We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Bruges is such a lovely city and this deserves staying in a great Hotel. This was our first visit and we could not have asked anything more of the hotel. We used the 'Sweet Dreams' package which included an excellent breakfast each morning, a gastronomic dinner one evening and afternoon tea on the terrace one afternoon. All madly enjoyable, excellent service. We had a room overlooking the canal which was very comfortable. The hotel is very central with all the sites within easy walking. We were slightly disappointed one evening when we wanted wine and cheese served in the bar area - they would only serve us in our room which we found very unusual. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair-Ngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

It's a pleasure that you've enjoyed the package '' Sweet Dreams''

We are delighted to hear you had such a nice experience and that you appreciate our service, the champagne breakfast and the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    121
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
444
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Ideally placed in the centre of Brugge, friendly and welcoming staff who can not do enough for guests, the bed was large and comfortable and the hotel was clean and quiet BUT. Our room 112 overlooking the canal classed as a junior suite consisted of a bedroom with a lobby and an onsuite bathroom. The bath room had a cracked hand basin, a towel rack had a foot which fell off if you moved it, the shower fitting was fitted on backwards, the floor at the entrance was unfinished. The bedroom had a safe which was not secured, you had to lift it from the wardrobe to the desk to enable you to see the key pad, when replacing the safe back on the shelf in the 'antique' wardrobe the shelf collapsed as it was loose and unsecured, the carpets had seen better days as had most of the furniture. A limitless supply of free apples , 2 chocolates and excellent room servicing do not constitute luxury at luxury prices.

Room Tip: Always use the lift as the stairs are very dark if you have a room off the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We greatly appreciate your comments.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our service and found that the bed was large and comfortable.

We were a little bit disappointed, by reading your dissatisfaction about the bathroom, but we do appreciate that you bring it to our attention.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The staff in the hotel is very helpful and can't do enough for you. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and clean. It's also perfectly located to walk into the city centre for site seeing. We'll definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimothy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It's nice to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.

It is also good to hear that you liked the rooms, the staff and the location.

We do hope to welcome you back in de Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

When our taxi driver dropped us off at the hotel he mentioned this was his favourite hotel in Bruge. We took that as a good sign and were not disappointed.
Like the city, the vintage feel of the hotel - which is full of antiques - made it feel quite grand.
My mum and gran were in room 106 (a junior suite), which was on the second floor and a large space with generous bathroom. They had plenty of light coming through the windows, with a view into the street.
My husband and I were in room 123 (also a junior suite) which was on the lower ground, with doors opening on to the patio that looking out on the canal. Our room was darker as we chose not to have all the curtains open for privacy. However any worries about noise were averted as we were never disturbed, even when the canal rides began before we woke up.
Breakfast is a solid good quality buffet and eggs and bacon are cooked to order. While we have no complaints I do think that 25 euro is far too steep.
My gran was also disappointed not to have a kettle in the room, which has been raised by other travellers. I understand the hotel wants to keep to a certain style of quality but paying for a pot of tea when you're an old lady and only want a cup soon mounts up. The bed was also a little too hard for my personal liking.
However the hotel is in a wonderful location, on the canal and walking distance to the main square and plenty of shops around it so these are tiny niggles.
I loved that they have their own toy bears on the bed - the bear is the mascot of Bruge, which I did not know before my visit. Very cute.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Lynne on reception who gave us restaurant recommendations and directions.
I very much enjoyed our stay and would love to be able to afford to return in future.

Room Tip: Splash out for a suite for extra space and a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the room and to read the positive comments on our staff!

We are looking forward to welcome you back with your family in de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

It really lives up to the "small luxury hotel" branding. The hotel is in a beautiful, historic building which is right in the middle of the city, beautifully located by the water. All the important locations are within walking distance.

We drove to the hotel, and were a little worried about what to do with the car. Luckily, our worries proved to be pointless - the hotel has a great valet service, which took care of everything very fast, with the highest level of professionality.

The inside of the hotel was stunning, with the decor and interior being in perfect harmony with the historic atmosphere of the building. Our room too, was perfect.

A key factor for us, when discovering a city, is waking up early to a good breakfast. Hotel de Orangerie luckily exceeded our expectations. There's plenty of choice, and all the food is of excellent quality. The best was the fact that they made our eggs exactly to order in the morning, something that often is missing or goes wrong, in our experience.

We also enjoyed a High Tea in the afternoon, on the beautiful terrace next to the water. If the weather is good during your stay, I can highly recommend this! The excellent food combined with the beautiful setting was like a scene from a movie, almost too perfect.

Lastly I have to commend the staff of the hotel, and the great service they provide. We had a few odd requests, and they went out of their way to solve it for us. Visit de Orangerie, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy the high tea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for the review your wrote about your recent stay!

Nice to hear that the champagne breakfast meet your expectations.
We will pass your kind words to our staff, especially the staf who prepare and serve the breakfast. It will encourage to keep up their good work.

It's also nice to read, you have enjoyed the High Tea on the terrace and that you have noticed the details which make the difference.

Thank you for recommending the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The English style afternoon tea is just wonderful; do try it.
The staff are great,Heidi and Martine are so helpful, and can't do enough fo. their guests. The outside terrace by the canal is a great location for tea and an after dinner cigar.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

It 's a pleasant reading that you have enjoyed your stay & the afternoon tea in our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have to say that I did not sleep in this hotel, but I had lunch in its enchanting dining room, just by a window overlooking one of Brugge's canals. As soon as I went in, I felt a comforting atmosphere. Everything was refined: first class service, delicious food, and a sense of elegance. If I visit Brugge again in the future, Hotel de Orangerie will be my choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasteandTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your nice review.

It's a pleasure that you've enjoyed your lunch.

We are delighted to hear you had sush a nice experience and that you appreciated our service, food & sense of elegance.

we are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing