We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel, expensive parking”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel, expensive parking”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for a night or two in Bruges, nice breakfast and a perfect location. Main issue was being stung for €28 for parking for one night. Well worth bearing in mind as was a complete shock!!

Otherwise very good!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Martin's Brugge.
We apologize for the confusion about the parking price. Normally this is mentionned on our site and confirmations but depending on the site where you booked this can be leftt away by that site. The parking price is 25 euro per night but there are also public parking at about 5 minutes walk at 9 euro per 24 hours.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    1,370
    429
    133
    43
See reviews for
356
1,633
84
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On Riviera tour with three nights stay room good (only one person was unhappy with an attic room) breakfast buffet perfectly ok. Excellent position in centre and loads of restaurants nearby. Food not generally much different with frites all the time and little or no vegetables.Probably better in more expensive restaurants. Did not eat meals or drink in hotel as so much choice on doorstep.

Room Tip: Avoid attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leisurely_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your review, it is always nice to read that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had an overnight stay at Martin's Brugge. Our room was a good size as a triple room, clean, and all that was needed was provided. It was in a perfect position for the centre for shops & restaurants. Unfortunately due to having a roof box, we couldn't use the underground car park but staff directed us to free parking at the river, about 15 minutes walk away, which was completely suitable. The quality was a good standard for the price charged. Definately a recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your recommandation, it is always nice to read a review like your for all our staff.

Nicolas Thieren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel was part of an organised trip which is why I think we had the most basic room. The room was very clean but very small. It felt smaller as the view from the window was a concrete wall. The bathroom was adequate with very few amenities. Towels were small and thin. It was however clean with an excellent shower. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room which was disappointing and something that would be easy to rectify. Breakfast choice was adequate but lacked fresh fruit except for a few pears. There was tin fruit available. Bread and pastries were fresh and plentiful. There were plenty of tables so there was never a wait to eat. Breakfast was as average as the rest of the hotel. The bar was small and lacked any atmosphere but there are plenty of good bars in the area. The biggest plus for this hotel is it's location. It is in the centre of Brugges with all attractions and restaurants within easy reach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-bug2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for three star. Breakfast was varied and pretty good. Our room was one of the standard ones and very clean and comfortable... Would be a nice touch to have had tea and coffee making facilities. The best thing about this hotel is it's location right opposite the belfry!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennyuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived by car for a 3 night stay as part of a longer European tour. Once you get into the old part of Brugge, the hotel is easy enough to find using satnav. Just watch out for bikes, horse and carriages and pedestrians in a daze caused by the beauty of Brugge!!

If you are arriving by car, the hotel boasts secure underground car parking. I wasn't able to pre book, but there was always plenty of spaces when returning from a day out. There is a charge for car parking of a rather hefty €25 a night, however, for peace of mind of secure parking at the hotel, I was content to pay this. The charge is made clear at the time of booking.

Check in was efficiently dealt with by excellent, friendly, welcoming reception staff. In fact, every one of the hotel employees we encountered were most friendly and welcoming.

We stayed in a 4th floor room which was a little small and lacked hanging and storage space. As we are away for a couple of weeks, we have a fair amount of luggage, which proved problematical for us. If you are only over for a short stay, this won't be an issue with less luggage.

The room was clean, with an excellent double bed, nice bathroom with an excellent shower, air conditioning, wifi and a mini bar. Sadly, there were no tea and coffee making facilities. Having said that, we took up just about every available space with all our stuff, so it would only have got in the way in any case!!

Breakfast was a good mix of hot and continental style with good coffee!! Good coffee is important to me!! The hotel bar was warm and inviting, with a nice courtyard seating area available too.

The location is outstanding. The hotel is literally 20 metres behind the Belfry in the central square. You couldn't be more central.

Brugge is a staggeringly beautiful city with little surprises around every corner. We also used the hotel as a base for day trips to Brussels and around the historic Flanders museums, cemeteries other WW1 historical sites such as Ypres and Passchendaele. Belgium in general is a beautiful, clean and safe country with Brugge being an absolute jewell.

All in all, a delightful stay with excellent staff, with the exception of the room being a little small for the amount of luggage we had.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what the other floors are like, but the rooms on the 4th floor are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great location in the middle of Bruges. We were only staying for one night and the hotel was ideally situated for everything we wanted to see. The room was comfortable, if a little dated, and we could hear the bells ringing in the Belfry. Lovely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Val,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Martin's Brugge. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#29 of 97 in Bruges
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing