We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location!”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Martins recently. The location is simply superb, located exactly behind the Belfry.
The rooms were pleasantly decorated, but by no means 'Boutique'. The greatest downside was the condensation build up in the bathroom. Even a ten minute shower by the first person in the morning resulted in all the surfaces and everything on them swimming in water. Breakfast was OK, well cooked, but not that much variety. Happy hour in the bar runs from 20:00 to 21:00 and the Barman was very friendly without trying to be flash.
The location is perfect for visiting Bruges - a quiet street, but a stones throw from the the main tourist area, The Markt with it's over priced cafes...
Overall, I would have no hesitation in reccomendin this hotel to anyone, the day rate compensates for the downside I have mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    1,329
    418
    124
    37
See reviews for
343
1,578
77
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Happened to come across this when deciding on where to go when leaving Paris, This place is wonderfull, smack in the middle of the centre, around the corner of the market square. Underground parking as well. payed about 95 euros per night (no breakfast) and was worth it , the rooms are fine though should be upgraded soon, the 90's are a bit overrepresented in the rooms :) the hotel itself is modern and up to date. Will stay here again when in Bruges

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Location: The hotel is on the road behind the Belfry Tower on the Markt Square and very close to everything in Bruges.
Room: Large double bed. Could easily sleep 3 with plenty of room. Flat screen tv, slightly small.
Service: Excellent service. Reception gave us a discount card for use around the city for reductions of tours and attractions etc.
Breakfast: Didn't have it as it was 15EUR per person per day. You can get cheaper nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z0rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This hotel topped off a great weekend of what was to be our first visit to the lovely city of Bruges. We found the staff very helpful and polite. The rooms were of average size and we were lucky enough to get a room at the front of the hotel. If you like listening to the bells go off every 15mins with your window wide open and the sound of hustle and bustle from the street below, ask for a room at the front. The rooms were clean and adequate for an old city hotel, which had a modern contemporary twist, which was pulled off quite well and without appearing too pretentious. The breakfast was a magnificent display of cooked and continental. Would definitely stay here again. My only gripe was that the barman did not know how to make cocktails, but was all to happy to let me advise him of the ingredients. I got my Margarita and was more than happy!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Martin for a couple of nights. I used to live in Bruges so I knew the location could not be better. Having said that, the rooms are a little depressing. Small windows, mostly overlooking a wall ot just offering just the tiniest glimpse of the inner courtyard (which is quite cute). We checked in on a Sunday which is their slowest day. After waiting until 6pm to check in we expected a little better than the room we received. Especially after the reception clerk warned us to wait a bit until the "better" rooms became available. I like this place for it's location, but can't realy recommend staying here for the price on offer. Trust me, take a little stroll a little farther out and find a better deal. This place is just overcharging in my opinion. For that price I'd stay at the B&B #11. Only about a five minute walk into town and the rooms are imaculate and are designed by someone who cares.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

MOdern hotel with alll the facilities. The rooms are nice, maybe the bed al little too soft. I leked the decoration, very minimalistic. there is a cute teddey bear in each room. Very good breakfast.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TxakurGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Arrived at hotel late morning knowing too early to check in, told 3.00pm and it was no earlier but at least they stored our baggage. Impressive modern reception and nice courtyard, all very clean, staff very helpful. Room at bit small but OK, bathroom clean and modern, plenty of hot water. Only negatives are, you cannot get tea/coffee served you have to use a vending machine in basement (If you go on a room only rate I was told that I could not buy a tea/coffee from the breakfast room, some management decision which completely confuses me, surely they are there to provide guests with this sort of thing. Bar is not open during the day but you can get drinks from the restaurant next door (associated with the hotel) but would not serve me a tea/coffee at lunch time (Outside) only alcohol ! It seems to me they are lacking a little customer service. Check out quick. So it is a good place really, just needs to have better customer service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roombooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing