We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed, spacious stay in Bruges”
Review of Leopold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in their ground floor room which was comfortable, spacious and more like a mini apartment with separate twin bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom. The room could have done with brightening up decor wise and was not spotless but perfectly satisfactory. The apartment was more than enough space for the two of us and was ideal in terms of keeping costs down and doing a bit of self catering. The staff were a little reserved but friendly enough and even though we had a kitchen we still had an amazing breakfast provided for us. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Better I would think not to have a ground floor room unless you dont mind people looking in when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briggsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Good location in the centre of Brugge,with all the sites close by. However apart from a young girl on reception who smiled and was helpfull, the owners were cold and unfriendly. The room was appealing at first glance,nicely decorated and roomy, however when we returned in the evening that was when the noise started. The floors are laminated so you could here every foot fall in the other rooms, and the walls were thin so you here toilet noises!. The bed was soft and uncomfortable with a cushion style pillow which didnt help.

Breakfast was poor, little choice, no pastries for a continental breakfast and the owner kind of peered around the corner as if reluctant to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee. The entrance door was open so was drafty while we ate.
We asked to leave our bags as we were early for check in which the young girl said was fine but were left in the dining area which was not very secure as the door was left open and we was told the front door was locked at 6pm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The room was so small that it was suffocating. we paid for four beds but two people had to sleep on a flimsy sofa-bed.... the room had 2 tiny windows from which you could not even pop your head out.
the stairs to get to the room were super dangerous.... + with luggage.. definitely think safety hazard..
When we asked for a change of room we were met with uncourteous staff, who suggested that we check out and find another hotel with a bigger room.
Come to that, they even charged my credit card without informing me before checkout contrary to what had been promised
definitely one to avoid

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank professor1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel was placed only 5 mins from the train station, just off the main road. It is only 5 mins walk to everything (as Bruges is so small, I suspect this is true of most hotels). I would say that the room and breakfast was well worth the price, and they let us keep our bags there until 2pm the next day.

Our room was clean and tidy and suited us perfectly. We didn't dine at the hotel, but it is also a restaurant, so you could eat there as well. The staff spoke perfect English (but again, so does everyone) and were very smiley and helpful. It wasn't noisy at all because the rooms back onto a quiet side street. There were quite steep stairs though, so I wouldn't recommend it if you have mobility problems.

Anyone going to Bruges, I would recommend the Poules Moules restaurant on Simon Stevinplein (2 mins from this hostel) - the steak was amazing! And anyone who enjoys beer should try the Brugse Zot lager.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruski_Rizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was clean and comfortable. The room was a little small but we have nice ceiling to floor double doors that opened onto a little patio area. Sadly our room was a little dark as not much natural light coming in but not too much of a problem. The hotel staff were neither friendly nor rude. The man gave us a discount card for attaractions and that was our only real dealings with him. We never went down for breakfast, as like in most hotels it's served too early.
The hotel is in a excellent location and pretty much everything in Bruges is within walking distance.
The hotel also has it's own bar that has seats out on "t zand" however we found this tended to shut quite early,
The big downfall for the hotel is the noise from other guests. The room doors are all very close together so you can hear everything when people ar e coming and going.
Yes the stairs are very very steep and narrow, my boyfriend actually fell all the way down them giving himself some quite nasty bruises.
I would recommend this hotel as i found it clean and comfortable and in a good location

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollyloulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Don't stay here if you can help it. Small, cramped, mouldy smelling. Very expensive for next to no ammenities!!! We had booked 2 nights in this hotel but escaped after one.
We had the windows open at night and the noise from the street below, including a disco that went on until about 4am, kept us awake all night. What a nightmare! The breakfast was awful and the owners not very friendly. We escaped and found a beautiful hotel in a better location for about 15 euros more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likestoeat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Leopold in April and were really pleased with it. The Hotel was clean and bright. Agreed, the stairs are quite steep, so it might not be suitable for people with limited mobility but we didn’t find this a problem. Our room and bed were clean and comfortable, though, as another review said, we could sometimes hear other guests talking through the walls. The hot water ran out after the first shower on one day, but otherwise the bathroom was clean, though small. Breakfast was a good choice of bread, eggs, cereals and drinks etc.

The owner was really friendly, spoke excellent English and gave us some starting points as to how to start exploring the town, including a discount card for the main attractions, which saved us a few Euros over the weekend.

The location was excellent – a pleasant 10 minute walk from the train station and the street it is on leads to the main shopping street. Most sights are in easy walking distance from each other, and through most of our stay we were no more than a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel.

I would recommend this as a place to stay for long weekend or a short break – it was reasonably priced and gave us everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickTraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
753 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#68 of 97 in Bruges
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold

Address: Hoogste van Brugge 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leopold 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leopold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Bruges
Leopold Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing