We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
654
159
42
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
159
42
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage room teddy bear hermes toiletries perfect location small luxury hotel beautiful hotel canal side junior suite roaring fire sitting room room overlooking the canal glass of champagne fairy tale the ground floor our honeymoon old world charm breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We have stayed here for seven years in a row. The property is fantastic and very well looked after. There is a policy of continuous upgrading. We stay in the same room every year and this year there was new wallpaper, bed and bedside tables. It is a family run enterprise and the family are very visible and it tells.

Breakfast is very good and the service is excellent.

Hotel is very good at helping with restaurant reservations also.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are worth asking for
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dearest guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We try to do our very best every day to make everbody's stay one to remember!

Hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Family Vermast & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Without doubt the public areas of this hotel are truly lovely. The staff are also very friendly, I understand this is now run by a family.
Sadly the bedroom was not good at all. We stay on the continent a great deal and don't always expect huge rooms but they are very small here. On its own not too much of a problem but it was in great need of a refresh. The rug was stained and marked and the bathroom was pretty grotty really. Paint badly chipped on all the furniture in there, not shabby chic just shabby! It really needs completely redoing.
We live in an old cottage ourselves and understand the challenges of maintaining an old property , but some money really does need spending on the rooms here.
Sadly, we were very unimpressed with breakfast also, small selection and the pastries were not fresh.
Sad that I'm having to give less than a glowing report on this hotel, it's so beautiful downstairs and the location and the staff are first class.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pinkpanther31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear,

Thank you for your review.
We are very sad to hear that you were not impressed with our rooms and our breakfast.
Every year we refurbish a couple of rooms, so I would like to know in which room you were staying, as I 'm sure this room is on our list in January to be refurbished when were are closed for 3 weeks. I hope you undestand that we need to do this room by room and not all in once.

Awaiting your reply,
Best regards,

Family Vermast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for New Years Eve as a Xmas present to my Partner (who became my Fiancée that night!)
Knowing Bruges from previous visits we loved its great location in heart of Bruges, canal-side views and the charm of the hotel was beautiful and certainly felt romantic. Little touches like the chocolate box and scroll containing information in the room, the apples on the cart in the foyer area, the lemon /lime water chilled dispensers too and for NYE the complimentary glass of champagne early evening all added to the experience.
Room was lovely size (102) and just off foyer with a double door so we heard nothing from hotel inside our room . Faced the side street the hotel entrance was on. Big, comfy bed and the walk in shower was the large style head and lovely and hot!
Very friendly staff that we dealt with, even being escorted back to my car so we could park it in the private garage 200m from hotel, offered to us upon check-in.
The loss of 1 star to get the 4/5 rating was for:
1) even having been happy to tip the gentleman for his courtesy to offer to help me park as above, on checking out the next morning I was charged 25euro (inc expected Belgian tax) for the private parking space!!... also the friendly gentleman hadn’t told me at any point of the fee for using their offered parking space either, can’t see such notification on the website either today now we’re home.
2) as per other reviews, the continental breakfast isn’t even include in the daily rate, 25euro pp to pay. NB There is a great cafe round the corner we usually use that does a cheese/ham toastie plus a croissant w/ butter n jam plus orange juice AND coffee or tea for just 8euro pp.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fooyoung69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Great location, lovely cosy and beautifully decorated bar, excellent service and central location means we could walk everywhere easily. We stayed for two nights in December and it was perfect. Bedroom had a view over the canal.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asflora16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the hotel.

It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your review to our staff to encourage them in what they are doing!

Wishing you all the best for the Holiday Season and a prosperous New Year.

Warm regards,
Family Vermast & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

A small hotel with big character. Stunningly designed common room to cosy up by the fireplace. Interior decor just what I like, with classy Christmas touches. Clean room, modern bathroom. Conveniently located by many sights. Lovely staff. Delicious breakfast. I have nothing bad to say about this place. Loved it. A highlight of my Bruges experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the hotel.

It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your review to our staff to encourage them in what they are doing!

Wishing you all the best for the Holiday Season and a prosperous New Year.

Warm regards,
Family Vermast & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews