We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights on a leisure break.

Brilliant location, right in the centre of Bruges, handy for everything.
The hotel was warm, clean and the rooms were ideal for a mini break, had everything we needed.
Staff were helpful. Did not have breakfast which seemed a little expensive at 15 euros each when we found a small shop/cafe and ate breakfast for 5 euros.

We went on the boat trip down the canal and hired bikes for 4 hours, which was enough time to see everthing.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,709 - 1,715 of 3,014 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights Oct 2010 we stayed in one of the rooms they call charming, the room was a little small and quite dark, the bed was a pleasure. The tv set if you need one when you are away is about the size of a small laptop screen. I think you would be better asking for a room overlooking the courtyard as it can be noisey on the street side. The hotel is is situated in a great place 150 m to the square. Hotel parking is 24 euro a night in there underground car park, i may have had a few moans but on the whole this is an ideal hotel for a weekend away

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We booked this hotel as a last minute for a long weekend in Brugge.
The location is great, right next to market and everything at walking distance.

The hotel itself is clean, but the rooms are very small and expensive. So not a good value for money. From the 3 nights, my girlfriend only slept well for 1 night. The rooms are extremely noisy. Lots of wood cracks and you can hear everybody walking the whole night.
When we complained about this at the front desk, the lady pretty much waved it away and did nothing to compensate. Not even a sorry... So this was extremely dissapointing.

Also, the prices per night are extremly high for the size of the room, also breakfast was not included in the already high price. So for breakfast you pay a whopping €15... Also parking in the garage makes no sense as well. €25 per night. So we decided to park our car at the station for €2,50 per night with a free busticket to take you to town.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, unless you would like to pay way to much.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a great hotel, location is spot on, and the rooms were just the right size.
But the main party piece is the location, right in the centre of town.
If you book this hotel ask for a calm room, which is less noisy than the rooms facing the square.
NEGATIVES:
- The sound proofing in the rooms is poor (can hear people making love QUITE CLEARLY))
- Breakfast is expensive at 15 euros each
- You can't check in till 3 in the afternoon
- The internet costs 5 euros for an hour or 15 euros for the night, which was very expensive. It should be free considering we paid £80+ for the room.

This hotel is ONLY ideal for a short stay only (1-2 days)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexualchocolate1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here towards the end of September. Walked right to it from the train station. Took us about 15 minutes. As the other reviews have stated the location is awesome. The hotel itself is also great. We got the "cheap" room with one bed. While small compared to usa standards, it was perfect for us. Comfy bed, clean room, quiet, modern bathroom with towel warmers, and skylight above the bed. TV is a bit small and they show adult movies (not your ciemax softcore), so if your children are staying you might want to pull the plug. It was a bit of a trick figuring out all the room lighting options and finding our way to the room takes a bit of maze navigation. Nice facility overall. Highly recommend this place. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_O_Really
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed as part of a short break package and really liked the hotel. Rooms are not huge by any stretch of the imagination, but have everything you need. We had a problem with the A/C on the first night which was fixed by the second after reporting it. Breakfast is well above average for Europe. The Hotel has a small bar which is very pleasant for winding down at the end of the night. (Their hot Chocolate is great!). All said & done, this hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

couldnt believe the fantastic position this hotel has,just behind the belfry,so convenient -you could even pop back for the loo or to drop off shopping etc!
hotel itself very clean, modern, comfortable beds,great shower and superb breakfasts in with the price.would definately use it again.thanks again trip advisor!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpio069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing