We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional charm and sophistication in perfect location”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Samlesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Traditional charm and sophistication in perfect location”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel in a great location to explore magical Brugge.
I can not fault this charming hotel.

Our room (double sash windows) looking out onto the main canal was beautiful and tastefully decorated and very, very comfortable. Arriving in December (Eurostar) it was a cold winters evening and we were delighted to find they had taken the trouble to light the fire in our room. As the snow started to fall we ventured outside to wander this small city. In the centre was the Christmas market stalls, Ice rink, Belfry Tower, Belgian Inns and cafe's. The twinkling Christmas lights, the smells of cooking in the air from various different stalls, the sound of horses hooves as they trod on the cobbles taking visitors around the streets was just magical! After finding a superb little restaurant we arrived back at the hotels lounge, snuggled into the huge settee's infront of another log fire and talked about our plans for the remaining few days. The following morning we came down to a delicious breakfast in the pannelled dinning room before venturing out to view the sights.
This is the perfect place to spoil yourself when visiting Brugge and the perfect location to explore the beautiful medieval centre.
Having been twice in December for the Christmas markets and found it magical - I can't wait to come back in other seasons to experience my favourite city by far!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank for writing a wonderful review !

It's nice reading, you enjoyed your trip to Bruges and that you want to explore Bruges in another season.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    130
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
123
485
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Beautiful hotel very tasteful decor and lovely view of canal. Staff delightful very friendly can,t do enough for you.Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Bruges.
Big roaring fire which was nice as it was snowing outside.

Room Tip: all rooms looked to be lovely.Bit more expensive for suite we didn,t bother but had a lovely superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDERSON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for writing a very nice review about your recent stay.
Lovely to hear, you have enjoyed the good service of our staff.
It's very pretty to read you liked the decoration and the location of our hotel along the canal.
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Lots of research and opted for De O Stay for 3 pay for 2 nights offer. Opted for junior suite, not busy so got really nice room (106). Only niggles were toilet seat loose and no English Channels on digital TV. Service exceptional, helpful, friendly and personal. Breakfast looks expensive at €25 but includes champagne and a beautiful choice of food which if you are hungry is good value - fruit, cereals, hams, cheese, smoked salmon, pate, eggs or omelette, fresh breads, jams, marmalade and pastries - if you take advantage of the choice I think it's actually good value. You could do Bruges on a smaller budget but if you want to indulge yourself then I recommend De Orangerie - thanks to Glenn and rest of the team

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harrisretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
thank you for giving a positive feedback about your recent stay in our Hotel.
It's a pleasant reading you have enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here. From arrival to departure the staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the lounge and breakfast rooms are a delight to sit and relax in. The breakfast is amazing with every manner of food imaginable on offer, even a glass of champagne if you wish. The room whilst not the biggest, we had was cozy, and well presented and very clean.
It's position in the centre of Bruges is ideal with everything within a few minutes walk.
When we next visit Bruges we will definitely stay here again, hopefully when it's warmer and then we could take advantage of its canal side outdoor area which I imagine is quite beautiful in the summer sun.
Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: The breakfast may seem expensive but once eaten you won't need anything else to eat until supper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very honoured to read such a beautiful review and are very happy, you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your wonderful words regarding the staff and the breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

The staff, especially Glenn and Lean, we're fabulous! The atmosphere was extremely relaxing and the staff made us feel as though we were visiting a friends' estate rather than an hotel. The location was perfect for a romantic and relaxing weekend. The breakfast was a perfect combination of nice continental with eggs cooked to order if requested. The icing on the cake was coming back and having Glenn fix us drinks by the large fireplace. We've already made reservations to go back. If you go to Bruges and don't stay here, you've missed a great experience.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear,you have had a very enjoyable stay with us.

Furthermore, it's a pleasure hearing, you have experienced the feeling of visiting a friend.
We also thank you for the compliment regarding the breakfast and the staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I cannot immagine a better location to visit Brugges. Services are top. Rooms are very clean and the athmosphere of the former convent is unique. Bathroom is rather old and my wife says that the soaps are rather for male customers than female. Breakfast is the best I ever had. Outstanding !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

It's nice reading you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.

Thank you for the positive feedback on outstanding service, cleanliness and unique atmosphere.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had an amazing stay at Hotel Orangerie. The staff were amazing the room superb and the dining room/ chimney room were amazing as well. We believe this is the best hotel in Brugge and also it has an amazing breakfast its ranked as the best breakfast in Belgium indeed. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesusda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Guest,

How lovely that you had such a great experience at Hotel de Orangerie.

We are proud that our staff, the breakfast and the room left such a positive impression.

We hope that you'll come back and stay with us again. It would be our pleasure to look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing