental.
We will be coming back in November!!
Did I mention how central it was? :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotels in Bruges are expensive but we did expect a little more for the rate.

The hotel positions itself as a boutique but several things about it really do detract from the grown-up experience we'd been looking for i.e. no ironing boards in rooms, miniscule TV, no mini-bar, cocktails in the bar were really quite tragic and took forever to arrive (the 'house cocktail' was supposedly champagne and apple juice but it emerged a radioactive green colour). The room we stayed in was absolutely tiny with no room to walk around the bed.

The location is absolutely fantastic though and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here in December to visit the Bruges Christmas markets. Firstly, the location of this hotel is everything! It couldn't be more central. Literally seconds from the main square. Bruges itself is very small so walking around doesn't take long, but still - amazing location.

Lovely buffet breakfast with a whole range of foods. Rooms are fairly basic, but modern, clean and comfortable with nice beds. The hotel lobby smells wonderful too!

Have already recommended this hotel to a friend who stayed there after my recommendation, and will continue to recommend to anyone I know going. It's also where I will definitely be staying again should (when) I return. Bruges is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing