We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”
Review of Leopold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Staying here was a pleasure. It's only a kilometre from the railway station & is in a very quiet little street even though it's in the city centre. We paid 75 Euros a night for a very clean,well-furnished en-suite room - there were even 2 comfy chairs & a table, as well as ample space for clothes & cases, & a very large bathroom cabinet. The hairdrier was a bit temperamental & tended to cut out before the job was done. All the walls seemed to be partition rather than brick, so I suppose it could be a problem if you had noisy neighbours, but we didn't & slept very well in the king-size bed. Yes, the staircase that other reviewers have commented on is a bit alarming, and not suitable for the elderly or the infirm (or the inebriated!) but we negotiated it for a week without mishaps & even grew quite fond of it, as it added to the memorability of our stay! The staircase isn't the fire exit, so no problems there. Reginald was most helpful, supplying us with maps & guides & a card for reduced-rate admission to Bruges museums & attractions, as well as useful advice about train tickets. Breakfast was OK, & included in the room price, though a larger pot of coffee would have been nice for 2 people. All in all, I don't think you could do much better for the price anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2010

I will try to write an objective review. This is a wonderful bed and breakfast at a great location in Bruge. It is steps away from a one of the most happening streets in Bruge, yet on a quiet back street. Four of us stayed at an apartment on the second floor... and yes we also had to use the steep stairs but they were really not that bad. The breakfast was really good, consisting of eggs, jambon, various cheeses, bread, cereals, milk, OJ, jam and honey. The only problem I can think of is the hours of breakfast. 8 am to 9:30 am. There was a carnival going on during our stay so we couldn't exactly go to bed early. Now for the major problem with this cute bed and breakfast. Service: I actually got scared of asking for more coffee at breakfast. Starting with our check-in, the lady who I think was the owner, started staring at us as if we were there to rob her. The gentleman at the reception desk was very sweet and helpful. A small warning..there is no wireless internet available but there is a computer you can use at the breakfast hall. Though you are allowed to use it for only e-mails and for 10 mins...It was enough for us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neslicik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Bedroom and bathroom very small , you can hear other guests talk .
Hardly any hot water .
The stairs our simply said "very dangerous ". there should be a note on the hotel site that not everyone will be able to climb them , there is no elevator .
In case of a fire , the emerency route to follow is trough rooms off other guests .
The breakfest is poor , there is even no fresh baked bread .
It 's cheap bread from a grocery store that you have to toast .
We visited many hotels all over the world but we never had this bad an expirience .

Luckely we were with a nice bunch of friends and Brugge is a beautifull city to enjoy .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarbraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Just come back from a 3-night stay in Bruges with a friend. Hotel Leopold was lovely - it had everything we needed. The place is nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are great. We shared a twin room which overlooked the sidestreet at the back of the hotel. It was wonderfully quiet - no problems sleeping!
Yes, the stairs are extremely steep, it is true, but Reginald kindly offered to take our cases up (and down again!) so there wasn't a problem. The hotel was only a ten-minute walk from the rail and bus stations, and less than five minutes' walk to many notable buildings, sights, etc. I'll definitely go back to Bruges and I'd happily stay at Hotel Leopold again - it is a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WizzyLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I would highly recomended this hotel, small hotel with good value. Our room was like a small flat including kitchen and living room with separate entrance. It is very clean, very good heating in winter time. Very good breakfast . It is located near to center.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc-turkiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel. Very cute & cozy. It was also very quiet so I had an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. The owners were very friendly and helpful with directions. The hotel is extremely close to the main road that leads to the center of town. I walked to and from the train station and it was not very far. The street that the hotel is located on is so adorable!! I would stay here on my next trip to Brugge.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed here for a short trip to Bruges.
The location is great, very near to the T-Zand Parking and an easy walk to the Square.
What wasn't easy was the stairs - they are a bit steep - wouldn't pass H&S back home!
The room was tiny and very basic. The bathroom too was a bit mouldy and not inviting.
At breakfast we had a bad egg, which was disgusting, and didn't enjoy the rest of the meal.
I'd recommend you stay here only if you have a tight budget and intend on spending a lot, and I mean a lot of time out of the room.
Next time I'll pay a little bit more for a lot more.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#65 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montovani Hotel
Montovani Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
157 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#27 of 97 in Bruges
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold

Address: Hoogste van Brugge 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leopold 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Leopold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Bruges
Leopold Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing