We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The breakfast is second to none”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The breakfast is second to none”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Really a charming hotel with a bed an breakfast feel. The hotel owners and staff were right there to help us with anything we needed at any time. The breakfast was amazing, they have such a variety of excellent food. If your ever in Brugge take a minute to check this place out, we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glensaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    358
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
347
1,324
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

It's very rare to find such a charming hotel that puts customer service first these days. We could not fault this hotel. As stated in previous reviews the staff are so friendly and helpful and the breakfast and dining area are both superb. Home made breads and jams, freshly squeezed orange juice and market fresh fruits. Our room was across the courtyard and extremely quiet, although no view. The room was spotlessly clean and the linen looked brand new. The shower and bathroom were very modern and looked newly fitted. My only very minor criticism is the lack of tea making facilities in the room which would have been nice. The location, as stated in previous reviews, is a 15 minute walk into the centre but it was perfect for us as we like a stroll and the weather was fabulous the whole time we were there. We paid the extra for a garage which we thought was worth it as we didn't use the car the whole of our stay. We would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a 'very nice room' - the room was great but as previous reviews have said - if you want quiet ask for a room at the rear. Although the view over the canal is nice - the noise of the road is intrusive. There is on road parking outside the hotel so you don't need to book their parking. The breakfast was fantastic - a continental buffet- fruit, boiled eggs, pastries - wonderful coffee. It is only 5 - 10 mins walk into the main square if you follow the canal. The central market square s so busy I dont know why you would want to stay there. Having the hotel a little way out gives the opportunity to see parts of the city you wouldn't usually come across. The staff gave great advice on where to eat / drink / activities.

Room Tip: for peace and quiet ask for room at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This little gem of a hotel was everything we expected for our short birthday break. The room was clean and spacious, with a lovely view over the canal and big windows that could be thrown wide to take in the atmosphere. Also a small table and two chairs in just the right place. The breakfast was fantastic, especially if like us you enjoy a "fruity" one. All sorts of fruit and nuts and delicious yoghurt, and a good selection of rolls, meats and cheese. The staff were attentive without being "in your face". It was a short but wonderful 15 minute walk to the centre, and we spent two days in unseasonal heat exploring the canals and alleys of the city, with wonderful vistas at every turn. We can highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedavid459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for three nights in September 2011. The hotel was lovely - clean room, modern bath, beautiful views. The staff was more than attentive with ample help with directions, restaurant recommendations, day trip advice, and history of the area. The breakfast was fabulous; the amount of time and attention spent by the staff to prepare the beautiful fruits, breads, cheeses, etc was unparalleled. The hotel was renovated not too long ago and has lovely common areas including a sitting room looking out on a gorgeous courtyard and a beautiful breakfast room. We loved our stay.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the heart of town which proved to be an asset as we found the main part of Bruges very busy. The hotel was a welcome respite. And of course, it is situated on a beautiful canal. There is also a city bus that stops literally in front of the hotel and will take you to town or to the train station, for those who would prefer less walking.

Room Tip: We did not have a canal view; I believe we chose a city view because it was less expensive. But we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Ter Duinen is a family-run Hotel located a 10-15 minute walk out from City Center. If you like to walk---as do we---no problem, but, if you want to be near the center of Bruges, it might be problematic. The breakfast is one of the best I ever have had in Europe (despite the boiled egg comment from others---it was a perfect egg), and was served impeccably. The family and staff running the hotel could not have been nicer. The hotel was equipped with all needed requirements including a computer with wi-fi on the second floor for guest use. My only complaint is not the location from town, but the location on the canal. We had asked for and received a canal view. The problem was that the Hotel had a very busy street between it and the canal, and thus there was constant barrage of traffic, including many double decker buses whose top level literally could look into our room. If you want a truly intimate Bruges canal view, you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If canal view is desired, as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have just returned from a stay in this hotel and found the owners to be very friendly and extremely helpful. We were given good advice to take the canal trip early in the day to avoid the queues. The breakfasts were good, but a little unimaginative; boiled egg every day with no option for another cooked item. The room was clean and comfortable, but without any frills like nice toiletries and the toilet roll was locked inside a contraption that only allowed one sheet at a time to be extraced. We paid extra for a canal view, but I don't recommend this as that part of the canal is not particularly atractive. The distance into the centre of Bruges was a problem for me because I have difficulty walking and had to get the bus, which was frequent and reliable, but after eight o'clock in the evening we had to use taxis.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing