We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect location and better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were looking for a decent hotel at a fair price in a super location as we were only in Bruges for one night and we were not disappointed. There is a car park and the booking site said it would be subject to availability but there was plenty of space. They charge for it but it is far easier than finding a parking place. The hotel was very warm but the air conditioning in the room worked. Bathroom clean and modern. I was very disappointed that the double room booked was a twin bedded room and the beds pushed together didnt work as a double should. I mentioned this to the hotel and they refunded my car parking so that is a real positive. They are keen to please. Breakfast was excellent and the location as I mentioned absoolutely perfect. Well worth the money and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,318
    415
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,562
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is very central for everything in Brugge out of the hotel and straight into the square,breakfast was organised and plenty of everything also lots of staff to cope with all the guests. Our room was clean and comfortable and serviced to a high standard every day,there is nothing but compliments from us we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22geordiebikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my sister stayed here in a twin room for one night last week and we loved it. The hotel room was a great size, modern but with traditional charm and most of all-clean! The staff were all welcoming and made us feel looked after, helpful with directions etc. The hotel bar is also lovely and does these great cocktails that come in a mini keepsake shaker which we thought was cute! It's right in the centre of everything and easy to find- we will be back!

Room Tip: If you want a twin room ask for one on the top floor, ours was built into the roof and looked out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My daughter and myself went to Brugge in May. A wonderful time to visit by the way, not too crowded. What a beautiful city. The Museum in the square is well worth a visit, as is the brewery! Don't miss a trip along the river too, with the friendly informative guides. Nearly everyone we spoke to could speak English and we encountered nothing but friendliness everywhere we went. Martin's Hotel was spotlessly clean, with great facilities. The breakfasts were fab. Cereals aplenty, fresh fruit, yoghurts, a variety of breads and rolls, cheeses, cooked meats AND very unusually for the continent you could help yourself to a full English if you could fit it all in. Very well located in the old town and within walking distance of all the sights. If you are able plan a visit too, to Ypers. Very moving museum there called 'Flanders Fields' and not far from Tyne Cote Cemetery, where you can pay your respects to so many brave men.

Room Tip: Don't forget the camera and if you enjoyed the BBCs White Queen, it was filmed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kris,

Thank you for this nice review, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bruges.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in the perfect spot, just across the road from the Belfry and the main Markt square. The room was lovely, clean & comfortable and complete with a view of the tower from our window.
A great mid-price place to stay in Bruges - would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cyandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent three nights at Martins in Bruges and found it a very acceptable hotel. The location is fantastic - right in the heart of the town. The rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. The staff were freindly and the service was very good.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 307Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

After staying at this hotel before, I knew that it was going to be the place to stay again when returning to Bruges. It is in an excellent location, only a few seconds walk to the Markt.

This is an average hotel, but it is perfect for a night or two stay in bruges.

The breakfast is good but quite expensive at 17 euros pp per night, but it is an unlimited buffet.

The bar was great with a happy hour from 8-9 every night. The barman was very nice and helpful during our stay (July 25-27)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marbsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing