We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The high light of our European vacation”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The high light of our European vacation”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We are husband and wife in our mid/early 60's from Burlington, Ontario and visited Amsterdam for 5 days the first week of June 2013. We wanted to visit Brugge/Bruges and after reading trip advisor reviews a day visit would not be enough. We decided to take the train and stay overnight. Hotel Ter Duinen was selected based on past guest reviews and we booked directly with the hotel on-line.

We received an immediate e-mail confirmation of our booking. But, the following day received a personal e-mail from the owners welcoming us and giving us directions how to get to the hotel(bus, taxi, car) and the costs/parking. This was a "value added" service and left us with a very comfortable feeling.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, Marc. He was friendly and helpful. The following morning we met his wife, Lieve over breakfast. They reside at the hotel and during our entire stay, we felt like special guests in their house. It is very evident that they take pride in their hotel and value their guests. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is a short walk into town and we especially liked being away from the busy centre of town. We would classify this as a "Boutique style" hotel and it enhanced our visit to this Medival Fairy Tale town. Both the hotel and town are a must visit.

Room Tip: We upgrade to a Canal view and glad we did. However, the rooms at the back look down on the nicely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getoutofsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    358
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
347
1,323
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived at the Ter Duinen late afternoon and were warmly greeted by the owner and shown to our large, comfortable rooms. My family and I shared a spacious room for four, while my parents had a large room for two.
The hotel is conveniently located from the center of Brugge and has convenient parking, as well.

The breakfast provided the next day was nothing short of exceptional, and the warmth shown by this family owned hotel cannot be understated. In short, it is hotel we highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlcuevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hotel Ter Duinen is a small, tasteful hotel with loads of character in the beautiful city of Bruges. It is an easy and pretty 10 to 15 minute walk to the Market Square, the heart of Bruges. We enjoyed our canal-view room with its early morning scenes of children walking or riding their bikes to school. We felt that we were observing the lives of Bruges residents and not other tourists. Our room was small, which we knew in advance, but very tastefully decorated and certainly comfortable and adequate in size. I took a look at an attractive, quite large room in the back of the hotel that did not have a canal view but did overlook the very pretty hotel courtyard and the rooftops of Bruges. The buffet breakfast, served in a beautiful breakfast room, was the best we had in our entire trip. There was a huge variety of delicious breads, fruits, meats and cheeses, fresh orange juice, eggs and, of course, Belgian hot chocolate. A small glassed-in conservatory with a large supply of current magazines overlooks the beautifully-planted courtyard and is a nice place to relax. Owners Marc and Lieve are very welcoming and hospitable and provided excellent suggestions on restaurants and sightseeing in Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is the second time we have stayed here. Everything in the hotel is first class. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast is delicious and personally served by the owner, who always remembers your name, and has a personal conversation with each guest. We upgraded to a deluxe canal view room, to get a little more space and a relaxing view. Hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the center of Bruggges. There is also a city bus which stops right in front of the hotel and drops you off in the main square. The hotel sells discount bus tickets. The owners will happily give you advice on where to eat, or what sites in town to visit. This is the only hotel I would ever consider in Brugges, and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We picked this hotel because we thought the price would reflect superior quality. It was good but not that good. £148 for Bed & Breakfast, not worth it. The staff were good and the decor excellent but not worth £148. We'd just spent two nights at a top hotel in Reims for £160

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a canal view, all you see is ..............a canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie7years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had booked to stay at Hotel Ter Duinen for our anniversary on a friend's recommendation - and I think we would have struggled to find a better base for a visit to the wonderful city of Bruges.
Greeted by owner Marc on arrival, we were shown directly to our room despite being several hours ahead of the normal check in time.
Marc was knowledgable and passionate about Bruges and provided us with guidance as to what to see and what time to see it. Marc, his wife Lieve and the rest of the staff were helpful and courteous - even to the point of making dinner reservations for us.
The Hotel Ter Duinen is ideally located alongside the canal and a pleasant 7-10 minute walk from the centre of the city - perfect for walking off the excesses of the many great restaurants and bars.
The measure of an enjoyable stay is twofold - would you stay there again and would you recommend it. The answer on Hotel Ter Duinen is a categorical YES on both counts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ter Duinen while visiting Brugge. I am sure we couldn't have had a better hotel. It is family owned and managed so the service was personal and first class. The hotel itself is situated on a quiet canal within easy walking distance of the centre of Brugge. Everything was spotlessly clean and we had a lovely bedroom and bathroom with huge shower.The breakfast was plentiful with lots of cereals,fruits,yoghurt,cheeses,meats and eggs. The freshly squeezed orange juice was a nice touch and something hotels of a higher star rating don't often supply. All in all, we couldn't fault the hotel and the helpful,extremely friendly staff. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing