We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Leopold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 2 December 2012

good location and nice room overlooking square (boiling hot in winter, they were not skimping on the heating). Value for money and had no complaints but not for people with walking difficulties as stairs are small and steep. All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Good location, 5 minutes from the town. Good breakfast with meat, cheese, bread and yoghurts. Lovely rooms that are well looked after and clean. Good hosts who provided us with a great free map.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

excellent location - nice, helpfull people - cosy clean rooms - wireless internet - free use of computer in lobby - excellent breakfast and ue for money considering a 2 star hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Good location right off the main shopping street. Only 5 minutes walk to all main tourist sites.
The room was satisfactory but a bit small and dark. The towels were old and worn and they didn't change the small ones. The stairs are very steep so not suitable for anyone with kids or walking difficulties. The owners were unfriendly and breakfast was not a nice atmosphere and hard to get service although the stuff on offer was good. Wouldn't really recommend as I am sure there is something better in Bruges which is a fab place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in their ground floor room which was comfortable, spacious and more like a mini apartment with separate twin bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom. The room could have done with brightening up decor wise and was not spotless but perfectly satisfactory. The apartment was more than enough space for the two of us and was ideal in terms of keeping costs down and doing a bit of self catering. The staff were a little reserved but friendly enough and even though we had a kitchen we still had an amazing breakfast provided for us. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Better I would think not to have a ground floor room unless you dont mind people looking in when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briggsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Good location in the centre of Brugge,with all the sites close by. However apart from a young girl on reception who smiled and was helpfull, the owners were cold and unfriendly. The room was appealing at first glance,nicely decorated and roomy, however when we returned in the evening that was when the noise started. The floors are laminated so you could here every foot fall in the other rooms, and the walls were thin so you here toilet noises!. The bed was soft and uncomfortable with a cushion style pillow which didnt help.

Breakfast was poor, little choice, no pastries for a continental breakfast and the owner kind of peered around the corner as if reluctant to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee. The entrance door was open so was drafty while we ate.
We asked to leave our bags as we were early for check in which the young girl said was fine but were left in the dining area which was not very secure as the door was left open and we was told the front door was locked at 6pm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The room was so small that it was suffocating. we paid for four beds but two people had to sleep on a flimsy sofa-bed.... the room had 2 tiny windows from which you could not even pop your head out.
the stairs to get to the room were super dangerous.... + with luggage.. definitely think safety hazard..
When we asked for a change of room we were met with uncourteous staff, who suggested that we check out and find another hotel with a bigger room.
Come to that, they even charged my credit card without informing me before checkout contrary to what had been promised
definitely one to avoid

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank professor1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
754 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#68 of 97 in Bruges
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold

Address: Hoogste van Brugge 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leopold 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Bruges
Leopold Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing