We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a bit overpriced. You cannot beat the location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Haddenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit overpriced. You cannot beat the location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Nice hotel in a good location. Convenient for all main attractions. Thought is was a little overpriced, but otherwise very good. Stayed only one night.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Architectaylesbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,317
    412
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,559
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

I loved my stay at this hotel. It was in the perfect location, right next to Market Square and a 7 Euro taxi ride from the train station. The service was flawless, with ever member of staff I encountered speaking flawless English and going out of their way to help us.

The room was large and clean, and the bathroom was pretty good too.

The Wi-Fi was pretty expensive but I kind of expected that.

We used Brugge as a 'recovery' stop after a Contiki Tour, and it was perfect. The town was so sleepy and cute, and this hotel offered the perfect refuge for us to lay our heads in comfort.

The breakfast in this hotel was great. A huge spread of pastries, cereal, hot food, cheese, ham and fruit. The hot chocolate here was also pretty good!!

Would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brodinatorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCludts, Assistant General Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the remarks in your review: it is always a real pleasure to share these kind of reviews with the entire staff!

Concerning the Wifi, I would like to give you a small hint for any future reservation at one of the Martin's Hotels: all reservations made via our own hotel website come with free Wifi-access (and other nice advantages), valid during the entire stay. I thought this might be good to know for your next stay with us...

Regards

Thomas Berteloot
Assistant General Manager
Martin's Brugge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Hotel is very central , just off main square. Very clean room and bathroom - we booked a triple for our 2 night stay, which was large enough but not spacious . The breakfast was very good and the staff were pleasant. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay again myself without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkThewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Bruges is a beautiful city, well worth a visit. We travelled by P&O on there 2 -4 -1 deal and stayed an extra night in Bruges. This worked out brilliantly. You arrive, take your bags to the hotel and off you go!

The hotel is right in the centre, just off the main square. They let us check in at 9 in the morning (which some hotels wouldn't do). The hotel was clean, modern, friendly and the staff all very efficient - and proficient in a number of languages.

We had a problem that the booking we'd made (through I thin 1-800 hotels online) hadn't been sent through to the hotel through the intermediary. Instead of sending us on our way to sort it out with the booking operator, we gave the receptionist prints of our online booking and she took them and sorted it out for us by the time we arrived back in th evening. What service!

The barman was kind enough to give us names and directions to a number of quality (as in, locals use them) restaurants. I suggest you do the same - in the main square they all sell the same thing and it's considerably dearer than places a little off the beaten track.

If staying in the hotel you get a booklet of discounts - including the chips museum and the chocolate museum (these are quite funny and worth a visit if you have the time). One of the discounts is for a nearby bike hire place. These were NOT efficient or friendly but they were cheap :) We cycled to nearby Damme along the canals. Do this only if you're happy to have a sore bum the next day! Cycling really is the best way to get around in Bruges as it is very cycle friendly and some of the things you may want to do -like visiting the Half Maan Brewery and the museums are spread out. Do be warned though that helmets are not provided.

Overall, the break was superb! The hotel was a delight and Bruges is really worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekki_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

First things first, great location. 2 Mins walk from the main square. Receptionist realised it was my wifes Birthday from the DOB on her passport and gave here a present which was a nice touch.

Rooms very clean and nicely finished. Quite small but didn't bother us. Would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Nice Hotel. Tiny room with hardly any storage. Cleaners clattered about the corridor loudly and the orange juice I spilt on the side table the very first morning never got cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silentboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We booked a short trip to Bruges over New Year and stayed for three nights in a Grand Room in Martin's. The hotel was excellent, and far exceeded my expectations of a 3* city centre hotel.

Whilst nothing is particularly far in Bruges, the main square is literally a minute's walk away, and the hotel has its own underground parking. Ok, it costs a bit, but the convenience is well worth the price, and means that you can leave things in the car until you need them, rather than trudging all your bags up to reception on arrival.

Our room was a decent size with a double bed and a sofa bed. There were two big windows which let in loads of light (and could be opened right out if needed) and the bathroom was a nice size too with double sinks.

A real plus for the hotel is the staff. Those working the front desk were always extremely efficient and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble (particular thanks to Fanny for dealing with our random requests, and the guy - who's name I think began with an 'M' - who pointed us in the right direction for New Years Eve). The little hotel bar is a nice place to spend some time, especially with a very well-timed happy hour between 8pm and 9pm.

We got free wi-fi thrown in with our room when we booked on the internet. Worth mentioning on check-in as this doesn't seem to pull through onto the hotel's system, nor did the late check out request (although neither were a problem whatsoever and were honoured immediately).

All in all I couldn't fault the hotel, and thought it represented great value for money. If you like boutique hotels but don't want to spend a fortune, this is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing