We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the historic centre of Bruges”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Great hotel with everything you would want to see in Bruges on walking distance. Good architecture, set-up and design.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPurSang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,730 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed in Martins hotel 22-25 aug got a good price with travel rep.Our room had a view of the belfry tower, the room was round in shape which was unusual it was very clean and tidy fresh towels were supplied every day.The breakfast was included in our rate and was very good (ham,cheese,fruit scrambled eggs and sausages bacon ect ) The hotel as said in every review is only a few steps from the square and the canals.Brugge is a small city so you can walk everywhere quite easily.We walked to the windmills and Minnwater also known as the lake of love.Horse and cart trips leave from the square they cost €36 + a tip for the horse i kid you not.Food in the square is very expensive and if you are on a budget watch out,but walk out a bit and things get cheaper. we travelled from Dublin with Aerlingus to Brussels and took a train to Brugge,trains leave every half hour.All in all we had a great holiday in Brugge and if we go back would stay in Martins hotels again.PS if you want to buy some chocolate Brussels is cheaper .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballymaguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We couldn't have been happier when we arrived at the hotel - we were too early to check in but could tell just from the foyer areas and the professional welcome we received that it was going to be a brilliant stay.

The room surpassed our expectations. We were lucky enough to have a double-aspect view of the street below, and directly outside the main window (viewable from the bed) was a picture-perfect view of the back of the Belfort (ridiculously close - no need to look at our watches to tell the time, we just had a look at the clock!), and as if for effect, a big Belgian flag flapping on the outside of an opposite building. Blue sky. Perfect!

It was a shame we couldn't open the windows beyond a small crack (the rooms are air-conditioned), but it's a small criticism. I'm sure if the weather had been hotter we'd have been very grateful! Once the windows were open, the noise from outside was suprisingly minimal.

The room was fairly small, but the space had been very well-designed so that we had everything we needed. In fact, once we were checked in we only needed to bother the hotel staff twice - once to ask about train times to Brussels for the following day (information the reception staff were able to rattle off with ease, I'd barely finished asking the question!) and once to have the luggage room unlocked. Again, it was being taken care of before I'd even finished my sentence, via a special button behind reception. The receptionist didn't even break eye contact! At breakfast the table staff were equally as effiicent, but also very friendly. We shared a laugh with one of them on the first day. Small details like this really topped off the experience for us.

Trying to think of other drawbacks... Brits might be disappointed not to have tea/coffee making facilities in their room, although I did spot a hot drinks machine on the lower ground floor of the foyer. Some of the narrower, more boldly-decorated hallways felt a little claustrophobic, if that's something you suffer from. But otherwise, we really can't reccommend this hotel enough. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snazzyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here in August 2010 on our way back from Germany, this was our most expensive hotel of our trip into Europe and am sure you pay for the location and not the quality of the room as the location of the hotel is excellent however the rooms were very dated, the tv was tiny. Happy hour was 8-9pm and everything was half price apart from cocktails and champagne (a pint of Stella was 2 euros and a Brugges Zot was 2.50 euros, glass of wine 1.5 euros - bearing in mind this is Brugge you cant get better value than that). There was only one bartender at the hotel so you tended to queue for happy hour and understandly so at those prices. We parked in Panderjithe for 8.70 euros for 12-24 hours compared to 25 euros at the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel so couldnot comment on that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topcat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My partner booked this hotel at an excellent price for a last minute package break to the city, and I think he did very well. The hotel is just behind the central square and in a fantastic position for sight-seeing. It was clean and comfortable. I wouldn't say Im a massive fan of the brown walls, but hey its modern and great value so I cant complain. The only let-down was the street-noise. At check-in everyone in the queue requested a quiet room (ie facing the alley or court-yard terrace), however, my partner wasn't comfortable asking so (surprise, surprise) we had a street room facing the busier street (not where the entrance is located). Thats fine for me as Im an early riser and heavy sleeper but for some friends I know it would've been a nightmare. In fairness however Bruges is an extremely quiet city, so late night noise is not as much of a problem as the early-rising tourists and horse carriages. Overall I had a great trip - there's not as many attractions as other European cities; its more a place to relax, eat well (too well in my case putting on several pounds in a couple of days!!) and take it easy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_Bridge85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Found this on TA and selected for location and reviews. Pluses: booked on their website and rec'd rate of 75 Euros per night, which also included free WiFi or movies for duration of stay.
- Requested quiet room and rec'd a corner room in back, which was very quiet thankfully.
- All of the twin rooms face courtyard, double/queen rooms face outside per hotel staff.
- Booked room for 2 people and it didn't give me an option to select bed type, so specify with hotel before you arrive--got 2 twins but preferred 1 bed.
- Good AC and it was very hot outside
- Refrigerator in room (bathroom)
- Good shower
- Very easy to get to as it's off of the main square.
- Very nice staff.

Minuses:
- Arrived at hotel at 11am after a long international flight plus 1 1/2 hours by train from Brussels. I had requested early check-in in my email, but was informed when I arrived that I would not be able to check-in until 3pm. After add'l pleading they agreed to 2pm. Apparently the cleaning manager does a walkthrough of all rooms at 3pm, so there is no way you will get into a room early. That is a big downfall if you're jet-lagged and want to shower/take a quick nap. There appears to be no flexibility with their housekeeping practices.
- No computers for internet or business center. WiFi available for a fee (unless inclusive with reservation)
- As others mentioned, rooms are tiny and not as upscale as the website shows, but still sleek and clean. Good value for the price.
- Maids are in the hallway for hours--if you're not at the end or near elevator, plan on being up and out by 8am.
- Be sure to get a wireless card from the front desk, or your WiFi won't work. Also there are 2 Martin's Brugge to select from the WiFi list--one is legit and the other apparently a forgery, so get specifics from the front desk before you connect.
- Was there for National Day. The outdoor concerts in the main square lasted until 1am and can be heard all over Brugge. Check the schedule if you plan to sleep before 1am.

Overall happy with the hotel & would stay here again at this price is the same.

Also enjoyed the tour of Bruges with Quasimundo Bike Tours with our guide Steve.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Very clean and nice hotel, just be aware of some hidden costs. Such as €15 for one day of WiFi internet, €15 for breakfast, the beach is much further than they imply. We also lost internet for a few hours and were given an excuse and had to ask for credit The bar is nice, but expensive unless you go during the 20:00-21:00 hour happy hour. You are in close proximity to the city centre, so that is a nice perk. However, you definitely pay for it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navsingh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing