We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop at the lovely Martin's Brugge”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My boyfriend and I travelled to Bruge on one of P&O Ferries 'Mini-Cruises' and decided to stay an extra night in the city centre. Martin's Brugge was not the cheapest, we paid £87 which was about £15 more than the cheapest option, but we decided the location to be worth paying a little more for. It definitely paid off - the location is fantastic, a quiet street just behind the Belfrey (which we could see from our window on the 4th floor!), minutes away from some great shops and a million and one restaurants! The hotel lobby has definite wow-factor, lovely lounge and pleasant little bar which we had a coffee in (happy hour 8-9!), and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 10am, 5hrs before check in and they were happy to let us pop our bags in the luggage room whilst we went out for a wander.
The room itself was a little on the small side, with 2 small windows which didn't let in much light, but that would be my only criticism. The bed was big and very comfortable, (with a Martin's teddy bear!), the TV was fine & had BBC 1 & 2 and a music channel, the mini-bar had soft drinks at a very reasonable price (the same as most vending machines in Bruge), and the shower was great. It didn't have a wardrobe, just some hanging space, so for more than 2 or three nights stay it could be frustrating, but it was just right for what we needed.
Bruges is gorgeous, the little boat trips are great fun and we spent hours wandering round the streets looking at all the shops! It is NOT cheap tho' by any means, dinner for 2 with a coupla beers was 60E, and the best value lunch was over 30E, and that was with shopping around. The P&O Ferry deal was well worth it tho', we only paid about £96 for both of us, and it was a great way to see the city. You arrive early and leave at 5pm the next day, plenty of time for a good explore, and I'd certainly recommend Martin's as a great place to rest your head and have a coffee in the bar at the end of a long day's sightseeing!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philevil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

We enjoyed a fantastic stay at Martin's Hotel Bruges in Oct 2009 for one night and managed to get a really good room rate of €85 per night. On arrival (early morning) we were allowed to leave our cases in the luggage room and we were efficiently checked in just after 2pm later in the day.

Service - throughout our stay we felt that the service we received was excellent, and the staff made us feel very welcome.

Atmosphere - the hotel has a modern designer feel to it's public areas, with added warmth provided (literally) by a real flame heating system in the reception area. All fixtures and fittings were of high quality and nothing looked dated or overused. The hotel has a nice little bar just to the side of the main reception area, again the service and feel of it was excellent.

Value - We paid €85 per room per night and felt this to be outstanding value for a quality hotel in such a nice location. The rate was room only and we did not eat in the hotel.

Rooms - we were happy to receive a room on the 4th floor with a view of Bruges's famous clock tower (chimes during the day, but thankfully not at night). The bed, furniture and bathroom were all high quality and the little touches included a teddy bear (he shares the bed), colour television, minibar, safe, wireless internet connection, and hairdryer.

Location - Outstanding. 1 - 2 minutes walk from the main Markt Square in Bruges, close to all the main attractions. It's a 20 minute walk to/from the railway/bus station, not ideal with a case, but we got the taxi back and it was quick and good value.

Overall - we think this is the best hotel option in Bruges and would have no hesitation in returning the next time we visit Belgium. Others are more luxurious and may have lovely canal views but Martin's Bruges is the right price (without skimping on quality) and is conveniently located.

Special mention must go to the easy to miss bar - Staminee de Garre (down an alley, between the Markt and Burg Squares). Try their Tripel Van De Garre, a smooth 11% beer that goes down well with the Young Belgian cheese served with it as standard.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

perfect location, very friendly helpful staff. got a good rate combined with eurostar .i would use again!!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank wotever69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Thia hotel is, as other reviewers have mentioned, perfectly located right behid the Belfry. It has a nice back yard where you can have a drink og even lunch or dinner. We only ate her once for lunch, but the food was very good.
The room we got was on the ground floor and in a section seperated from the rest of the rooms. This made it quiet, but it also felt quite dark and lonely. Hopefully the other rooms are better.
Bruge is a fantastic city and I'd love to come back. Next time I will however try to find a smaller and more "personal" hotel/guesthouse as Bruge is full of little gems.
Make sure to take a segway ride through the city. This is a fun way to see a lot on a short amount of time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The location of this hotel could not have been better. It is close to the town center, within a block. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryc1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Martins recently. The location is simply superb, located exactly behind the Belfry.
The rooms were pleasantly decorated, but by no means 'Boutique'. The greatest downside was the condensation build up in the bathroom. Even a ten minute shower by the first person in the morning resulted in all the surfaces and everything on them swimming in water. Breakfast was OK, well cooked, but not that much variety. Happy hour in the bar runs from 20:00 to 21:00 and the Barman was very friendly without trying to be flash.
The location is perfect for visiting Bruges - a quiet street, but a stones throw from the the main tourist area, The Markt with it's over priced cafes...
Overall, I would have no hesitation in reccomendin this hotel to anyone, the day rate compensates for the downside I have mentioned.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Happened to come across this when deciding on where to go when leaving Paris, This place is wonderfull, smack in the middle of the centre, around the corner of the market square. Underground parking as well. payed about 95 euros per night (no breakfast) and was worth it , the rooms are fine though should be upgraded soon, the 90's are a bit overrepresented in the rooms :) the hotel itself is modern and up to date. Will stay here again when in Bruges

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing