We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel and excellent hosts”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel and excellent hosts”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at this clean, well presented, 20 room family run hotel which is 10 minutes walk along the canal to the city centre. It is very conveniently situated and is delightfully away ( but not too far away) from the somewhat crowded ( especially on weekends) city centre. The frequent bus service stops outside the door which is great if you have one suitcase and want to get there from the station, or you are just unable to move another step after chocolate overdose in Bruges.
Our room was on the second floor, with canal views and though compact (which is usual in Europe), it was not cramped, had aircon, TV and a clean modernised bathroom facility. The canal view rooms are at front of hotel and can be noisy during the day but the double glazed windows prevent any disturbance.
The rooms were well cleaned each day and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
The owners, Marc and his wife Lieve, appear to enjoy the company of their guests and we were made to feel most welcome. Their is free wifi in the rooms and a hotel computer that the guests can use.
Breakfast is a delight in a lovely setting and a great way to start the day. We had a great 4 night stay and enjoyed it very much. Well done Marc and Lieve and keep up the good work. We would recommend your hotel to anyone who would like a quieter relaxing trip.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    360
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
348
1,337
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. It has a great location on one of the canals and is only about a 10 minute walk from the main square in Bruges. The hotel itself is very well kept and it is quite obvious that the owners take great personal pride in their business. They even went out of their way to accommodate us after we arrived well after midnight due to unforeseen travel delays. We also liked the fact that there was a garage where we could keep our car for the weekend (for a fee). The complimentary breakfast was very good as well. We will definitely look into staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler7718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I wish there was something that I could add to the glowing reviews, but the past reviewers have pretty well stated that the Hotel Ter Duinen is a lovely spot in a lovely town. Mr&Mrs Bossu-Van Den Heuvel are the perfect hosts and my wife and I, on a tour of the Benelux countries plus Paris, were delighted with our short stay in Bruges. We only wish we had budgeted another day or two on our way. Ours was a driving tour and one strong aspect of Hotel Ter Duinen is the availability of reserved parking. In the U.S., we take this for granted, but finding parking near or at hotels in many towns is a real challenge ... not so at Hotel Ter Duinen where you can reserve a spot in a close-by garage. We were in a 2nd Floor front room facing the canal and experienced no street noise. Breakfast was marvelous and we were on our way after a pleasant stop at the Hotel Ter Duinen.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Having stayed in Bruges on three previous occasions we were looking for something a little out of the ordinary. Ter Duin met that requirement extremely well. We only stayed for one night but probably a longer stay would enable you to fully appreciate the peaceful ambience of the hotel. Room overlooking the canal was well equipped and a decent size. Importantly, the Wi-Fi worked without a problem, something not always the case in other hotels we have visited. Breakfast was outstanding and the owners most helpful and accommodating.

Although Ter Duin is a little out of the City Centre the walk to the main square was not in any way arduous. Bruges in any event is a city that you need to walk or cycle in to fully appreciate. All in all, a great find and certainly a hotel that we will visit gain..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Cloud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Mr&Mrs Bossu-Van Den Heuvel are exceptionally attentive & helpful without being intrusive and their breakfast really is as good as other reviewers say it is. The No 4 or 14 bus from Rail Station stops right at the hotel door but it is only a delightful 15 minute walk into town. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel is quiet. What more can a world-weary traveler ask for?

Room Tip: Get renovated room overlooking Canal or Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealMrBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and I stayed once again at this excellent, family run, hotel. It's location, on a picturesque canal less than fifteen minutes walk from the very centre of Bruges, and easy to get to by car, is just perfect. A great base from which to enjoy the culinary and cultural delights of the city and explore the the contryside and villages nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarehamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We have just come back from a 3 day stay in Bruges, and the hotel couldn't be better located: 10 minutes walking to the picturesque medieval centre of Bruges, by the canal, easy access to the motorway and optional garage (highly recommendable if you come by car)... But on top of that, it is a family run business and you can feel it, which makes the stay more special as their attention to detail is immaculate. Don't miss in the lounge area by the enclosed garden their photobook with all the renovation work they did some twenty odd years ago, and then you will appreciate even more their dedication to the place. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and make a short break in a beatiful place even more special.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24, which has a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estherxm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing