We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

When our taxi driver dropped us off at the hotel he mentioned this was his favourite hotel in Bruge. We took that as a good sign and were not disappointed.
Like the city, the vintage feel of the hotel - which is full of antiques - made it feel quite grand.
My mum and gran were in room 106 (a junior suite), which was on the second floor and a large space with generous bathroom. They had plenty of light coming through the windows, with a view into the street.
My husband and I were in room 123 (also a junior suite) which was on the lower ground, with doors opening on to the patio that looking out on the canal. Our room was darker as we chose not to have all the curtains open for privacy. However any worries about noise were averted as we were never disturbed, even when the canal rides began before we woke up.
Breakfast is a solid good quality buffet and eggs and bacon are cooked to order. While we have no complaints I do think that 25 euro is far too steep.
My gran was also disappointed not to have a kettle in the room, which has been raised by other travellers. I understand the hotel wants to keep to a certain style of quality but paying for a pot of tea when you're an old lady and only want a cup soon mounts up. The bed was also a little too hard for my personal liking.
However the hotel is in a wonderful location, on the canal and walking distance to the main square and plenty of shops around it so these are tiny niggles.
I loved that they have their own toy bears on the bed - the bear is the mascot of Bruge, which I did not know before my visit. Very cute.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Lynne on reception who gave us restaurant recommendations and directions.
I very much enjoyed our stay and would love to be able to afford to return in future.

Room Tip: Splash out for a suite for extra space and a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the room and to read the positive comments on our staff!

We are looking forward to welcome you back with your family in de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

It really lives up to the "small luxury hotel" branding. The hotel is in a beautiful, historic building which is right in the middle of the city, beautifully located by the water. All the important locations are within walking distance.

We drove to the hotel, and were a little worried about what to do with the car. Luckily, our worries proved to be pointless - the hotel has a great valet service, which took care of everything very fast, with the highest level of professionality.

The inside of the hotel was stunning, with the decor and interior being in perfect harmony with the historic atmosphere of the building. Our room too, was perfect.

A key factor for us, when discovering a city, is waking up early to a good breakfast. Hotel de Orangerie luckily exceeded our expectations. There's plenty of choice, and all the food is of excellent quality. The best was the fact that they made our eggs exactly to order in the morning, something that often is missing or goes wrong, in our experience.

We also enjoyed a High Tea in the afternoon, on the beautiful terrace next to the water. If the weather is good during your stay, I can highly recommend this! The excellent food combined with the beautiful setting was like a scene from a movie, almost too perfect.

Lastly I have to commend the staff of the hotel, and the great service they provide. We had a few odd requests, and they went out of their way to solve it for us. Visit de Orangerie, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy the high tea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for the review your wrote about your recent stay!

Nice to hear that the champagne breakfast meet your expectations.
We will pass your kind words to our staff, especially the staf who prepare and serve the breakfast. It will encourage to keep up their good work.

It's also nice to read, you have enjoyed the High Tea on the terrace and that you have noticed the details which make the difference.

Thank you for recommending the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The English style afternoon tea is just wonderful; do try it.
The staff are great,Heidi and Martine are so helpful, and can't do enough fo. their guests. The outside terrace by the canal is a great location for tea and an after dinner cigar.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

It 's a pleasant reading that you have enjoyed your stay & the afternoon tea in our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have to say that I did not sleep in this hotel, but I had lunch in its enchanting dining room, just by a window overlooking one of Brugge's canals. As soon as I went in, I felt a comforting atmosphere. Everything was refined: first class service, delicious food, and a sense of elegance. If I visit Brugge again in the future, Hotel de Orangerie will be my choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasteandTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for your nice review.

It's a pleasure that you've enjoyed your lunch.

We are delighted to hear you had sush a nice experience and that you appreciated our service, food & sense of elegance.

we are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in May. It is small, intimate and the staff is kind and helpful. Upon check in they were expecting us and were excited to greet us. We were somewhat concerned to get a room on the main floor right next to check in, but it was never an issue. In fact, it made it convenient for shopping and sightseeing. Our first morning we slept until 11 (jet lag) and were never disturbed. Breakfast was wonderful. Delicious eggs made to order and a nice buffet. A very enjoyable stay. One strange thing - it was raining and my wife left her umbrella open in the entryway inside our room. Housekeeping took her umbrella and put it in the general bin of umbrellas by the front door of the hotel thinking it belonged to the hotel. We never saw it again.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and that you enjoyed the service, the room and the champagne breakfast.

We took note of the umbrella and we will speak with the housekeeping.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. We had a junior suite which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. As we were at the back of the hotel it was lovely and peaceful. However, the mini bar was a bit of a disappointment as all there was in there was a rather overpriced bottle of champagne!!
Very conveniently situated and also benefits from having secure parking in its own garage a couple of streets away.
Very pleasant staff who were able to recommend some good places to eat as the hotel does not offer evening meals.
All in all a very pleasant stay and we would certainly return when next in Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are pleased that the Junior Suite was clean and comfortable.

Thank you also for the nice words about our team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at de Orangerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The location is perfect right in the middle of the scenic canals. Bruges is small so it is within walking distance to all the attractions. We had the junior suite which is on the ground level just beside the patio that serves their famous afternoon tea and one of the many boat tour stations. There is not much privacy if you stay in your room in the afternoon but then again who would if you are in Bruges. The service is excellent and met all expectations.I think the room on the second floor overlooking the canal might be a better choice. I might choose a B&B next time when I visit Bruges but they seem to get booked up rather quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler_Log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for writing a nice review about your recent stay.
It's a pleasure reading you really have enjoyed it.
We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £120 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing