We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Bruges”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Bruges”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I spent this week end with my boyfriend in Brugge for our 1 year anniversary and i have to say, it was amazing. The hotel is a very lovely boutique hotel, with a nice decoration, very well located ( around 10 min to the Grand place ) and with a friendly service. The breakfast is good.
I m just disappointed about our room, no decoration compared to the rest of the hotel.
If you come by car, better to ask to the hotel to save a place for you, you ll be more relax.
Globally go to Hotel Ter Duinen without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebm75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    358
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
347
1,323
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is about 15 minute walk from the centre of Bruges and has some secure parking so you can forget the car once you are there . The proprietor and his wife could not have been more helpful in every way. What was going on in the centre ; guidance on restaurants ; weather i.e. when to go for a trip on the canals .
The breakfast was first class for quality and choice . I felt inadequate when the owner went seemlessly from english to german then french then the local dialect ( but he had been a language teacher so I felt a bit better )
It was a very quiet location considering its proximity to the centre and the bedrooms were very good and had everything you needed

Room Tip: Aview of the canal is good but obviously more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 716anthony_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I went there with my girlfriend to discover bruges a little, the hotel owners were very friendly and the location was just perfect! Globally there was a very relaxing atmosphere and the free wifi was a plus

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naim_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this intimate little hotel.
Our room overlooked the canal, there was a lift to the second
floor and the breakfast was spectacular. The best part
is the considerate and thoughtful attention given to all
the guests by the staff, particularly the ownership team.
Bruges is wonderful but even more so when headquartered
at a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robduchene777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiens, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I spent just one night at the end of the last week in the Hotel Ter Duinen. From the beginning everything was delicious. The hotel stands on a quiet road going along the canal. We have been received with real attention and smiles. That's an important thing to point !!! Our room was a very nice one with a view on the canal...large bedroom, good soundproofing (another important thing to point) and a very functional bathroom.
At the breakfast, we have been received by the owners of the hotel always with smiles, nice words and interest from them. Different breads, different cheeses, jams, fruits...fresh fruits, fresh fruit juices, meats...in a calm dining room.
Due to the lack of time and low temperature, we couldn't enjoy the garden but that's a must for the good days, with a cup of tea.
I wanted my wife to live a delightful moment in Bruges, The Hotel Ter Duinen has contributed to it. Highly Recommended !

Room Tip: Feel free to choose a room with a view on the canal...romantic as hell (helped by the good soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcLeGigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had 2 nights at this Hotel, it's very nice, quiet and in a good location. You have to walk 20 mins to the centre of town, so a bit of a hassle if you need to go back for something but there is a regular bus.
Hotel is very tidy, rooms spotless. Not the biggest or most elegant rooms - more B&B than hotel. Bed wasn't very comfortable, kept rolling off - but that may have been the beer!
Amazing breakfast in a great setting.
Owners very helpful for local information etc.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTheHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here before a few years ago on our 2nd visit to Bruges. We wanted to drive from the UK and found this place on an Expedia search because it has parking which is difficult to find in Bruges ( Ter Duinen has some lock up garage units approx 200 metres away ). This is handy but they're now charging €17 per night.

The owners are certainly very charming and helpful and when we arrived early at 10.30am in the morning we were able to check into our room already which was very convenient before we went off to explore Bruge.

This hotel is a bit cramped in places though and as a large gentleman ( over 6 ft tall ) I found this uncomfortable at times. The seating in the dining room is small and cramped and the table we sat at one morning I couldn't get my legs under the table but sat slightly sideways.
Breakfast time was busy at the weekend and it could be congested trying to manoeuvre between the tables and people.

Breakfast selection is ok but slightly limited - continental with the option of a boiled egg , nothing else hot. What there was was good quality though.

We had one of their largest rooms at the front of the hotel last time which was fine but quite expensive so we decided to save a few euros this time and opted for a slightly cheaper room at the back of the hotel. It was still €159 per night.
We were in room 30.

The room was very small with a very cramped bathroom which had a shower only. There was just a small space down each side of the bed. The glass mirror was loose in it's fittings on the wall which I discovered when wiping the condensation from it as it nearly fell out of the fittings, the corner was broken suggesting this had happened to someone else before.
The shower water pressure was poor and took a long time to heat up in the morning.

The room was quiet enough , you could only just hear the lift occasionally but no street noise.

The worst thing was the bed though which was extremely hard and very uncomfortable. I can't remember sleeping in a more uncomfortable Hotel bed in a long time. My partner also found the bed very hard.

We coped with this for 2 nights but it certainly isn't a room I'd want to stay in again.

Location is good though , a medium length walk from the town centre and they have parking but we think we'll try somewhere else next time we go to Bruges.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing