We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location.”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked this hotel for three nights in late January. Despite it being freezing outside the hotel and room was toasty warm, we had the most comfortable bed, our room was large and roomy the bathroom and shower was equally roomy and had been cleaned to a very high standard. We didn't eat in the hotel the offer was there for breakfast and evening meal but we chose to eat out at all times as we prefer to see what the local independants have to offer. We enjoyed drinks in the bar which had a happy hour in the evening and the cocktails were particularly yummy! The hotel offers wifi which is unheard of in many of Bruges hotels and cafés so we were very happy to have this luxury. Upon checking out we were able to make use of the luggage room which we were given a code to unlock the security door, keeping our left luggage secure. I would not hesitate to stay here again should I return to Bruge. I highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay, the location is fabulous and just a stones throw away from the main square.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazsmallshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear,

We're glad to read that you have found a warm haven in Bruges.
I do not know how cold it is going to be this year in the winter but it will always be warm in Martin's Brugge.

Warm greetings,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    1,342
    420
    128
    39
See reviews for
347
1,599
81
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is only 2 minutes stroll away from the Market Square, so could hardly be more central. The staff were friendly and professional, and just after check-in a small problem with the room safety box was quickly resolved.

Bed was comfortable, and although the decor of the bedroom was a bit drab, the room and adjoining bathroom were very clean. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was in a bright spacious room and although there was plenty of choice of food and I enjoyed the breakfast overall, there was no fresh fruit available, only some of the tinned variety.

It would be nice if the hotel could decide if wi-fi is free to its guests or not - I booked through a third party website which stated that wi-fi was complimentary, but the information pack in my room at the hotel invited me to pay 40 euros for my four night stay. I didn't bother. Since returning home, I have seen the hotel's response on another website to a guest complaining about the wi-fi charges, and their response was that wi-fi in all Martin's hotels is free. I suggest they update the information they put in their guest's rooms.
I hope to return to Bruges in the future, and although I would be happy enough to stay in this hotel, I will probably look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for pointing out the confusing information in the guest directory in the rooms. We are going to revise all of them to keep them up-to-date so that every guest has the correct information. It is published at the reception desk and in the elevators but we do need to correct the directories in the room.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a lovely find. Drove over from Sussex last Saturday to have a nose around Brugge. Nice hotel slap bang in the middle of all the action, underground secure parking (€25). Not the most luxurious of hotels, it looks a lot nicer from the outside. Our room was quite dark and pokey but clean and the staff were very professional. The bed wasn’t that comfortable but we were only staying overnight so not that bothered. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovelylass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to Bruges.

Recently we changed all the mattresses, some might still be hard. We also noticed that this is a very personal matter. some say that a matres is too hard while the next customer says that it is to soft. we have choses a hardness in the middle and generally this has been a good chose.

should you visit Bruges again, don't hesitate to contact us and we will see if we can allocate a brighter room for you.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were charged an arm and a leg for the room probably for it's great location. But if you're a light sleeper stay away! You can hear everything in floor and through the walls. You'd think for that price they could do something about that! The workers were nice, the room was average. Wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dmachowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear,

We apoligize that your rest wasn't to your satisfaction. This time of year we're a very busy hotel and not all guests are still when going to their room of in their room. when this is to loud, we always suggest our guests to call reception so that we can take a look and if necessary talk with the other guests.

We hope that this has not affected your holiday to much.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We took a group of 25 discerning people to stay in Martin's Brugge and it was fantastic. The reception staff are highly professional, very friendly and efficient. The checking in of our group was speedy but relaxed. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast wonderful.
The location was perfect - centre of Brugge. We would highly recommend the hotel and plan to return with my family
D Kalinke - Garden House Brighton

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debk1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay in Brugge and Martin's Brugge in peticular.

Accommodating a group and making sure everything goes smoothly and relax takes a bit of preparation but we're glad to read that we were succesfull. I know our reception staff we enjoy reading your review and encourage them to continue the good work.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Thieren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Didn't have breakfasts here so can't review on food. Amazing location which was why we ate out every day. We went during the Christmas Market season and this hotel was perfect location for that. Not too far to walk for most iconic tourist places.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear,

We're pleased to read your review and are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit to Bruges.

Hopefully we can welcome you again next Christmas.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Literally one minute's walk (through the belfry courtyard during the day time!) and you're in the main square. The room was fairly basic, I suppose, but the beds were comfortable; there was efficient air conditioning; plenty of towels; a room safe; a useful fridge; etc. A nice view would have been an added bonus, but since we were out most of the time this does not affect my rating - and anyway, the hotel is in a city centre street so the options are limited. The breakfast exceeded my expectations - cooked options; fruit; various juices; bakery goods; cereals; etc. And all buffet, so no waiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoFrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas321, Front Office Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay in Martin's Brugge.

Our location is indeed unbeatable but as you mentioned, a view in the middle of the city centre is a bit harder to provide.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing